We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and romantic resort”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
“Awesome and romantic resort”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Although Koh Tao is not really the most upscale island, it has some very romantic resorts. We happened to stay at one of them in particular and actually considered not writing this review so we can keep it a secret and to ourselves the next time we go to Koh Tao. On arrival we were met at Koh Tao's pier with a friendly smile and were transported to the resort. Took about 5 minutes and we had a view of Yuan Island from our balcony. Might not be suitable for the elderly although we met a 65+ year old couple we really enjoyed their stay, but there are a few steps and stairs to the various rooms and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinbrenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    269
    120
    61
    44
See reviews for
115
745
55
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights at the start of our three week trip through Thailand and it was by far the nicest place we stayed at. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. They provide a shuttle service to the beach, scooter rental, a very extensive menu (very good food!), and both pools are amazing with hammocks, deck chairs and breathtaking ocean views. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. TV has a DVD player and hundreds of channels. I very highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ah126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Sarah

Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure meeting the two of you and we really do hope to see you again...

Sincerely

R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Koh tao is a special island. relaxed, fun and unspoilt. The amanjirah is in the most wonderful location within easy reach of the local village. The view are to die for. We had the large room and almost excusive use of the lovely sun deck and small pool where we could watch fantastic sunsets. The owners Jacob and Na were the most perfect hosts very keen to make our stay special. They are a friendly warm family and made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. The facilities were excellent. We loved the nature around us especially the little gecko's. The food is lovely and Na showed me how to prepare some of her favourite dishes. The main reception was incomplete but we could tel that the finished product was going to be amazing. We really loved this place but it is not like your regular hotel....its better! We had internet access and althought we hired a moped to get around Jacob and Na are happy to take you to the village in their transport. All of the staff at the Amanjirah are extremely helpful and lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveford50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Hi Christine!

It was also a pleasure meeting you. Thank you for all your kind words and constructive criticism. We have learned a lot and from your 5 star experience descriptions :-) and hope to improve Amanjirah over the next months. One thing is certain, it looks even more stunning that when you left... Hope to see you soon!

R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We lodged at Amanjirah over New Years and had an excellent experience. Our suite was tasteful, large and romantic and the views exquisite. The staff went out of their way to make it a pleasant stay despite having just opened and suffering from a few mishaps. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifti77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

we stayed in amanjirah for 1 week over new years.

the staff were very helpful and the rooms were beautiful and very spacious.

the views of the bay are quite stunning and nothing beat watching the sunset by the pool.

highly recommend amanjirah and would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Gidday Mate,

Pleasure meeting you guys back in December and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely

R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We had researched allot and had been cautioned by friends to keep the expectations in "check but Jacob and his crew really made every minute of our stay worth it. The resort has exceptional scenic beauty and more importantly Jacob's customer service is matchless which made our stay very memorable. The facilities are excellent and the menu is real good as well. The staff was very helpful to us in planning our trips which really helped us use our holidays time very efficiently. We highly recommend this resort and we are already planning to return next year. If you are planning to go to Koh Tao, this is the best resort to go to.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raulashaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sargodha
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stumbled on this resort on our way to checking it at another resort on Koh Tao. Absolutely beautiful and great service to boot. We ended up staying for 4 nights and loved the views and ambience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musharaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing