We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for divers, close to ferry, friendly owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Nemo Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Captain Nemo for 4 nights during our PADI Instructors Exam in august. Nice quiet place, perfect for us, so we could study in the evening and enjoy a good night sleep. It is very close to te beach and the ferry pier. In the street there are many restaurants, we really liked Dolce Vita just across the street. The owners are very nice and helpfull and can give you lots of information, book tours and boat tickets etc. Thanks, we enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank nightdiver_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Captain Nemo Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 581 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for 2night and found the family a first very helpfull! The wife and daughter were lovely and the husband at first seemed pleasent! We arrived in a group of 7 and rented 3 of there 6 rooms! First night we came home at 3:30 which is a reasonable hour for the party lovers in thailand but also we were tired so ended the night the early. had a quick hug and sed r goodnights in the hall and everybody parted off into there own rooms! Woke up lunch time next day and the father who owned the guest rooms was waiting! Straight over to my boyfriend and gave him a awfull time about our mannor at night time and that if we were to make any noise the last night he will have the police down , our deposit would be gone and we would spend the evening in a police station! My boyfriend tried to explain he was first home last night and hadnt made a pee of noise but this just made his voice get loader and more aggressive so he ended up walking away to cool down! The owner is french and they are known for rudeness but taht was just noway to treat customers and i feel he needs to go t customer care classes as its no way to talk to paying guests! Ignored for the rest of ur time there and that night we stayed in terrified that if we made the slightest noise that we wud be sent packin to a cell for the night! Its a place for familys who dont want luxury but definately not for young people wanting to be able to go out at night for a few drinks at night! Rooms were clean but smelt of something strange??? Couldnt quite work it out wat it was? And my friends room had a ant nest in the bathroom and the sink was covered in ants, so they bunked in with us the last night because they were scared of the ants biting them throughhout the night....bed cover is a overly sized towel!!! Air con room and also a fan so thats good! Wouldnt return, its a pity because first impressions of the family were lovely but they let me down!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here unless ur boring and want to be in bed by 12!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessiebella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainnemokohtao, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Thank you very much for this review which is a good advertising as well.
Captain Nemo is located in one of the quietest area on Koh Tao, and most of our guests choose to stay here especially for this reason. Families or people diving early in the morning just expect to sleep well in the night time, and not be woken by 7 drunk and noisy people at 3.30 AM which some people consider is a “reasonable time “ , and people who disrespect the no-smoking policy and signs on the corridor and rooms ,which Captain Nemo explains to all guests at check in .
We work hard to keep this place as comfortable and clean as we can, and by the way, the ”strange smell in the rooms ” is the cleaning products used to clean the rooms on a daily basis.
Philippe, Som & Ploy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Thank you Phillipe, Som and Proy for everything, staying with you has certainly made my stay in Koh Tao so much better! Accommodation is superb, clean room, comfortable bed, fresh lining, fresh towels daily, and a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Everything I asked for you did your very best to help with, nothing is too much for you and always done with a smile.

Thank you so, so much, I will definitely be back!

Lee :-)

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

It was really nice to stay here, the owners were very helpful with everything, when we asked them something. We got new towels every day and there was AC. Close to the beach and the small town. We would love to come back some day ;o) ;o)

We paid 900 thb for one night, but maybe you can get it cheaper ;o), and stayed there for 4 nights ;o)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janne79-04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The lovely owners make you feel completely at home from when you arrive, we don't know what previous reviewers are saying about her being out for your money! In fact she saved us money on our trip to Koh Phi Phi and always strived to help us anyway she could.

The room was very comfortable, the fridge and free DVDs were a great perk and the location is very accessible from Mae Haad town. The pool tables are impeccable and a bargain for an hour or so's play after dinner. Best value room that we could find on a generally expensive island. Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at captain nemo for quit a while and it was for us a home from home! The rooms are very nice and clean. The service from the family who are running the place is amazing!
We can recommend this place to everyone and we will definitely come back some day!

Philippe, sum and daughter you're amazing! Thanks for everything

greats,

Martin and Bianca from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinleuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We have stayed at Captain Nemo, severel times, and we always come back. Philliph, Sum ant there lovely daughter, is the best! They are always friendly, and helpfull. You need any thing, they will do the very best to find it for you. The rooms are clean and have what you need. Nice bathroom and toilet, just like home!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turbomule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Miracle Koh Tao
The Miracle Koh Tao
#2 of 77 in Koh Tao
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Nemo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Nemo Guesthouse

Address: 9/37.38.39, Soi Post Office Mae Haad | Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $23 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing