We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hippo Bar & Grill

Hippo Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 180 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Cuisines: American, Bar, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Hippo is a friendly bar and grill, popular with local ex-pats and tourists. Open for 2 years now it's own by Thai and UK partners. we specialise in steaks and burgers but have many dishes from salads to Thai curries. good music, pool table and outdoor dining. great milkshakes and mojitos too.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a really good burger here, my husband had ribs. The service was a little slow but was a pleasant atmosphere to sit and have a few drinks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank millymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    148
    46
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hoi Sin Duck Salad was so good that I had it 3 visits in a row. My friends said the other food was great too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dory342833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Went there at 4pm so we were the only people in the restaurant and had to wait a bit for our order but once it came it was well worth the wait. The pad thai and Cajun chicken salad were amazing. The daiquiris were to die for. Very impressed and left extremely satisfied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjcrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lovely staff, good food and yummy cocktails too. I felt like a hearty, meaty dish so had to have a go at the BBQ ribs and they did not disappoint at all - no steak knife required, or any knife for that matter. Just scrapped the meat off with my fork. OMG so yum! A little side of salad and sautéed potatoes and I was stuffed! My friend had the Salmon with a garlic mash and she also loved it. The Mojito's were fabulous too. Overall a really lovely dining experience that I can't fault. I've had better meals that were just that little more amazing, hence the 4 stars, not 5 stars. But highly recommend!! Go. Go. Go. Do it! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

they serve great steaks and salads. maybe a bit pricey, but well worth it.
the staff is a bit slow and not too attentive though; many cheap restaurants on the island have much better staff as far as my experience go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindafdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Bar & Grill also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Hippo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing