We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and had a wonderful time, staff are very friendly and very helpful.

the view at this hotel is incredible, we had one of the newest rooms which had a huge bed and beautiful view of the ocean and the pool.

The had lunch at the resort sometimes which was very nice too!

a ped/scooter is probably needed if you are looking to go into sairee village at night (this is where the bars and restaurants are) as the road up to the hotel is quite steep and dark at night, and taxis in sairee village do try to over charge you here as they know the island is small and quite hilly!
however peds are so cheap in Koh Tao and much safer than Koh Samui so worth every penny!

we had a great time and would return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nikki-19-11-86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    257
    117
    56
    41
See reviews for
111
706
48
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We would definitely go back to this hotel. Room 12, poolside with a great view was very clean and roomy with a shower that had a spectacular sea view. Breakfast and dinners had varied menus i. Thai and Western. The food was well prepared, delicious and delivered with good service. The hotel itself is about a 15 minute walk (including a short, steep hill) from the heart of Koh Tao which for some might be a draw back, but for us it meant quiet with a great view. It was worth the walk!

Room Tip: Try to reserve room 12 - it's self contained with a large shower, and it's own private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CLM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in Aminjirah resort in February 2014 and it was wonderful. We booked the cheapest room but was upgraded because they said we looked friendly! How awesome is that! The rooms are beautiful and very clean, with snacks and drinks as well as aircon and tv. The restaurant and pool have an amazing view. The service was great! San, the manager was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. The location is good and the view is really beautiful. The main beach is about 10 minutes walk, so just take note that the resort is not on the beach. The bike service below the resort was reliable (Take note that the bike renters in Koh Tao have a tendency to screw people over with apperant repair costs. But still check bike for scratches etc. beforehand and mark all.) Overall a wonderful, memorable stay! Thanks to San and all the staff at Aminjirah.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryxdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Really friendly helpful staff. Great place to relax. Highly recommend. It is a little far out of the way from restaurants and nightlife so great if you want to relax in peace up in the hills. It has a great infinity pool with a fantastic view.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank phill252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

For a top-class view of the Western side of the island (including sunset) this is the right choice. The design of the resort is tasteful and services are delivered with a smile. Son the manager is gracefully taking care of all your needs. I would recommend this resort both for hanging out all day at the gorgeous pool AND exploring the marvelous little beaches and bays full of corals and miriads of fish. Just bring a good book OR a good pair of sandals and indulge in all wonderful Koh Tao has to offer. Bear in mind that the resort is within walking distance from the whole infrastructure of Sairee beach (restaurants, shops, . That means about 15 minutes walk with some steep segments. During the night a torch would be advisable but this is a great way to help digesting dinner. If you intend to visit other areas of the island you depend on taxis (Son the manager can help you also) or longboats. You should add about 100-300 bahts per day per person for such services. Even thought the island is accesible by foot, walking in the midday sun can be an exhausting experience. It takes at least 1.5-2 hours to cross on the other side of the island. We did walk until the southern end of the island and it was a memorable experience with all the shops and stalls on the edge of the road.

Room Tip: The rooms with Sunset view do indeed deliver but the noise of boats might be less noticable from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mihaigurei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

We were so pleased to accommodate you and your friends and look forward to seeing you again some day. It is true, that in high season a lot of tourists visits the islands beautiful bays and coves and as such the traditional long tail boats do scurry back tourists in the day time. Personally I find it an interesting spectacle and love the humming of the boats as they go by and nearly a natural sound. Compared to the noise at the beach both at night and at day time it's really not much in my opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Best spot on Ko Tao, the experience of waking up to that view from our Ocean Infinity room will never be forgotten.

We initially stayed for 3 days with the intention of spending the remainder of the week on another part of the island, however, after an entire day scouring the island on a moped we realised that Aminjirah simply cannot be beaten on price/standard/experience/view on this island.

My only tip for the extremely helpful management would be a little more variety in the music around the pool.

Thanks for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights and what can I say... Fantastic!
Great location! A bit away from Sairee beach, but within walking distance and renting a motorbike is an easy fix if you are lazy.
Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Nice staff! The cleaning is very good. Rooms very nice.
The pool and the view from the pool is absolutely amazing... :-)
I love being at the beach normally, but didnt even think about missing out on that having this.
I will go back for sure and would recommend the resort to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing