We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days at this lovely hotel after travelling from koh phangan. On arrival at the hotel we were met by the lovely San, who spoke amazing English and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. We were lucky enough to have booked the Sunset Dream room (room 12), which was right beside the amazing pool. Our balcony had a wonderful view over the ocean. We also went on the Santhong boat trip for the day which was a really good day out.

As previous reviews stated, it is a bit of a walk down to Sairee beach and resort but we didn't mind too much, especially after sun down, but there were parts of the walk where there were not street lights and also very steep hills!

We decided on our last night to eat at the hotel in the evening as it was so scenic. Unfortunately our order was misunderstood so when we were able to sort it out it was about 45 mins before the bar shut. Sadly whilst we were still eating our main course the staff started clearing away the lights and seat cushions, and then at 9.50 the bar and pool lights were turned off and the staff left, leaving us in near darkness without our plates being cleared away. This wasn't a major problem for us as our room was nearby but we did feel it was a little bit inappropriate.

That aside we would fully recommend this lovely hotel with individual styled rooms.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words - they always mean a lot. I am truly sorry about the experience on your last night and will take it up with our manager and discuss how such a thing can happen. Clearly this is not the way it should work and I hope you accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    260
    119
    57
    41
See reviews for
112
721
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Aminjirah Hotel for 4 days 3 nights.We stayed in room 12 next to the pool wow.. We love here !
Very good service, friendly and helpful staffs, nice pool and big beautiful room with the best sea view among relaxing atmosphere. You can enjoy staying here in the hotel all day relaxing by pool side.


highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ketty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just recently got home from koh tao, once again i booked my nights at Amanjirah.

This is paradise, the view and rooms are awsome.

The staff is extremely friendly and makes you wanna stay there forever

Thank you San, for making our stay unforgettable. See you next time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jimmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wow what a treat it was to stay here. We had a lovely large room overlooking the ocean with a balcony. The pool area is to die for and everything is clean, fresh and finished beautifully. The staff were just gorgeous as was the proprietor. We had breakfast and dinner by the pool daily, which boasts spectacular views over the ocean. It is a nice small hotel with so much privacy and peace.I could have stayed here for weeks but unfortunately we had to leave :-(. I still dream of Aminjirah. I will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We were in Koh Tao for a week and we decided to spend our last two nights somewhere away from the busy Sairee.We decided on Aminjirah and we throughly enjoyed it.We wish we had stayed more nights there.The hotel is not in town and only accessible by taxi(cost 100-200baht) and scooters only takes about 10mins.The hotel also has a shuttle that you can book if you need to get into town.The room we checked into was big and clean and overlooked the pool.The best part of the hotel is the infinity pool that overlooks the amazing views of the ocean and some mountains.If you want to be away from all the noise in Koh Tao pick this hotel.
The breakfast is just like any other in Thailand, it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Having been to Koh Tao a few times we were a bit anxious about staying close to Sairee Beach. However, this was unfounded since the resort is located out of town on a steep cliff with stunning views especially at Sunset.

The pick up from the Ferry was quick and efficient and on arrival we were greeted by an English speaking Manager. Unfortunately there was a problem with the glass balcony doors in our room, and after bringing this to the attention of the staff we were promptly upgraded to a bungalow with private pool- this was bliss especially to cool down after the steep walk back from town.

The resort is staffed ( perhaps over-staffed) by Young boys from Burma whose command of English is very poor. They were, however polite. One lad in particular looked although he should have been in school, but had a constant smile and engaged with his book of English Grammar in an attempt to learn the language.

The pool is beautiful and has spectacular views. Drinks and food are also reasonably priced. The music played is a bit repetitive and a week later Im still humming a dance version of ' A Horse With No Name' that was placed at least every 20 minutes.

Overall though we left with fond memories and after arriving at our next hotel ( Cocohut, Koh Phangan) we dearly wished we were back at Aminjirah.

David and Dan. Newcastle UK

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJT710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Positive:
* very friendly and really helpful manager
* beautiful view for sunset
* nice pool

Not so good:
- Staff speaks no english except manager and one other man. Of course smiling is nice but won't get me an extra plate for my daughter. It makes me sad that many resorts have cheap staff from e.g. Myanmar to save money instead of making customers happy
- room 3: Worst bed during our four month travel and also much too loud because of the music of the poolbar which is directly next to the room (and to make it worse: they play the same music every day and every couple of hours... More variety please!). Under the room is the poolpump or something else that is making noise all night long and didnt let me sleep. Told the manager next morning but he said there is nothing... Sorry but I am not a lyer!!
- Room 7: fantastic view but absolutely too small to put a family of four in it. Glad we had just one night there. Lights in bathroom are horrible, can hardly see a thing. Bed here was good but wooddust or something falls from the ceiling. Really not nice!!
- Food at Restaurant: price for Pad Thai is ok, but it tasted like nothing (and we had lots of tries all over Koh Tao). Western food is much too overpriced even though the pasta was good (but why do you make it so expensive? It is not neccessary as we saw in other restaurants).
- Shuttle to Sairee only twice a day. Taxi takes 300 to 400 bath each time...

Well, it is a good hotel (or "resort" if you want), but many many things can be improved

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the issues you encountered and take comfort in your overall enjoyment of your stay. We have changed our procedure, so that our overflow mechanism for the pool will only be running in the daytime, when it is also most beautiful.

I am not sure why you did not feel our resort is suitable for children. We have had many happy families staying with us and have never heard this before. We are obviously not on the beach, which is clear from the outset, but do feel having two shallow pools and providing lots of freebies for children makes it worthwhile. I wish you would have included a few more details regarding this, so we could look at them one by one.

Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing