We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Asia Divers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asia Divers Resort
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The main issue I had with this hotel was the smell of the bedroom which was disgusting! Also the fan was not powerful enough so the room was actually hotter than outside and then if you left the door open insects and flies came in! The shower had no hot water and we booked a double fan room but received a twin room. Apart from those issues, the resort is clean and the food from the restaurant is very good including breakfast. The pool area was nice but the water looked slightly murky perhaps due to the diving training taking place. This hotel is average and I think better value for money could be found.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    136
    90
    26
    37
See reviews for
25
140
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Rooms range from plush with ac (1500thb), basic ac (900thb) and basic fan (700thb) all are good size, cleaned daily so spotless, clean towels daily and comfortable. Resort is well maintained, pretty and nice pool.
They will do deals on price for longer stays think around 40% off for over 20 days
Good location just up the hill so close to everything you need
I didnt dive with them but judging by the pool work I saw the instructors are great

The staff on reception are ok but not helpful with things unless its making them money. The restaurant staff are plain rude, constantly playing games on phone when people are standing waiting to pay or order, shout at each other and are just generally unpleasant. Foods not great either.

Stay here but eat elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallulahPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived in Koh Tao from Bangkok with no where booked and took our chances. 2 of us went to a hostel and 2 of us paid a little bit more and stayed here as it had a pool. The room rate was very reasonable too!

We had a twin room which was spacious and clean, it had a tv and fan which was quite powerful and did a good job of cooling us down. The pool area was clean and although it was used to train divers, wasn't as busy as I thought it would be. Staff were friendly enough.

Great location too, just a 5 minute walk to the beach. Koh Tao was my first Thai island and is my favourite. It is so much more than just a diving island! Amazing scuba diving to be done of you can't afford the other diving on offer.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for the best room available for the price. Fan rooms are just as good as rooms with Ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in july 2011.
We emailed them short notice and were pleasantly surprised that they picked us up from the boat seeing as the taxi drivers were trying to charge us a fortune for the journey. Only our first week in Thailand (start of 3 months) went there from Bangkok. The island is still my favourite memory of Thailand. The snorkelling was absolutely amazing (even more so when you go to places like phi phi and you are surrounded by jellyfish, millions of people and no fish cause they feed them bread which kills them!)
Love how they ban plastic bottles and litter.
We stayed in a fan room as it was cheaper and it was actually bearable... Wouldn't of managed that anywhere else, we got air con every time from then!
Staff were lovely. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment. It was great having a nice pool for that price as well tho prices were probably cheaper cause of time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I'm writing this review more to promote asia divers itself, rather than the hote resort. I stayed for two weeks at the resort which was pretty average accomodation unless you upgraded rooms which was, in my eyes, worth it as the standard was a lot better. The pool area is nice and it's good to have the restaurant on site which does good food and great shakes!

But what made my stay in Koh Tao brilliant was just how much fun I had learning to scuba dive with asia divers. Definitely something I will never forget! My friends and I originally were just going to do a day of diving but very quickly ended up deciding that it would be great to do our PADI open water. Everyone working there is so kind and friendly that, although I thought I would be nervous about diving, I really wasn't at all. We had Rick as our instructor who made everything fun and relaxed from start to finish. I definitely recommend him as an instructor, especially if you're new to diving! I loved it so much that I ended up staying and doing my advanced scuba diving which was incredible. I was able to do a shipwreck dive and a night dive!!

We also decided to get our 3rd and 4th dives filmed by one of the company's viedographers which I also recommend because it's something you can keep forever and is a great memory to have. If you're interested you can get them to show you some examples whilst out there - they're really good!

Personally, I think the staff at the resort could take a few lessons from the asia diving instructors in hospitality and customer service! They aren't particularly friendly at the desk, especially if you have an issue. But I still really enjoyed my time here - go for the diving!

Room Tip: I was originally put into a tiny claustraphobic room - this was a basic room I think. It didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for one night only. Ko Tao is a scuba diving destination of Thailand. The hotel staff were very friendly and hospitable. We could not do our breakfast as we had to leave early for the diving session, once we came back we asked them if we can get our breakfast in the lunch time and to my surprise they served us that. A very warm gesture by the hotel staff and we never had any problem during our stay.

The location is great, near the beach and shopping street, clubs, etc.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank arghasengupta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived on Koh Tao and strugged to find a room anywhere with most hotels fully booked or changing at least 2000 baht (double our budget!). Asia divers had 1 room left a fan twin for 800 baht and we took it gladly. The room was newly decorated and had a balcony overlooking the pool. It was cleaned daily which seems somewhat a rarity in Thailand.
It was only 2 mins walk to the main bar/restaurant/beach area which was fine by us as it meant the room was always quiet. There are places to eat and drink closer but we always went to the beachfront.
To be honest the room was too hot despite the new rotating fan but we found having a cold shower before getting into bed helped to cool us down. Having a pool was a nice touch, small but lovely to cool off.
We never ate at the bar or had much to do with the staff but everyone seemed helpful enough and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get and AC room, you really need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSwinbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Divers Resort

Property: Asia Divers Resort
Address: 18/1 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Asia Divers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Asia Divers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Divers Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing