We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Bello Bistro

Porto Bello Bistro
Ranked #19 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A great little italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. The menu is really nice, the pizzas and salads are so tasty, thin crusts and lots of toppings. A little gem whilst having been in asia so long. Not cheap though. Nice wine list aswell, definately worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _charlotteR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    241
    73
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's good, not brilliant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

While the atmosphere is great, the food is pretty average. The pizza sauce needs more flavour and less cheese, but over all we agreed it is a pleasant place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HELSTON
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Food was lovely. We had a Calzone and a Pizza. Proper thin and flakey crust pizza. Service was slow though and took 35-40 mins to arrive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank REBECCAR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is for perfect for critical italy lovers. The pizza is crispy and thin, the cheese is imported, the ravioli is selfmade ect...we loved it! (We are italian restaurant-snobs and quite picky.)
The staff is helpfull and understanding. Our kids (1& 2 years old) had their pasta served in 4 minutes, and our food was coming later, so we could help the kids and enjoy our food as well! Good wines and everything for reasonable prices! We will be back for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A nice break after many pad Thais!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After 10 days being around Thailand we felt the desire to go back to a more European cuisine in order to have a break and start over again with Thai food. Walking down the street of Sairee beach we found Porto Bello pizzeria, which was crowded and looked nice. We had 2 pizzas and two soft drinks (it was Buddhist day and therefore not serving alcohol) and being Italian I must say that pizzas were not bad at all! It took a while in order to get them at the table but they were thin, crunchy and fresh. Silvia, one of the waitress serving there, was extremely helpful giving us tips on what to do and where to go in Koh Tao. Overall if you want to get a break from local food, get a pizza at Porto Bello!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello Bistro also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Porto Bello Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing