We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Order a filet.”
Review of Hippo Bar & Grill

Hippo Bar & Grill
Ranked #17 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Cuisines: American, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Hippo is a friendly bar and grill, popular with local ex-pats and tourists. Open for 2 years now it's own by Thai and UK partners. we specialise in steaks and burgers but have many dishes from salads to Thai curries. good music, pool table and outdoor dining. great milkshakes and mojitos too.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Order a filet.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nothing but love for this places, I opted for the T-Bone steak my girlfriend the filet. Both cooked perfectly although the filet was. Inch nicer than my steak, and a really good size too. The bill came to 1200 baht for 2 very good steaks and 4 beers. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MattRowe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    149
    48
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant away from side streets of koh tao if you're looking for something little quieter. Buffalo wings are amazing!!! Defo must try them! Their chips are nicest had in Thailand, proper home made chips! Only downside is portions are on the small side but otherwise fab food.

Helpful?
Thank LKenny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was ok...”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We heard lots of good reviews and the restaurant/bar is in a very prominent location. However the promise of a good quality steak was on the cards was sadly a little disappointing and only ok'ish. Also, disappointingly our main courses were served together with our starters! Would have expected better. Maybe we just got an off night...

Helpful?
Thank Stumcfoo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tough steak, noisy location”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Went here following advice on trip advisor, looked good from outside but a little noisy being on the main road. Steak was a little cheaper than some of the top picks on trip advisor, ordered Australian rib eye which was tough and chewy. Can't beat British steak. Nice fajitas though! Chicken satay and garlic bread to start were nice but no better than the local Thai places.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
253 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good quality beef (imported)”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A bit prizy for Thailand and you may be able to get a local steak in same quality - but in the Hippo you are almost guaranteed a good steak. Also the burger is with good meet

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DivingSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Bar & Grill also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Hippo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing