We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This resort is exceptional. Its perched on the mountains above Sairee Beach and looks out over the gulf of Thailand. The highlight is the infinity pool which hangs over the sea and is a great stop for sunset cocktails. Our room was beautiful, spacious, clean and well decorated and also afforded us access to a smaller more private pool. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had some problems with the plumbing but the manager was very active in getting it sorted and arranged for a complimentary dinner for us to make up for any inconvenience.

Hotel also run a shuttle taxi service to Sairee beach which is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot to us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    265
    120
    60
    41
See reviews for
112
736
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This trip was my 6th trip to Asia; I have travelled to Indonesia twice, Vietnam, Malaysia and Singapore so I think I am pretty well equipped to compare hotels within the South East Asia region and I was very disappointed with the Aminjirah resort.
We stayed in the Ocean View Room and believe it was not worth the rate of $200 AUD we paid a night. There was no storage for our clothes (more ornamental pieces than clothes storage), the bed was rock hard so hard we still think it was a base with no mattress. I slept on the couch under the aircon. There were many cats around the resort especially around the dining area and pool area and the pool had no shade whatsoever - so forget about being able to enjoy the pool unless you want full sun all day. The shower had no water pressure, I mean zero, so if you wanted a semi warm shower it was rain droplets (I kid you not) and I just gave up. The shower was also over the toilet so the toilet would get saturated after a shower. Another annoying thing was the island has no phones so if you want room service or anything you need to go to reception or to the restaurant to order whatever you want - including breakfast. The only positive was that SAN was really nice but that was about it. Avoid unless you want budget accommodation and don't expect too much.

Room Tip: As we chose one of the better rooms, not sure what the others would be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBug4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and we do apologize for not being able to make a refund as per your request resulting in this unfortunate review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The very positive point of this hotel is the location, which can be a good reason to choose it: a wonderful sea view the bar and the pool guarantees a very pleasant atmosphere at breakfast and whenever you want to enjoy the pool.
The pictures of the rooms on the website are a little bit over promising. We stayed 3 nights in one of the Ocean view rooms: very small, the ceiling of the bathroom is open ( not good for people scared by insects, the ocean was visible only from the small balcony outside the room and not from the window.
Then we decided to upgrade to the suite for 2 nights and it was beautiful ( but also expensive).
The man at the reception is really smart and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Ocean View Superior. The description on the website, however, does clarify both the open air bathroom and the size of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We chose Aminjirah Resort based on the material they publish and were frankly disappointed. We had chosen the Moonlight Suite for our family of 5 and the facilities were not the 5* we expected. The decor was tired and the shower in maser suite required me to crouch sumo wrestler style to get under it! The resort shut down at 10pm and was remote from any other facility so we felt isolated. The manager was excellent however and staff were very helpful. We would choose a resort nearer to town in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blowerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this particular room. This room is on our renovation list when closing down one of the next few days for our expansion and upgrades.

We are certainly not 5* as you mention in your review and feel that we make that very clear in all correspondence, on the website and in our responses to reviews here on Tripadvisor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have visited Koh Tao in June. Upon arrival the driver was already waiting at the pier and took us straight to the hotel. We were than greeted by super friendly manager - SAN - who explained everything about the hotel and gave some great advice about the area. He provide us with his mobile phone and promised he is available 24h in case of any issues/requests.
As there was some mix up with our rooms we had to change room 2 times during our stay but they made it up to us by upgrading the final room to the AMAZING sea view suite.
The swimming pool is in did EPIC and has incredible view - only small downside is that the water is heavily treated with chlorine- so forget about diving with your eyes open... - not a problem for me I've just ordered my beer and sat on the edge of the pool starring in the distance and thinking about life :) and you know what ? When you there it suddenly seems your life is sooooo goood :)
Renting moped is a must ! We have traveled the whole island on one of those. There is small rental place in the hotel and we had no issue what so ever even though we scratched the little bike here and there during our voyages. As long as there is no massive damage to the bike the guys are really ok.
Overall this resort is great, staff is fantastic and location is just great - just few minutes away (on moped) from the center.
Just remember when you going to koh tao - don't expect 5 star standard in any hotel. The island has a general issue with the canalization and electricity. Get over it though go for an amazing Thai food, enjoy super cheap Thai massage and end your day watching the sunset, while sipping a cocktail in infinity pool at Aminjirah.
LOVE IT !

Room Tip: Ask for the room number 13. It has a great balcony with a sofa and amazing sea view. You will spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for all your kind words which are really appreciated. We would like to apologize with regards to the pool. It's actually not over chlorinated but rather the ph value was too low which we will improve on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we had an upgrade and I must say that the room we upgraded too was an amazing room...the views were fantastic. The pool is amaxing and hotel very clean. Staff are all very friendly and do anything for you. It is out the way however we knew that before we booked and it is worth it for the views. Plenty shuttle buses take you to sairee beach. Food is ok nothing fantastic nothing to bad. Breakfast is ok. I had a Mexican dinner and the sour cream to me was out of date so this needs to be checked before giving to customers. I really do need to praise the staff all of them from the restaurajt, Sam and the cleaners were lovely. After we had been upgraded to our room we then had to go back to the room we had actually booked for a few nights as hotel was booked. The room we got was a bungalow and it was not worth the money. I was shocked the room is tiny way to small for a couple. It was not worth the money we paid. I just did not think it was acceptable. I could of stayed somewhere bigger and better in koh tao for cheaper. I was very disappointed with the room unfortunately. Not the staff fault but I don't be returning and won't recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend 2 weeks ago. When we arrived at the pier, it was nice that the hotel staff picked us up. We were welcomed by the manager , he was very friendly. His English was excellent. Then, he took us to our room. We booked superior seaview room. When we got in to the room, it was very small! We didnt expect it. We thought the room would be spacious. It did get a seaview, but it wasnt the best view. We were disapointed. Finally, we took a look again the hotel website to see if we really had booked the right room. The website does actually describe the room categories, so it's actually a matter of reading line by line and setting our expectations before we book a room. One tip, make sure you book the right room with the best view.

We finally decided to request for an upgrade because first reason why we booked this hotel was the stunning view. A lot of reviews in trip advisor recommended this hotel as well. So,the manager then gave us a room next to swimming pool. We got extra charged almost twice as much as the first room we booked. But it was worth. Our room was only few steps to the famous stunning pool and breakfast area. I have to admit the view is magnificent. It's stunning. We had balcony looking out the sea and we finally could enjoy the sunset view. One of the best views ever. I could even watch the sunset from the toilet!

Room is spacious, but could've been better. Maybe bathroom should have brighter light. It was pretty dark in the bathroom. Breakfast was ok. Staff were friendly. Unfortunately, the manager forgot to book us a ferry ticket the day before we checked out. He apologized though and we were lucky that we could still get a ticket.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, and I will recommend you to book a room which suits your expectations, so read carefully the room descriptions before you book. We were lucky, there were still some available rooms with better view when we stayed there. The manager told us when we checked out, the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilaparamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing