We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good restaurant for an Italian fix”
Review of Porto Bello Bistro

Porto Bello Bistro
Ranked #20 of 186 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A good restaurant for an Italian fix”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Portobello this week and had a very nice meal. The place is busy (no reservations allowed) and had a queue out the door most of the night. That said, we waited only a couple of minutes for a table.

The restaurant has one side open to the outdoors so no air conditioning, there are fans although it was pretty hot where we were sitting which was right inside near the pizza oven.

The food and service were both quick. My husband had a pizza which was delicious and I had meatballs which were tasty. You can order large or small portions which is good.

Overall a good evening - I would go back if we were in koh tao longer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    241
    73
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visit more for the atmosphere than the food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the busy restaurants on sairee and out of curiosity to the volume of people here we decided to try it. We got the platter to share as a starter but were underwhelmed. The pizzas are very good and the pasta is a bit over salted. Service is good and they have a good selection of wines which makes a change from beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexthekid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty slow service and good food (but not amazing)”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went back here a few times for a non Asian food fix as the place is good value and the vibe is pretty cool. But I found both times that the service was a bit slow for the amount of staff that were on the floor. The cocktails were definitely a let down, we tried four different ones and were disappointed. But the food is pretty good, the pastas were a little on the salty side but other than that quite tasty and the steak was fantastic. Book ahead as it gets really really busy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePoorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food so far in Ko Tao”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that food in Ko Tao is generally average at best. I guess this comes from having only Burmeese and no Thai chefs in most places. Waiters all over the island are exclusively Burmeese, which are very nice people but don't come close to Thais, service wise.

Porto Bello was a nice surprise, much better food than the competition and fast service. It's not quite at Bangkok standards yet but they might get there. It was reassuring to see that Itslians were actively running it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeedeeBKK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My Family has been going to Portobello for years, and enjoy everything they make. Living in Thailand, it is easy to get your filll of Thai food, and crave a proper Western meal... Especially a good pizza, from time to time. Look no further than Portobello. Really good food. Not-too-expensive, and nice people running the place. Try the Mums gooey chocolate cake for a delightful desert! Excellent wine selection, the pastas and salads are excellent too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lincsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello Bistro also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Porto Bello Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing