We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a great place to eat”

Barracuda Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the centre of Sairee Beach, Barracuda is a laid back and stylish dining alternative. Specialising in a large selection of seafood and Thai style fusion dishes. Within our extensive menu you are bound to find something to suit all tastes. After training as a Chef at, English's Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar in Brighton, straight from school in 1998, Ed moved to Koh Tao in February 2007, where he has since been working as a chef at various locations around the island. Ed had developed his menus using feedback he has received from his customers since he opened, Barracuda, in July 2010. With his latest menus, Ed has started to introduce the "Thai Fusion" range of dishes to suit all tastes, these are proving to be extremely popular with the locals and tourists alike.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is a great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Restuarant is very popular and so must book to get a table. The food is excellent and presentation up market. Would highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank timgledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,226
    433
    126
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

To celebrate one of us leaving Koh Tao we splurged at Barracuda one night.

It's definitely not the easiest spot to get a table and we were a little cramped as a group of 5, but it was well worth it.

Most of us ordered red meat, but a few of us ordered the chicken caesar. Everybody thought their meals were excellent, but the service was even better. Super-friendly staff, and the chef takes great pride in his work. It was a really nice change from exclusively Thai foods. I wanted to return for another special meal, but most of the people I was hanging out with felt this restaurant was out of their budget range. Great (if I recall) lime shakes. Very refreshing. I promised myself if I came back I'd order seafood. The steak was excellent, but my decision to order it was influenced by my friends (I didn't want to be the only person without one).

I definitely didn't feel I overpaid, but there are better values to be had. From what I understand, they cook some of the best Western food on the island, and I felt I got what I paid for.

Like almost everywhere on Koh Tao, appetizer doesn't really translate well. It almost always comes out with your main course unless you are really specific and ensure understanding. My salad did come out as an appetizer (before my main meal) but I accidentally ended up with main course-sized chicken caesar. Small or 'starter' definitely got lost in translation. I definitely wouldn't (and didn't) complain, it was a great salad at a reasonable price, just waaaay more than I could eat.

Definitely a superb meal

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glass_Top_Cohiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Just as good as the reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent sea food, warm personal service - just a delight to visit Barracuda Restaurant in Sairee Village. We will surely be back !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChopXiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“when you need a change from Thai food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a delicious meal there celebrating a family birthday. Amazing menu with masses of choice, seafood especially good. Not the cheapest place to eat, but great for a treat when you need a change from Thai food. Make sure you book to get a table near the street, as it's a small place and gets hot near the kitchen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mozzie-killer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

we ate here twice during our 2 week visit to koh tao, altho a bit more expensive than your typical thai restaurant the food and service was great, large choice of foods and excellently presented, will def return next year. booking recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Barracuda Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing