We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor diving sold a dumbie never again on Koh Tao”
Review of Coral Grand Divers

Coral Grand Divers
Ranked #32 of 100 Tours in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Coral Grand Divers we don't only teach diving - we make it an experience of a lifetime! With a lot of patience and passion our instructors teach you everything you need to know to stay safe and enjoy being underwater to the fullest. The dive centre is located on the beachfront of Coral Grand Resort. The academic sessions are being held right next to the beach and for our confined water session we have a special pool specifically built for diving. Also on the premises are our beachfront restaurant and beach bar - the best spot to enjoy the sunset on Koh Tao. Coral Grand Divers Koh Tao is an award-winning PADI 5 Star IDC Resort. To qualify for this rating a dive shop must meet elevated service and business standards. Our main priorities when it comes to scuba diving are safety and enjoyment. Our staff is multi-lingual, highly trained and we pride ourselves on an exceptional level of customer service.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were told there would be a small party diving (lie). There would be larger 15lt bottles on board as I use a lot of air (lie). As it's busy there (koh toa) they new the best places to get away from the crowds (lie) This was told to us by craig.I'm a novice fun diver not that good but can told my own in the water and found the dive masters (axle) planed route on the first dive pretty bad , and seemed more interested in the 3guys who and done there open water course with them that week .He take us in tight valley rock formations, and as leading from the front decided to show one of the 3guys something , but failed to tell the rest of us to stop . we all ended up in a tight spot rubbing on coral and rock. pretty poor for a master. it also seemed like the young master wanted to show off his meddles to them. we were patronised about the way we dove as soon as we surfaced after the first dive and made to feel pretty bad about how we dove. The second dive was just as bad more divers than fish. To be honest stay away from these money spinning firms, try and find a small company on Phangan , like Thomas at dream divers. They even mentioned on the boat as we sailed in that if there was problems speak to them before writing on tripadvisor , I wonder why??? they knew we were not happy as well as a few others but decided not ask I 'm a honest guy as you can see by all my reviews ,so you be the judge

Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScubaSandy84, Manager at Coral Grand Divers, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all feedback in order to continuously improve our services.

Regarding the bigger tanks there must have been a misunderstanding. We don't and never have offered 15l cylinders, we only offer smaller tanks for children. Our diving groups never exceed 6 divers per dive master and for those who want to have an even more personalised dive experience we offer to book a private divemaster for only THB 1,000 per dive trip/group.

Diving around Koh Tao offers more than 20 dive sites and we try indeed to choose the best ones based on weather conditions and diver ability. We are one of the earliest boats to leave in the morning and there are hardly ever more than 1 or 2 boats at the dive site. However, Koh Tao is famous for it's beautiful underwater world and many dive schools operate here. In case the choice of dive sites is reduced due to weather conditions it can unfortunately lead to a higher accumulation of boats at the same spot. I can only reinforce the statement of our divemasters, that we try to bring you away from the crowds whenever possible as our customers satisfaction is of highest priority to us.

We did address the choice of route your divemaster took and also his approach towards you. All our divemasters are passionate about their jobs and diving in general and try to pass on their knowledge to all our divers. We are sorry to hear that this came across as patronising.

I have to strongly disagree on your statement that we are a money spinning firm. All our staff take a lot of pride in providing the best dive experience to all our customers. This is also the reason why we mention to our customers to please speak to the management while they are here so we can resolve any issues immediately and offer some form of compensation where appropriate.

We hope that you will reconsider never diving in Koh Tao again and give us and our beautiful island a chance to change your mind in the future.

Best regards,
Sandra Wahrenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 284 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at Coral Grand dive resort for 4 days to obtain my Padi Open water. What an amazing diving resort this is! great staff, very experienced and I did not feel unsafe for one second. The resort is located at a beautiful location right at Sairee beach. The food served at the restaurant is great and plenty of fun activities close by. Definitely worth staying here!

Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great time at the Coral Grand divers resort, and stayed there for 5 days! The diving crew are all full of humor and making you feel good and secure under the water :). The equipment is great and the boat team very helpful. The resort is so beautiful, located at the quite part of Sairee beach, but still near to the nightlife so you can walk 10 minutes to go crazy with the other island's people. The accommodation was very basic, but nothing to complain about though. Great job you guys, would love to come back for my next diving course, since you manage to keep the school so much fun! (Extra thanks to Sandy, our teacher. She was just wonderful!!)

Thank PerlaMagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

this place is amazing, staff were so helpful with everything I needed, resort where the dive shop is located is at the north end of the beach away from all the beach bars but close enough to walk to so you don't need taxis, room was simple and comfortable and included with the dive course, two swimming pools one for dive training and one for relaxing, great selection of thai and western food in the restaurant and happy hour drink specials, and the diving was AMAZING! recommend anyone heading to koh tao to dive should do it with these guys, simply the best.

Thank BaanTaiBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My son took his open water diving here at Coral Grand two years ago and loved it. So when he returned to Bangkok this winter we both enrolled in Advanced Diving. Not only was the cost reasonable, but accommodations were excellent and all the dives were so memorable. 5 dives in all, all taking place in only two days (including one night dive). They taught me how to maintain perfect buoyancy on the first lesson. Gio was our instructor and a perfect teacher, with patience, yet very safety minded. Highly recommend this dive centre to anyone!

Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Grand Divers also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Coral Grand Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing