We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, slow service”
Review of Porto Bello Bistro

Porto Bello Bistro
Ranked #19 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
HELSTON
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice food, slow service”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Food was lovely. We had a Calzone and a Pizza. Proper thin and flakey crust pizza. Service was slow though and took 35-40 mins to arrive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank REBECCAR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    241
    73
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real italian food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is for perfect for critical italy lovers. The pizza is crispy and thin, the cheese is imported, the ravioli is selfmade ect...we loved it! (We are italian restaurant-snobs and quite picky.)
The staff is helpfull and understanding. Our kids (1& 2 years old) had their pasta served in 4 minutes, and our food was coming later, so we could help the kids and enjoy our food as well! Good wines and everything for reasonable prices! We will be back for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A nice break after many pad Thais!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

After 10 days being around Thailand we felt the desire to go back to a more European cuisine in order to have a break and start over again with Thai food. Walking down the street of Sairee beach we found Porto Bello pizzeria, which was crowded and looked nice. We had 2 pizzas and two soft drinks (it was Buddhist day and therefore not serving alcohol) and being Italian I must say that pizzas were not bad at all! It took a while in order to get them at the table but they were thin, crunchy and fresh. Silvia, one of the waitress serving there, was extremely helpful giving us tips on what to do and where to go in Koh Tao. Overall if you want to get a break from local food, get a pizza at Porto Bello!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service with attitude!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This seems like a nice place at first. Menu has some nice choices. My husband chose the mushroom bruschetta & I chose prawn skewers for starters. Bruschetta was a huge piece of bread sliced into 3, smothered in pale, oily cheese, underneath were a few mushrooms (tinned, by the taste) & bechemel sauce, not good. My prawns were fine apart from the fact they arrived 5 mins before my husbands.
Main course. Tagliatelliwith gorgonzolla, which turned up as tagliatelli with pesto. I had penne del gambas. Bland is the only word for it. Nothing homemade here!

1 glass of rose wine cost 200 baht, overpriced & really small!

The staff waiting our table were rude, abrupt & just chucked everything on the table. This is the first time in over 2 years of living in Thailand, that I have not left a tip! We were in & out of there in 45 minutes, so much for making a night of it.

There are far nicer restaurants in the area that serve better food & have good, friendly service & similar prices.

We do not recommend this place & would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank couchpotato12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best meal I've had in south east Asia!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

came here on an off-chance and it's the best meal I've had in south east Asia. Bolognese Calsone was insanely nice, made my day. Garlic Bread was like in a proper Italian restaraunt at home. food piping hot and an amazing atmosphere. service let it down a little bit, longish wait on food (i didn't mind cos it was worth it). Western manager could have pushed her staff a little bit more (borderline impolite at times but by no means terrible). Amazing value, bill came to £10 between two of us. Would pay £50 back home easily

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank warnertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello Bistro also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Porto Bello Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing