We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were 9 people in all and had stayed there for 3 nights. We had basically planned this visit for refreshing mind and staying away from noisy atmosphere. Aminjirah resort provided it all.
Its a resort which provided peaceful atmosphere with excellent beach view. Overall it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aarti011983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing words of kindness...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
There are newer reviews for Aminjirah Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Paradise on Koh Tao!

We were greeted at the pier by Khun (Mr.) San, he was very kind and friendly, we didn't have to request for pick up, he was ready and was waiting for us.

We had booked three rooms and took the cheapest available rate, we were unaware that the rooms were quite small and a bit dark. We requested to change our rooms but no rooms were available with the same rate. However, Khun San wanted to make sure we were happy, he was able to make some adjustments and offer us the upgrade to suites with view for a little more (baht).... it was worth it!

We arrived late in the evening so we decided to eat at the resort's restaurant it was disappointing for us. I am Thai/Canadian so I know the authentic taste of Thai food and the flavours were not there. They can't be perfect at everything!!

The next day we rented the mopeds from rental agency in front of the resort and explored the island, a must do! Sairee Beach was only a few minutes away but far enough that we were not bother by all the noise and the entertainment!

We recommend getting back before sunset to enjoy one or two cocktails made by Michael, Aminjirah's bartender. Sit in or by the pool and watch the sun go down while your delicious drinks refresh you from a long adventurous day!! We did this everyday before heading out for dinner.
Check out 995 Roasted Duck for yummy noodle dishes...sooooo good, it's in Sairee Beach on a side street opposite from 7-Eleven!!
Take your moped towards the pier and pass the pier sign about 5 mins straight up the main road there is "Moo Kra ta" Thai hotplate self bbq buffet...delicious! Two minutes away you can find a mango and sticky rice stand made by a very nice aunty who is as sweet as her popular Thai desert...

Staffs at Aminjirah were very friendly and hard working, the resort is very clean and the gardens were kept beautiful!

Thank you Khun San, Michael and all the staff for a wonderful experience! We look forward in seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: Suites with view...room 10,11 or 12!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Khun Su Y,

From all the staff at Aminjirah, thank you for being such a kind and wonderful guest. It was a pleasure to welcome and accommodate you and especially Michael is truly ecstatic that you really liked his cocktails.

We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights (myself, wife and 25 y.o. Son who has been teaching in Thailand) on recommendation of the company running our dive course. We wanted some place convenient to Sairee Beach but away from noise. The location is stunning -- try to get an ocean view room. The pool has the best view I have ever witnessed, an infinity pool perched several hundred feet above the ocean facing the sunset. a perfect place for evening drinks. Staff were great (San the manager arranged ferry tickets, fixed items and addressed all questions) and the food was very good -- best green curry I've had (but a bit more expensive than in town).Breakfast was included and was pretty good -- fresh fruit, pancakes and eggs made to order, and usual cereal and yogurt. You should invest in a moped rental which is available next door for 200 baht per day, as the walk from town is up a pretty steep hill and 2-3 km. Rooms were comfortable (usual firm Thai bed). The only downsides were modest -- the bathroom was basic and had a Integrated shower (no stall) with a shower head about 5.5 feet high that you had to crouch under (and could bang your head into). And the electricity kept coming on and off one night (but probably not the hotel's problem -- the island couldn't handle AC load in peak of summer) But I don't think you'll find a more beautiful location or better staff in Koh Tao -- people from other hotels would come to use pool and enjoy drinks or food.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 or other ocean view. Or just spending time around pool, it's views are unbelieva...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear David A,

So sorry about the power cuts. It's really a hassle sometimes on a small island and Koh Tao fares worse than other islands in that the power grid is even less stable. Still, we have to live with it and make do the best we can.

Thank you for your nice words about Aminjirah and our offerings. It means a lot to us. It really does.

Room #3 is one of our Ocean Mystiques and a very popular choice.

Hope to see you again some day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went when there was a water shortage on the island, and all hotels had to run at half capacity. Water pressure in the shower was low but I really don't think it was the resort's fault.
The room was nice, the air con not managing to make the room cold but it wad scorching hot outside and this is still a little island. Wifi was quite weak but working.
We had visits by spiders and geckos to our room but it can't be helped - people shouldn't forget they're in the middle of wild nature, not on the 40th floor in a metropolis.
They give you fresh fruit in the room every day. Breakfast was quite simple.
San and the rest of the staff we're very nice.
The most surprising thing about the island is the cost of taxis - from this resort it'd take over 20 mins walk to get into town, but it's along a small yet busy road so better avoid or rent a scooter.
A taxi ride for two costs 3/400 baht, like a dinner in town!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review. April is always a difficult month for resorts on Koh Tao. Little rain since december meaning low water supply and typically many power cuts due to bad governent supply. We do our best, but we certainly suffer and really appreciate your understanding.

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during March 2014.

Positives:
We were picked up from the pier, and greeted by Mr. San upon arrival. All of the staff were very welcoming and provided great service.

The rooms were very nice, ours was number 2, Starlight Fantasea. We had a great view of the sea. The pool doesn't disappoint, the views are out of this world. I would highly recommend staying here.

The food was mostly very good - we particularly found the Thai food was the tastiest.

Negatives:
The power keeps going, which I believe is normal for the whole island.
Shower pressure was poor.
You probably need to get a taxi to the main strip, which is a bit pricey compared to the rest of Thailand. There are two free shuttles from the hotel daily, which I recommend you avail of.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here, I would happily come again.

Room Tip: Room 12 is right beside the pool with an incredible view. Ask for that!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian-Dublin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thanks for your comprehensive review and honest words. Power supply really is a problem in April and cuts are frequent. Luckily we have a back up system, but there is a short pause before the back up comes online....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Aminjirah for 9 nights back in late January/early February. We were met at the ferry pier and enjoyed the quick drive back to the resort. Upon arrival, San showed us our room (we booked under Ocean Song, but I believe it may have a different name now). We were definitely wow'd by the room - it was much larger than I expected, clean, bright, and beautifully decorated. The shower was huge and we always had enough hot water. The bed was comfortable and the a/c worked very well. Although the balcony was lovely we really didn't use it much because we preferred to spend our time at the incredible infinity pool. The pool was very clean and was the perfect temperature. Everyone was very friendly and quick to respond to any minor problems that arose.

The location of the resort is both positive and negative - positive in the sense that it is quiet and peaceful, negative in the distance from the village. We found that the walk down the hill in the morning was no problem at all, but the shuttle back was too early for us to enjoy dinner in the village (3pm). We were not comfortable walking back up the hill at night due to the steepness, and there were many turns in the road so it might not be the safest. Taxi prices for the 5 minute drive were unreasonable (We were told 400 baht when we asked) so we spent most of our days in the village and evenings at the resort.

Food at the resort was decent; we loved having breakfast overlooking the water everyday. The selection was very good - made to order eggs, along with a couple of hot dishes, fruit, mini pancakes, and yogurt. The prices for the lunch/dinner menu were reasonable, although the food was not as good as you could get in the village. The curries were more watery than we prefer, but still tasty. The pizza was surprisingly good. The fresh fruit shakes were the best part - particularly the coconut! I wish I could have one now.

Overall, we would definitely recommend Aminjirah to anyone staying on Koh Tao, but we aren't sure we would return to the island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Meg,

I also love our pizza. You wouldn't expect a small Thai resort on a mountain being able to produce quality pizza! But we do. Apart from the pizza we are pleased you enjoyed so many other aspects as you did. Sorry about the taxi prices, we are also unhappy with them.... But not much we can do except to offer a free shuttle a couple a times a day as we do...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay in the budget room and you get what you pay for. Although the room, air con and constant power cuts weren't highlights the breakfast, view and infinity pool easily make it all worth while.

The staff are always friendly and say hello, this provides a welcoming feel to an extraordinary sunset location hotel of which we recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavieSaunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,514 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
912 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $40 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing