We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent little boutique resort spa away from the loud Sairee beach, great staff esp the manager on the front desk where nothing is too much trouble. Would def recommend. Enjoy. Top tip is to hire motor bikes at only 200 baht a day it's much cheaper than taxis back and forth to town to eat.........

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simmo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend, sandwiched with beach huts as we couldn't afford to stay here our whole time in koh Tao. The rooms are beautiful with a great terrace, the beds super comfy with a duvet and the bathroom great. The pool was the absolute highlight and the sunset from there stunning. One couple got engaged in the pool over a sunset! Very romantic, drinks and food good and not overpriced. Had a great pizza for lunch one day and a couple of Thai curries for dinner the next day. Sad to leave! Would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night and really enjoyed our 36 hours here. The resort sits about a 20 min walk outside of Sairee beach.the infinity pool and views are spectacular.

We stayed in one of the nicest rooms (room 1) which ovelooks the infinity pool and bar. With this resort you get what you pay for!!

The service by the bar is awful. I have never been served before by someone who spent the entire ordering process on the phone. We randomly met some others later on our trip and were told that they had to write down their order for the waitress. However, the food was superb and cleverly served with celephane wrapping (to keep flies away).

We found the manager/receptionist? really friendly and helpful, even driving us to our next accommodation as the complimentary car to the pier was full.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the cheaper rooms with no view as they were a bit smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Oh Boy... The mobile phone incident is just not acceptable and that will certainly be remedied immediately and we do apologize for such a silliness. Mobile phones are just everywhere nowadays, but really, they should not be there at work in the resort. Thank you for your kind words about the rest of the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I and my family stayed there in Feb 13. We really enjoyed our time. With the ocean view, private, quiet, Yummy food, comfortable bed, big space for shower, convenience service pick up and drop off at the port etc. In addition My room had excess directly to the main pool and the restaurant. The resort was very quiet and even we were stayig near the pool and the restaurant but still quiet. At the night we just sat near by the pool and look at the ocean. It was romantic. We booked total 3 rooms and they gave us the rooms in the same area. All those 3 rooms were nice and each room has private space to see the ocean view from their balcony. That's was nice. Also We can see the sunset from our private balcony and also we could have our breafast there. Even more we could see the ocean view and sunset from the toilet bowl!! The room was good designed !!! K. San, Manager was very nice, active and very helpful. We'd recommend you to stay in this resort. You won't regret even a penny you spent for it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anndarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Khun Ann,

Thank you for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to arrange our two Sunset Dream Suites for you and your party and reviews like yours really makes all the hard work and worries worthwhile. We are just a local family and the resort is our baby so having our guests enjoy their stay is heaven to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hey Guys!

My mate and I vacationed in Koh Tao in late January and ended up spending a few days at this resort after moving from Thipwimarn next door. Let me start by saying that Aminjirah is stunning for a small and laid back resort = not stunning from a 5 star resort point of view - but stunning with regards to friendliness of the staff and their hospitality. No matter was too small or trivial for the kind manager to help with. Of course the usual hick ups occurred, but he was always ready to help and fix any issues that arose, such as when we did not get picked up by the snorkeling tour we had booked.

Being a couple of guys we stayed in the twin budget room which was fine for our needs (we spent all the time outside anyway). It did what it said on the tin can and provided us with a comfortable place to spend the early hours.

One cannot review this place without mentioning the swimming pool and restaurant. They provided for several great meals and impressive views of the ocean.

Rest assured that we will be back next time we go to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Superb. Amazing. Fantastic. Wonderful. Yes me and my girlfriend had all these thoughts in our minds after relaxing three days at this small special hotel. Both of us put on extra weight from the wonderful food served poolside and enjoyed several late mornings in our very special suite after enjoying Maya Bar on Sairee Beach. It is one of those places you miss as soon as you leave it and the reason for this is many fold:

* Superb oceanviews
* Family atmosphere with fun and great sercice
* Delicious and reasonably priced food
* Idyllic rooms
* And much much more

As many have said here on TA - stay there! You will not regret it guaranteed!

Room Tip: Room #3 has an amazign view and is easy access to small pool shared with only two more rooms. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Love this place!! Not a huge resort so not crowded, mostly younger Europeans staying so a couple of Aussies were a bit out of place. Staff are great, helpful with bookings & friendly. The view from pool side is amazing, with sunsets a highlight. Love the free wifi too!!! Stay here, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattyman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,548 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
2.3 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $25 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing