We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious western food with good prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hippo Bar & Grill

Hippo Bar & Grill
Ranked #17 of 180 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Cuisines: American, Bar, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Hippo is a friendly bar and grill, popular with local ex-pats and tourists. Open for 2 years now it's own by Thai and UK partners. we specialise in steaks and burgers but have many dishes from salads to Thai curries. good music, pool table and outdoor dining. great milkshakes and mojitos too.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious western food with good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Me and my family absolutely loved the western food offered at the hippo. My dad was very impressed with the fish and chips and i was with my roasted chicken breast all cooked to a high standard. All food was reasonable priced and staff welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beaver321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    148
    46
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice place for cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent a few nights here relaxing in the lounge and playing pool. Frendly staff and great cocktails.
Did not try the food, but heardit was great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sjimpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been travelling round Thailand for the last three weeks and this is undoubtedly the best meal I've enjoyed so far. The service is slow compared to restaurants you may visit in the uk but bear in mind that they cook fresh ingredients from scratch. The restaurant is slightly more expensive than others nearby but it is 100% worth it!! Mostly western food, I would highly recommend the salmon. It's also got a chilled more upmarket atmosphere - definitely coming back before I leave ko Tao!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shelly_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Funky Restaurant in Sairee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hippo is a funky Restaurant set on the main road in Sairee, opposite Zanzibar. it has a great bar area with comfy seating, good selection of drinks and friendly staff. They have a pool table to entertain whilst waiting for dinner and there is free wi-fi. They can cater for larger tables or just the two, and take-away from here is great! Nearly all meals are large, however, they have started to cut these down lately. Reasonable pricing too. They serve a range of dishes to cover Thai and western, great salads, burgers, and Thai dishes, not to mention the BBQ meals each evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“"Great Gusto"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've chance to dined out wiht my lovely friends at Hippo Bar & Grill, Koh Toa, unbelievable! the foods were so yummy for every dishes. The restuarant's decoration is so chic, suitable for everyone to chill out. Don't miss to join your expereince there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RatAui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Bar & Grill also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Hippo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing