We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with amazing views but with a couple of issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with amazing views but with a couple of issues”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the Pinnacle for this last new years' holiday for 4 nights. We've got the biggest room/chalet which was very nice and the views are amazing. I believe the views from all the rooms in the resort are amazing. The manager could give us good advice for what we requested and there is a nice little beach by the bottom of the resort. The diving wishes company charges double the price as the diving companies in the rest of the island but offers a very exclusive service with a very nice fast boast and small group - what for me was worth it paying for. Just check that looks like during winter you can get very bad (5 meters) visibility what happened to us and really put us of off to dive more.
Some critics about the hotel:
- Sewage smell. We would not feel it inside the room but it could be felt in many places around the resort. We felt the same smell in other places in the Island and in other cities we visited. Maybe a general Thailand problem?
- The water feels a bit salty. Maybe also Island infrastructure related.
- No proper nice coffee in the breakfast. The coffee in the breakfast was bad and also no trim milk and no sweetener. For the standard of the resort a nice coffee machine is something to be expected.
- The people working in the resort (besides the manager) have an attitude toward people. They give you good morning and etc but just sounds so mechanic. There were also cases of them making jokes in Thai between them in front of customers what felt not nice too. We stayed in 4 hotels in Thailand and in the others we haven't had this feeling.
Anyway the higher points compensate the lows. I would stay again if I was to go to Koh Tao again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a higher room you will stay closer to the restaurant and reception but far from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maralc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Maralc,

Thank you for staying with us on the beautiful Koh Tao.

We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all fair comments. We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and would come back to us. With regards to the issues you mentioned, we are working on them but unfortunately these are mostly infrastructure related problems therefore cannot be fixed immediately. We do apologize for the inconvenience. With regards to the staff behavior I assure you that our team is genuine friendly and have the best intentions. In high season they have less time to connect and communicate with our guests but they will always be polite and helpful.

Thank you again and we are happy to welcome you for your next Koh Tao visit.
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    157
    76
    33
    46
See reviews for
66
276
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burton Stather
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to chill out although when we stayed there was a strong smell of sewerage every day. The rooms are large, clean and the view stunning. The breakfast buffet more than adequate. Down side is the steps as it's built on a very steep hill, and the bar shuts at 10pm. The little but deserted beach is a great place to loose yourself and is ideal for swimming. A really nice place to escape to if it weren't for the smell.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Starr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Starr M,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated our stunning sea views. Thank you for the feedback with regards to the sewage smell and we apologize for the inconvenience. This is indeed an issue that we are currently working on. We are constantly replacing and cleaning sewer drains in order to avoid this happening in the future.
Thank you again for your comments and we are happy to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This was an absolute paradise, everything was clean and well working. Rooms were spacious and the staff was friendly. We wen't to a diving school to Sairee beach from here, it was a bit far away but managable. Peacful resort with a stunning surroundings, recommended!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elena_M1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Elena,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your kind words.
We are pleased to see that we have contributed to a wonderful holiday and we are looking forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Thank you
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great place to spend a few days. Friendly staff and a relaxed laid back feel.
We upgraded to one of the sea bungalows and the rooms were huge and had the most amazing views. Resort is on the side of a mountain hence the great views however there are golf buggies around to take you around. Food wasn't great but we only ate lunch there one day. Shop in resort selling drinks snacks etc which was great, private beach small but very beautiful.
The staff were amazing! The drivers who did the shuttle services to the port and around the resort were so friendly and kind - nothing was too much.
10 minute taxi to sairee beach which we loved. Great town cool surfy vibe, great shops bars and restaurants and so relaxed.
Taxi drivers will try to charge u more to get back to the hotel because of the mountain however we never paid more than 150TBH each.
Would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbunny3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Beachbunny,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.
We are happy to see that you had a good experience at Pinnacle and enjoyed your stay so much.
We have passed your feedback to our team of drivers who were very pleased to hear that they contributed to your happy holiday.
Thank you again for your comments and we are waiting for your return soon.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Although an active user of Tripadvisor to check out prospective hotels, this is my first review.

All in all, I would say that we were satisfied by this hotel, but not inspired, and would not seek to return. I'll list the pros and cobs below:

Pros

Great rooms, with sea views, hot showers, comfortable beds, AC, TV etc- all very modern.


Cons

We visited out of high season, so the enormous restaurant was about a quarter full, if that. While the food was pretty good, the ambience was sadly lacking.

It's an ugly resort to look at - when you take a boat trip out from the resort you can really see how much better other resorts have tried to blend into the natural environment.

Sea views in ECG of the bungalows means you are a long way from the water as all the bungalows are situated on a steep hill.

Distance from town - this really limits your ability to walk to other restaurants and check other food options. There is a free shuttle leaving several times a day, but this really inhibits your ability to be spontaneous.

The name Pinnacle 'dive resort' is deliberately misleading. Given the premium price of the hotel, I thought the dive centre attached would also offer a premium service - don't make the same mistake as us! Instead you have to pay a premium price (double that of the more professional outfits in town) for a mediocre service, including old and badly looked after equipment (regulators not working etc). You are far better served going into town and arranging yourself.

Top tip: if you do stay here, save some dollars and get a better dining and drinking experience by heading to the beach restaurant on the water on the right hand side.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay in our resort and for taking the time to review it.
We are happy that we have met your basic expectations and disappointed that we have not exceeded them. The esthetics of the hotel I will not comment as it is a matter of taste but I do apologize for the diving experience that was not satisfactory. Our in house Dive operator was informed of your feedback and they will work harder to guarantee the premium service that they normally offer.
Thank you

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wonderful place to spend a few days..

Splendid resort the provides you everything you need to have great holiday. Wonderful rooms, clean and spacious, very good breakfast and really lovely people that work there. Everyday interaction with the staff was fun and informative. Chin and Joanna in reception were really a fun team and definitely making an effort to please us.
Location is not that great but I saw other guests renting scooters and quads so I did the same which was difficult as I am beginner but not impossible. I managed to see Koh tao better this way. The view from this location is stunning!!! I always wanted to get back to hotel before sunset because there is the best sunset view. And what a view...
I booked a standard room but upgraded to a bungalow on arrival as I wanted to be closer to the pool. Both rooms are great but definitely the bungalows are special as they give you more privacy.
Koh Tao is not a very luxurious island which is good as it doesn't get very busy so it's perfect for the true traveller! I will surely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andronic e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Andronic E,

Thank you so much for returning at Pinnacle Koh Tao.
We are thrilled to see that you always choose us on this part of Thailand. We are proud that we have made you feel like home and you recognize the beauty of Koh Tao like we do.
Thanks again for another great review and we hope to see you in the next season as well.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved this place and the million stairs to and from the pool or beach… but we enjoy a walk! It’s a great private location with a great team working there. We liked the food and breakfast was just perfect. We normally stay in more rustic places in Thailand but we discovered this resort to be so comfortable and with such great views. The normal Thai huts that we book are full of insects and the wood normally has a bad smell but this place is new, modern and fresh. The sunbeds on balconies are just perfect. The sunsets here are like nowhere in the world. This time of the year the resort was very quiet which was perfect for us. We used the shuttle from hotel to go to the pier and just walked from there to Sairee where the action is. We did not enjoy it that much so we preferred to stay on this part of the island better.
Speak to reception for suggestions on trips and to find out what the best beaches in Koh Tao are. They are always happy to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therealrichardparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Lechat,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao.
What a great review! Thank you very much for taking the time to recommend us to other travelers. We are thrilled to see how much you have enjoyed your stay here.
We are looking forward in welcoming again soon.

Thank you
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
663 reviews
2.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort

Property: Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Address: 26/20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort provides an island escape for the true leisure traveler and dive aficionado. Spend your days exploring the beautiful world underwater either snorkeling, or diving with our state-of-the-art dive school located within the Resort premises. Watch a spectacular sundown from the lounge bed on your room balcony, each of which provides unblocked panoramic view of the Gulf of Thailand. Our resort is located on the hidden-away June Jeau Beach and features Restaurant, Bar, BBQ Terrace and Pool, allowing you to experience true relaxation under the world famous Thai hospitality. Should you wish to explore the nightlife of Koh Tao, we offer a free drop-off service to the pier every evening. We also provide a golf cart shuttle service within the resort. All our rooms are fully equipped with mini bar, LCD flat screen television, refrigerator and air conditioning. We also offer room service and tours. Guests will find that this service-oriented resort with superb facilities and amenities provides excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing