We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a night or two on a backpackers budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only a night or two on a backpackers budget”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Located across the island of Koh Tao, on the beach of Tanote Bay Montalay beach is a nice secluded resort. The beach is really nice and the pool which over looks the beach is great. Due to the fact that you are secluded on this side of the island it is expensive; well for backpackers. Restuarant menu was very small and expensive at least $6 a meal at the bare minimum. Now dont get me wrong the food is good. Our 1000 Baht bungalow was nice comfy bed, bathroom,fan and flatscreen. However, we seemed to be sharing our temerorary residence with one rarer gecko. The tokay gecko is the biggest gecko in thailand and he played residence onto of our bathroom mirror and beside the air con. Now due to the fact that the have an odd mating call, ablitity to bite and not let go and ugly appearance, he had me a little intimiated and often left a little uncomfortable to go into the bathroom. But that was just our experience with the gecko.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brit_doerges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    256
    108
    44
    40
See reviews for
114
325
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Recently stayed 5 nights at Montalay in Nov with my 2 children after having reviewed comments on the trip advisor. Booked an aircon cottage for 3 people and was impressed with the cottage. Bathroom was very large and there are fly screens attached to all vents to prevent insects from coming in. The queen size bed was very comfortable but the single bed mattress was not as comfy anyway it didn't worry my teenage son a bit. We knew that air con only operate from 6pm to 6am prior to booking and we are fine with it as we are always out during the day. Beach in front has lots of hard corals and parrot fish plus many other tropical fish. It is very convenient as we don't have to travel out to snorkel. Very quiet and peaceful. My son was diving every day and included a night dive on the first night that we checked in. He thoroughly enjoyed diving with the dive operators of the resort. Most afternoon he would go snorkelling with his sister in the beach at the front of the resort. We had most of our meals at the restaurant and enjoyed all the food that we have ordered. We make sure that we don't order the same food so that we can sample most of the menu. We did have a few meals out when we take the resort taxi out to town to do some shopping and have massages. The kids love the ride to town as there are some section of the road which are very steep and are 4WD terrain, this adds to the thrills and excitement.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. They are pretty apologetic with regards to the building work that it going on, building a new kitchen. There is no loud noise from the building works just the tradesmen doing the cementing work. As we knew about the building works before we booked, we thought that there would be a bit more noise generated during the day but I thought that this is very quiet. I would recommend this to those who likes peace and quiet, relaxing holiday with the beach and sea.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool!
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Only stayed 2 nights, but that was enough.
The hotel is nice but very secluded. Apart from the beach there isn't much else about! There's one very small shop that sells water but that's about it. I'd recommend buying a few bits from a shop at the Koh Tao port before arriving, especially as the restaurant here doesn't have much choice and is expensive!
The rooms are very big and clean, though when we arrived there was a strong sewer smell coming from the bathroom.
If you decide to stay here definitely get the air con room as the fan doesn't help cool you down at all.

The beach at the front of the hotel is really nice, quite private with only a few other people there at any time. The hotel offers a good price for diving and snorkelling gear!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lysh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived to a lovely setting but were greeted by staff who wanted to fast track us to our room instead of telling us the essentials I.e. Wi-fi password, breakfast times and checkout times etc. The room was nice to start with and we left our bags and stuff in there and headed to the beach.

On returning to the room we found there was a fairly strong smell of drains. Being fairly practical minded we thought it may be that one of the drain traps had dried out so we put some water down each drain in a bid to stop the smell. After doing this we went out for tea leaving the balcony doors slightly open to let the smell out, hoping to return to a smell free room. We returned two hours later at 21.45 to find the smell was even worse. So much so that we could taste it! I went down to tell reception in the hope they'd sort it or at least move us to another room but reception was closed. The only personnel left was a bar man at the beach bar who couldn't help and wouldn't give any contact details for the hotel manager/caretaker as they'd be in bed. He told me we would just have to cope with it until reception opened in the morning. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a dream come true, what a paradise, the bay is surrounded by the rain forest and the coral cove is perfect for snorking right off the beach amazing fish and corals...Stunning beauty both above and below the sea..

The hotel is perfect and so is the food and service, one of the prettiest places I have ever been; quiet and peacefull....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Property: Montalay Beach Resort
Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing