We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aminjirah only gets better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Aminjirah only gets better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having visited Aminjirah last year and having a very enjoyable stay, we were looking very much forward to our second stay this year, and it did not disappoint, although with the glorious weather we actually found it hard to find an excuse to leave the pool area for most of our trip.
We decided to take a seaview room this time around with a small balcony right on the edge of the resort, near the pool area, which was lovey comfortable and clean, and with an unbeatable sea-view, although the wi-fi connection on our balcony could be a little patchy for working, the wifi poolside was good enough to overcome this problem when it occurred.
The area around the pool seems to have enlarged from our last visit and its very pleasant to have breakfast in the morning on the comfortable seating area overlooking the sea.
The buffet breakfast was actually excellent value, and for once the bacon was cooked properly something of a rarity in Thailand, also there were a couple of rice dishes with breakfast which is not always the case, in fact the only complaint with the ample breakfast buffet was that the egg cook was not familiar with a poached egg! (a couple of bigger coffee cups might not go amiss either).
The staff were as attentive as on our last visit with the manger Sun being very helpful in meeting our various challenges, even helping us in locating an ATV.
Hanging out by the pool and enjoying the view as ever the highlights of staying at Aminjirah, your biggest problem is tearing yourself away.

Room Tip: seaview! definitely worth the upgrade, and dont forget the sunscreen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    259
    117
    56
    41
See reviews for
111
710
48
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at Aminjirah in january/14 with my husband and two more friends. It was a pleasant experience! The staff is great, especially the manager Sam. From the first contact, he was always kind and helpful. The resort is well located, close to downtown if you rent a scooter. It's a wonderful and peaceful place, on the top of the hill, with infinity pool and a AMAZING ocean view. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff left every day a small portion of fresh fruit and a essence candle diffuser to please us. The cleanliness os the resort was remarkable for thai standards. The breakfast was very good, always fresh and clean.
On our last night we had a room upgrade to the best suite. The best view ever!
Highly recommended this resort.
ขอบคุณ Sam! Best wishes from your brazilian friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lelecroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Totally enjoyed my stay in this hotel with the clean room, amazing seaview, friendly staff, nice garden environment and good location that is far from all the all the noise on sairee but not too far as a 5-min ride on motorbike is all it takes to get to the crowded part of sairee beach. Only thing is there is no toothbrush and toothpaste provided even though things like shower cap, soap, shampoo and conditioner.... found that quite puzzling....

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_px
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Koh Tao is beautiful and relaxing. So is Aminjirah. Nice rooms with panoramic view of the sunset, an amazing infinity pool and quiet comfortable atmosphere just minutes away from Sairee beach with scooter. Absolutely perfect. Will definitely stay here next time I'm on Tao.

Room Tip: We booked Starlight Fantasea Last Minute and got a great room with an amazing view on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Beautiful, tasteful and very clean rooms with the best facilities, excellent and very friendly and helpfull service and a wonderful restaurant and pool area for relaxing all day or for watching the sun set over Koh Tao. A very romantic and relaxing setting. We are definitely coming back for another visit at Aminjirah and give the resort our warmest recommendations.

Room Tip: We stayed at room number 1 a large and comfortable room, with a big balcony and an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed with Aminjirah 7 days from the 20th of February, and we had a great stay.
The resort has great rooms that are clean, a friendly and helpful staff, good food (including a nice breakfast buffet), and a amazing swimming pool overlooking the ocean (watch the sunset from the pool or your balcony!).

We will be back to Aminjirah!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days at this lovely hotel after travelling from koh phangan. On arrival at the hotel we were met by the lovely San, who spoke amazing English and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. We were lucky enough to have booked the Sunset Dream room (room 12), which was right beside the amazing pool. Our balcony had a wonderful view over the ocean. We also went on the Santhong boat trip for the day which was a really good day out.

As previous reviews stated, it is a bit of a walk down to Sairee beach and resort but we didn't mind too much, especially after sun down, but there were parts of the walk where there were not street lights and also very steep hills!

We decided on our last night to eat at the hotel in the evening as it was so scenic. Unfortunately our order was misunderstood so when we were able to sort it out it was about 45 mins before the bar shut. Sadly whilst we were still eating our main course the staff started clearing away the lights and seat cushions, and then at 9.50 the bar and pool lights were turned off and the staff left, leaving us in near darkness without our plates being cleared away. This wasn't a major problem for us as our room was nearby but we did feel it was a little bit inappropriate.

That aside we would fully recommend this lovely hotel with individual styled rooms.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words - they always mean a lot. I am truly sorry about the experience on your last night and will take it up with our manager and discuss how such a thing can happen. Clearly this is not the way it should work and I hope you accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing