We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Fusion at its best”

Barracuda Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 191 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the centre of Sairee Beach, Barracuda is a laid back and stylish dining alternative. Specialising in a large selection of seafood and Thai style fusion dishes. Within our extensive menu you are bound to find something to suit all tastes. After training as a Chef at, English's Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar in Brighton, straight from school in 1998, Ed moved to Koh Tao in February 2007, where he has since been working as a chef at various locations around the island. Ed had developed his menus using feedback he has received from his customers since he opened, Barracuda, in July 2010. With his latest menus, Ed has started to introduce the "Thai Fusion" range of dishes to suit all tastes, these are proving to be extremely popular with the locals and tourists alike.
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion at its best”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to this restaurant on two occasions during our stay came back the second time as the quality of the food was outstanding. The Fish platter is definitely worth a try as is the Thai Fusion Barracuda Fillet in banana leaf. By far the best meals we had in Koh Tao

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillipepper_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,295
    452
    129
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheshire cat grin”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I prebooked a table here as heard it is sometimes difficult to get a seat without a reservation.

Me and my partner ordered the 'All in seafood platter' When the food arrived I couldn't help but smile from ear to ear - it was more than enough for me and my partner to share, and everything was delicious (particularly the barracude fishcakes). I would also recommend trying the passion fruit and berry mojitos.

Great service, great food. Wish I had more time to try more of the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food on Koh Tao”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had an amazing dinner at Barracuda. I had the duck liver pate as a starter and the barracuda wrapped in parma ham, both very tasty. My girlfriend had the prawn skewers and the vegetarian salad which was huge. We finished our meal with the chocolate cake...AWESOME! It was quite busy so we were glad that we booked a table. Would recommend this place to everybody, you don't want to miss out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here after being recommended it by Louise at Asia Divers. We loved it so much we ate here twice. We had platters that were amazing its not that expensive and definitely worth the price. The passion fruit mojito was amazing and will definitely come back when in Koh Tao.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosie_blue_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable diner, lovely restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had met an Australian couple on the train and decided to meet again for diner in Koh Tao. The new friends had heard about this restaurant and wanted to try it. We have not been desappointed at all, the food was excellent and probably the best we had on the island! It was a bit more expensive than average but definitely was worth trying. Will go back and would definitely recommand it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Barracuda Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing