We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hin Wong Bungalows
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$177
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$49
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$43
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$32
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$23
$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
19
14
10
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
14
10
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the baybungalowtoiletislandbangkok
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 59 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The reviews below are too god for what you can expect. It's in a remote place and only 2 services of «taxi» per day. No such thing as a sandy beach, alot of glass debris and other rubbish on the sand. HOWEVER, you eat very well for a cheap price and the bungalows have confortable beds. A lot of retired people go there because its an excellent place to relax. It also has a good snorkling spot.
If you don't mind rats, then its a good place to stay...

Room Tip: Also recommanded in the lonely planet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights and had a wonderful time. The bungalow we rented was a bit run down (not super clean, toilet seat not on the toilet), maybe the more expensive ones were nicer but either way the view was amazing. The resort grounds are not well taken care of and there is garbage everywhere, especially on the beach. The bay that the resort is on is beautiful and the snorkeling is amazing, but the garbage just seems to blow in non-stop, we spent well over an hour cleaning garbage and glass off the beach and every day there was just more and more. You're also pretty out-there so be ready to eat at the resort three meals a day, the food is good and very reasonably priced but after a few days you start getting a little sick of it. I recommend bringing books and board games, we played frisbee and read a lot but ended up watching the same (and only) movie we had three times for lack of things to do at night. We thought it was great, but it's definitely rustic.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank canadianbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Calm, quiet, well away from the party zone, hammocks outside waterfront bungalows, no frills, low cost, great hosts, amazing snorkelling... what more can I say?

The trip to Hin Wong Bay is slightly terrifying (the steepest slopes I've ever been up or down in a car), but once you get there it is just heaven. The restaurant serves delicious, well-priced food. The owners leave you in peace unless you need something, in which case they're there with a smile. You meet others by being in an isolated bay. And you can hire a kayak (250 baht/day I think) and/or snorkelling gear and head in either direction for some incredible scenery (a million times better than Ang Thong National Park, which we wish we hadn't wasted our time or money on).

By the way, budget (350-700 baht) means no air conditioning and no hot water, but there are fans and mosquito nets and the water is hot by the end of the day anyway (the pipes must sit in the sun somewhere).

Room Tip: 700 baht is not much to pay for a waterfront bungalow, and includes two double beds, but if you're willing to walk up the hill it's 500 baht and if you just want a small bungalow with no hammock out the front, it's 500 baht for one night or 350 baht per night if you stay two or more nights. Something for everyone, really.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place is so beautiful and peaceful. 10 basic bungalows with fans only and ensuite cold water showers, scattered on a small hill, overlooking the bay and just a minutes walk to a small sandy beach with a really chilled bar and great people. The snorkelling is amazing! Some of the best we've ever seen and certainly the best on Koh Tao.
Service in the restaurant can be slow sometimes but the food is superb and the portions are enormous. Well worth the wait!
We came here for two days and were made to feel so welcome that we stayed for two weeks. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Hin Wong Bay is on the east coast of Koh Tao. Hin Wong Bungalows is pretty much the only thing located there. There is one other place at the fork in the road called View Rock Resort, but in my opinion, Hin Wong Bungalows is way better.

This is a gem of a place if you are looking for off-the-beaten-path tranquility. There are a mere 10 bungalows which are pretty basic and fan only -- there is no air conditioning at all here in case you need to know this. All bungalows have a porch and I think all of them have ocean views as well. Some have hammocks which are delightful!! Up until the big storm in March 2011 there was no real beach there... but now there is. It is small, but it is there, along with a lovely little beach bar that the owners' sister Mol built in 2011. Great place to relax, have a beer or cocktail and meet chill people.

I have stayed there twice now. Once in the summer of 2010 and once in the summer of 2011. You can swim from the cove where the beach is or climb on the rocks and find your own private spot.

The family that runs the place is a delight!! Tao and her husband Tep are really great people and the environment is always calm. They are very accommodating and sweet as pie! They have a great restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (real bacon at breakfast too, YUM!!). The most fantastic REAL FRUIT shakes you'll ever have too.

The taxi rides to town can get expensive. Taxi drivers charge 400 Baht each way because of the bad road and GINORMOUS hill. Doable on a moped and many do it. Two people cannot share the moped at the steepest points so one of you will HAVE TO get off and walk it. The bungalow place does a ride into town twice daily for 150BAHT which is very reasonable.

The rates when I was there last month were as follows: 500 Baht for one night only. 350 Baht per night after that. If you stay longer than a week it's 300 Baht per night.

If you're looking for tons of people and a thriving party scene go to Sairee Beach. Hin Wong Bay is for people who are looking for something remote and unique. You will meet lovely people there. One of the great things about it being so small is you can meet the other guests staying there or the daytrippers who come to snorkel.

OH!!!! The whole reason I love staying here is that they have THE BEST snorkeling on the island. THE BEST. Truly amazing stuff and I have tons of underwater pictures and videos from my stay there. They rent snorkel masks and fins very cheap.

This place is awesome! I paid a couple of different taxi drivers to take me to other parts of the island to see different accommodations. If you're on a tight budget this is the best place you will find anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank BostonStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews