We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roc'ing out with Roctopus!”
Review of Roctopus Dive

Roctopus Dive
Ranked #5 of 93 Tours in Koh Tao
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roctopus Dive, pioneering the future of scuba dive training ... We also teach FREEDIVING to all skills levels and have an award winning Professional Training centre: Divemaster Internships, Instructor courses and Technical diving! The Roctopus Dive team is a young, friendly and energetic collection of dive instructors from throughout the world. Handpicked because of their passion for the underwater world and first class knowledge and experience teaching people how to dive. We promise small group sizes (max 4) for increased personal instruction, safety and enjoyment. The Thai style Roctopus HQ is situated in quiet, relaxing grounds close to Sairee beach, a short walk from all the shops, restaurants, and bars. We can offer customized courses for couples, groups and families, by arranging a diving package to suit your needs. Also take advantage of our infamous Sail Rock Trips (every Sunday) and see the best dive site in the Gulf of Thailand. Come and join the Roctopus Dive family and become part of the sub culture.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Roc'ing out with Roctopus!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After being recommended Roctopus by a friend who works in the dive industry, it really wasn't a hard decision. My girlfriend and I completed our open water and advanced courses with Roctopus and had an incredible time! All the staff and instructors are really chilled out and super friendly, it really is one big family.

Jay was our instructor for both courses which was awesome, He was a really professional teacher while being chilled out and having a good laugh with us all. We all felt very relaxed knowing that Jay would be in complete control if anything did go wrong.

We dived at many different dive sites during our course so you get to explore lots of the underwater world around Koh Tao, including the wreck and the amazing night dive (if you do the advanced course) ;D

The accommodation Roctopus provide as part of your course is very good, basic (like most accommodation on the island) but very clean and quite new! A lot better than most of the places we looked at on the island.

Our group was very good, we all became good mates and went out for drinks and dinner most nights, if you are looking to meet people during your dive experience then Roctopus is also a good choice. Most of the staff are always up for a few beers at the end of the day and you are encouraged to join in and be part of the big extended family!

All the dive equipment is new and in great condition, so feel relaxed that you will be learning with all the modern gear and safety devices. The "rocto-boat" is fitted with all the first aid equipment (including 100% Oxygen) to deal with any issues which may occur,.

After you don your Roctopus Tee-shirt for the first time and wear it around the island you will really feel part of the Roctopus family. I could not recommend these guys enough to anyone thinking of doing any diving on Koh Tao!

I am now planning to go back and do my dive masters, can you guess who I would be doing it with??

Big thanks to the whole Rocto-Crew for making our time on Koh Tao so amazing!

Oh and remember to re-brand your BC's with the "Rocto Pocket", Octo is just so not Roc'ing ;)

Elliot

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elliot_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoctopusDive, Owner at Roctopus Dive, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us such a detailed review, really appreciate it. Happy you had a great time with us and enjoyed becoming part of the Roctopus family. Looking forward to seeing you again for your Divemaster course!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,840
    68
    16
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Perfect for first time divers”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was my first time diving and I couldn't imagine it being any better. The staff was incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and a lot of fun! I started out just taking the open water course and by the end my dive buddy (who I met the first day of the dive course) and I signed up for the advanced adventurer dives and 2 extra fun dives. We did 11 dives in total and got a chance to work with several of the instructors and assistants for different specialties Dan, Jay, Scottie, and Shay we're awesome for the courses and if you're doing fun dives make sure to ask for Brit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoctopusDive, Owner at Roctopus Dive, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for the review, we really appreciate all your comments. All the staff at Roctopus are pleased you had such a good time. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Awesome !”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Easyest comment : professionals, competent, friendly, such a great team !! because of my sinus i made only 2 dives but for my next time in Thailande, i'll be back for sure ! thanks to everyone ;)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariiiiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoctopusDive, Owner at Roctopus Dive, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for your review. Happy you had a fantastic time with us, and I'm sure you will have no problem finishing your course in the future.....hopefully with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“The Place to learn to dive”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We chose Roctopus dive based on Tripadvisor reviews and they were absolutely spot on! Roctopus is absolutely FANTASTIC! Staff are super-friendly, group sizes small (four people in a group), learning is fun and they really look to individual needs. Special thanks go to Westie, Dan and Marcela. If you are looking to learn to dive in Koh Tao, look no further this is the school you want to choose.

Helpful?
Thank Arto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoctopusDive, Owner at Roctopus Dive, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. I have shared your nice comments with all the Roctopus staff and we are all very pleased your experience was so good. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience diving with Roctopus”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Roctopus offered a great experience. Wonderful professional dive staff with small groups. Competitive prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoctopusDive, Owner at Roctopus Dive, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks for leaving us a review. All the Roctopus team are happy you enjoyed your diving experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roctopus Dive also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Roctopus Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing