We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian food”
Review of Porto Bello Bistro

Porto Bello Bistro
Ranked #20 of 192 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Situated right in the centre of town with open seating this is a very welcoming restaurant. The menu is extensive with a range of simple starters and a good variety of pastas and pizzas. There is also a nice mix of meat and vegetarian dishes on offer. My wife and I took one of the high tables situated on the pedestrian street outside the main restaurant. We shared a tomato and pesto bruschetta which was very tasty (the portion is quite small but very adequate for one person). For main course we each had a pasta. Both were very decent especially washed down with an Italian red wine. The coffee was perfect. Unfortunately, the service lets this place down. Quite unfriendly and not expected in such a wonderful island.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abdul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    241
    75
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul's Bay, null, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If youre after mediterranean good food, then youve hit the right spot”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

At first considering this place has no sort of seaview like the resorts restaurants, i was a bit hesitating about it.

I never booked and didnt feel like waiting for a table si chose to stay on a table outside which was fine. (i noticed ppl inside the restaurant were given more attention then the ones outside but still it was fine enough for me)

I had a basil pesto bruschetta to start with which was good. (a small hint of salt made it happen more)

I then had a fillet from new zealand accompanied by a side pepper sauce. Perfectly cooked and the meat was as good as a prime fillet from new zealand can be.

My gf had a crab and salmon ravioli which once again was absolutely delicious.

I never had dessert but a swedish guy beside me said the cheese cake was mind blowing.

Espresso served the way an espresso shoul be served which is a breath of fresh air in koh tao and in thailand (generally speaking)

What i didnt like is that main course dishes werent taken out at the same time. I had akmost finished eating by the time the ravioli came out and no one came asking if i would have liked a coffee, liquer or dessert after i had finished eating and had to call a waitress myself.

Said this, i reserved a table for tomorrow as the food was delicious and staff were very nice...

Helpful?
Thank Don-Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Top”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed 10 days in Koh Tao and this restaurant was our daily meeting point every night. Simply the best reastaurant in the island.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanilialala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice change from Thai food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Make sure you book the place is always busy, and people always queuing for a seat! Although its worth it, we hadnt booked and turned up just at the right time we waited ten minutes and was told that if the people who booked didnt turn up we had their seat. Thankfully for us they didnt!

Portions are great sizes and food is very tatsy, wine was beautiful too! Although dont go for desert, it was tiny and wasnt what it stated.

As they where so busy I didnt get my second drink I ordered also, just something to be aware of.

Worth a visit though if you fancy a change from thai food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaney83ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Make sure you book!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place is always rammmed! So we decided to book for a couple of days down the line, and was well worth it. Starter was disapointing but our main courses were lovely. Really tasty well cooked food, and a great selection to choose from

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ericpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello Bistro also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Porto Bello Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing