We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not good value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all, the booking system is terrible. I don't understand why they don't rely on main booking providers. I got so many troubles to get the room booked.

Then I need to say that for the price we paid (about 5500 bath/night for the moonlight suite), I was excpecting much more from this resort. The room was dark and made me feel like in a cellar. The pictures on their website does absolutely not reflect the truth.

Another thing is that there was not water available all the time. I understand the problem since koh tao is a small remote island, but when you have two small childrens and sometime need an emergency shower, it is really not appreciated.

All the staff, which are essentially guys from myannmar except the manager, are absolutely not service minded. They don't speak thai and very poor english, almost never smile and most of the time don't understand what you ask.

The only not disapointing point was for me the view from the pool. But I wonder how often they change the water with all the water problem they have.

To sum up, it would have been ok for the half of the price but definitely not for the very high price they ask. We ended up leaving one day early and felt so releaved when leaving that resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience at our resort and that you felt it was not good value for money. We always want to do our best for every single guest and take your comments to heart and are always looking at improving the service and our staff through language training and coaching. If during your stay, there was not enough smiles, this will certainly be rectified.

With respect to water issues, then we have our own well and plenty of water, but when the island's electricity fluctuates it can sometimes stop the water pumps and therefore temporarily disable the water. Our pool is not constantly filled since, as most pools, the water is filtered and pumped back in to the pool rather than wasting it.

The room you had booked enjoys a nice large terrace with plenty of sun large doors than open unto it. As such we do not feel this room is dark like a cellar and in fact it has three bedrooms, hence the higher price.

All photos on the website were actually shot with an IPHONE and we standby them a 100% and feel the accurately represent the resort, including the room you had booked.

We do prefer using our own booking system and using the funds we save on huge commissions to agents, to improve our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    259
    117
    56
    41
See reviews for
111
710
48
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found this hotel using kohtaobungalows.com and boy, are we glad we did! The price was unbelievable and the hotel was absolutely amazing!! Add to that that the breakfast was included and this place really could not be beat!

I know the reviews mention it, but its worth also saying that the pool was absolutely fabulous, the food delicious, and we got the best sleep of our trip. The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly. I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone! A must see!

Room Tip: We stayed in the budget comfort room, which was low end, but we were not disappointed. The room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the kind words. It means a lot! We feel we describe our resort clearly on our website and it's a pleasure when guests take the time to check the details before booking, just like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during our Thailand trip & booked it after reading excellent reviews & seeing the pool!
On arrival we were greeted by San, who was extremely helpful, upgraded us to a seaview room & gave us a tour of the hotel. We were very happy with our room, bed was so comfortable :-). The grounds are peaceful, very pretty & the infinity pool is beautiful with such an amazing view of the ocean. The hotel offers free shuttles in to town which was great. We did get taxis home though after dinner as the walk back is a little steep. This is an intimate resort with lovely staff & Is perfect for a romantic break if you want to stay slightly out of town.
Thank you San & staff for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abigolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute for the final week of a stay on the island. We were immediately upgraded to the best room in the resort so had front line sea views! There was a bit of confusion when we first arrived; the woman on reception didn't seem to understand that we had already booked a room. She then took us to one of the rooms at the back of the hotel and asked us to wait outside while it was cleaned. I followed her back to reception and had to point out my name on the computer before she finally realised that we had booked a room. After walking for an hour with heavy bags to get there, it was a bit disappointing. But after being put in the right room we soon forgot about it and got on with enjoying the beautiful clean room; amazing views and excellent customer service from the rest of the staff! We had our meals on our balcony most nights which was no trouble at all for the staff. All of the food and drinks we had at the hotel were extremely high quality and weren't over expensive. It was a great relaxed atmosphere; a perfect end to our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and were happy with the service and accommodation.
The pool and view are by far the best bits of the hotel, the rooms are ok, quite dark and traditional however we had a lovely balcony which looked out over the sea. As the hotel is right on the cliff when there are high winds or storms you do get hit hard!!
It is walking distance to town however not advisable at night as it isn't light all the way. We rented a quad bike for two days which was perfect to see the whole island and explore all the beaches.
San the manager was very chatty and helpful and helped organise lifts, taxis and recommended places to eat and drink in town.
The food is ok, however can take a while as the kitchen is far away!
All in all a good place however plan to do lots of activities outside the hotel as there isn't much to do in the actual complex especially if its raining or stormy!
Thanks San for a pleasant stay!
C&L

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!!! Room 1 was good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. The Amanjirah is a little out of town, just the way we like it but not too far and with free shuttle daily it's not a problem. We rented a moped for a few days right next to the hotel and had not trouble at all despite a few scratches (the guy took us to a shop and charged us only for replacing the actual part - so very fair).

Guest room was beautiful and spacious with amazing view, even from the water closet. Madras was very comfortable.

Not even necessary to mention view and pool since everyone does that anyway.

Room Tip: Sunset Dream #13 was very private, quiet and lovely. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lui Chin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is AMAZING. So beautiful, such gorgeous rooms and views. We absolutely loved it. Couldn't have been happier with our stay. A remarkable place that you should make your top choice in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamB1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing