We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Barracuda Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 192 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the centre of Sairee Beach, Barracuda is a laid back and stylish dining alternative. Specialising in a large selection of seafood and Thai style fusion dishes. Within our extensive menu you are bound to find something to suit all tastes. After training as a Chef at, English's Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar in Brighton, straight from school in 1998, Ed moved to Koh Tao in February 2007, where he has since been working as a chef at various locations around the island. Ed had developed his menus using feedback he has received from his customers since he opened, Barracuda, in July 2010. With his latest menus, Ed has started to introduce the "Thai Fusion" range of dishes to suit all tastes, these are proving to be extremely popular with the locals and tourists alike.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing meal here. We are from Melbourne and we love our food. The quality of the food here is just amazing, as good or better than most places back home. We will go again before we leave koh Tao

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimeebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    452
    130
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seafood Platter”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place for a nice dinner out on Koh Tao. Group of six had drinks, dinner & dessert for for about $165.00 (Canadian) including the awesome seafood platter for two!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank drodgers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No complaints.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It’s actually a bit shocking to find something this good somewhere so small where generally this amount of thought and skill wouldn’t be put into food. My wife and I live in New York, eat out there several times a week and have spent far far more than we did here to get far less. I loved their appetisers and my wife declared one of their entrees one her favourite dishes of the past few years.
I liked the service, they were there when required without plaguing your existence, liked the décor and while without AC there were enough fans to keep me comfortable. The owner and staff obviously care about this place and someone knows their food. Were this transported to N.Y. I’d eat there frequently, were it transported there at these prices I’d eat there daily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garioch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Amazing little find on Koh Tao! When I thought all that could be found was straight forward Thai or Western food for burger starved travellers, along came Barracuda. Billed as Thai fusion, it really delivered. The mix of fine dining quality foord with hints of local flavor. Lemon grass, curry flavors, etc. All mixed up with fresh delicious seafood and vegtables. Inspired food and great, surprisingly attentive staff who couldn't do enough to make sure you were always set with what you needed. We stayed on the south end of the island but came to Sairee almost every other night to eat here. The best part, they are priced only a few baht more than if you ate at one of the other run of the mill places. All in all, very pleased to have stumbled on Barracuda. Try the bruchetta, and make sure you have some pan fried barracuda.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dice367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hyped with good service, but food let it down”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went here due to fantastic reviews on tripadvisor and perhaps expected too much for the island, where we found food to be quite poor throughout our stay.

I had the tuna steak and whilst not terrible, I felt it was a little bland. It lacked enough sauce to go with the size of the steak and I couldn't finish it as it became a little dry. My g/f had a similar experience with her dish.

They were by no means terrible, but with high expectations we felt a little let down.

I should note that the service was very good; it was by no means our worst experience in Thailand restaurants, far from it, but neither one of our best.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maddison1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Barracuda Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing