We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a diving center than a hotel”
Review of Asia Divers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asia Divers Resort
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in Asia Divers for only one night because we chose to move closer to the beach and it was a bit overpriced from what they offered. We stayed in the fan room, and it was very basic! There ia a nice swimming pool but most of the time it is full of divers training.
I would recommend this place if your do a diving course with them, otherwise If you just want a place to stay I reckon there are a couple of hotels at the same range of price.

Please make sure you enjoy the sunset at the beach, it is absolutely amazing!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazilian-Couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 369 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Asia resort is about 5-10 mins walk from the beach but is close enough to Sairee Town. It has a swimming pool and breakfast included which was pretty standard food. We stayed in the Comfort Fan Room. It was certainly not very comfortable! The fan spins around the room and is only positioned on the bed for a few seconds before moving on and so we found it very hot. The beds are not very comfortable at all (very hard) and the pillows are terrible. The shower wasnt hot but the toilet did flush. There was a TV but no fridge or safety desposit box. The rooms are clean. It was noisy at night with lots of banging of doors and people talking in the corridors.

The pool was nice but had limited seating around the edge and had loads of flies. It is open all day for guests but sections are often used by divers (to be expected really at a dive resort!).

Room Tip: Go for an Aircon room as it isnt much more and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBECCAR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room and bathroom very very smelly room 63. We were moved to room 60 on day 2 after they couldn't fix our door lock. Only bathroom smelly in room 60. So kept door closed to continue. Included Breakfast basic, but ok. Rest of restaurant menu very good and affordable. Super noisy location! Can't stress this enough if you are light sleeper. Paid 1,300 baht per night. I think there might be better hotels for this price. The pool was refreshing, clean and very nice! Lots of other great food in area. 40 baht per kilo laundry right across lane. 10 min or less walk to beach.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face the street. 24 hour a day mtorcycle and truck traffic despite it looking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean and well maintained. The staff are not rude, but are not overly friendly either - just average. Some of the rooms are alongside a main road and can be a bit noisy at night and in the early morning. The hotel advertises a pool which is true and it is a nice pool, but it's primary purpose is for training divers so if you are using the pool for swimming or just relaxing you need to share it with people in full dive gear working on their training. Overall would stay again, but might try something different next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaLRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wanting to dive on the day we checked in, we came the day before to find out what time check in was and were told 10am. So instead of getting a taxi to our dive company (who said they'd look after our luggage) we went to Asia Divers Resort first, only to be told by the exact same woman that check in was at 11. We told them it wasn't a problem, they just needed to get the info right so we could go diving but they were aggressive right off the bat and had no time for us. We had to leave our luggage in the foyer, to go to our dive course then come back halfway through and check in. That night our fan groaned and squeaked all night (roof mounted and stuck on oscillate - so either off or on). After no sleep we went to reception at 8am and asked them if we could either change rooms or get it oiled. They told us come back at 10, we did, they said 10:30, so we did. When we came back they told us we couldn't move and it couldn't be fixed because we put a lock on the door and now the handyman was busy. We asked them why they hadn't just told us to leave the room unlocked and they just kept reiterating that it was our fault so we could just deal with the creaky fan. They were on the back foot no matter how polite you were, they acted like they were sick of their jobs and tourists and were clearly saying nasty things about us in Thai to each other. At one point one of them told us "you can just check out" and stormed off. We ended up having to pack up all our luggage, lock it someone else's room and leave the door wide open so they could fix it! Great way to spend a day of our holiday!!!! We have been travelling Asia and India for 6 months so have seen a lot of things but this was just nasty and uncalled for. They honestly acted like people had nothing better to do with their time but hang out in their reception! We ended up moving to a cute wooden hut on the beach on our last night and slept amazingly. It cooled down at night, unlike the big concrete building at Asia Divers. The hut was half the price, so much more comfortable and cleaner than Asia Divers and was run by a lovely old Thai woman. Moral of the story, don’t stay at Asia Divers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I returned to Asia Divers with my partner for about the 5th time. We booked from Bangkok and were picked up at the pier. We had a fan room this time as we were not doing a diving course so not able to avail of the cheaper ac rooms. The restaurant does a great spicy tuna salad! The bar is lively when the dive groups are around but quiet enough other times. A great pool area where divers learn first steps but big enough for everyone to use. The place has really matured with beautiful gardens. In all, a good place to go away from the madness of Soiree Beach. Not the last place on the road anymore but still fairly quiet. Best to come here if you want to do a dive course or if your in a group, great security so always feel your belongings are safe. I will return again but not unless I am doing a course.

Room Tip: The fan rooms are nicer but obviously without ac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromhometom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Paid for a fan/ac room on Agoda and wasn't disappointed but wasn't particularly overwhelmed by the quality of what we got. The rooms are comfortable and tidy as is the resort, which is very much setup for divers, who can get a good deal on dive packages booked through the resort.

The staff are mostly Burmese and, perhaps understandably, quite ignorant of you if you greet them in Thai or ask for anything in Thai. That said, they seemed to warm a little when I figured this out and thanked one in Burmese.

We paid for breakfast with the room but the breakfast menu is restricted to 4 fairly uninteresting choices. Again, the quality of the food wasn't bad but portions were quite small (relative to what a street vendor would give you) and it was more expensive than the restaurants/vendors just a stone's throw away.

The location is good for accessing a large number of cafes/restaurants as well as the Sairee Beach nightlife and a large number of dive centres, including the on site one.

All in all, no real complaints but (as a guest rather than a diver) nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: The higher quality rooms did actually look pretty nice, maybe ask for one at reception?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcpeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
2.3 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 50 in Koh Tao
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Divers Resort

Address: 18/1 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $16 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asia Divers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Asia Divers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Divers Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing