We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view and very clean hotel”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

just a quick review from me as im still jet lagged :-P

good-
outstanding view !!! especially sunsets, could just watch it forever. loved the infinite pool. walking down the staires just gave you such a buzz
very clean hotel and rooms very nice, classy, well decorated.
staff were very friendly and did what they could

downside-
its a fair 15 mins walk to main area, so defo need a bike. but on upside your away from the crowds :) you need to decide if you prefer to have amazing views on cliff top or be right on the beach.

food was a bit hit or miss. pad tai was good but breakfast was usually cold as they bring it down from an outside restaurant i believe, not end of the world.

my room was right next to the small reception area and sadly was pretty noisy especially in the early mornings, i would have been better off with room outside area

the view is that good that sometimes can be blessing in disguise, at times during sunset you had a few other tourists on their ipads facetime giving a loud running commentry, ruining the moment when all you want is piece & quiet. i know im not blaming hotel for that ;)

i probably would return to koh tao and would come back to this hotel :) but also liked the look of the haans hotel on shark bay area

i thought koh tao was beautiful but more touristy than i expected. it was weird seeing non thais working in the bars. bit of a shame that there's padi on every corner, bit overkill imo

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benlinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind and honest review of our resort. We'll look into how we can improve on the few issues you mention.

Regarding our breakfast then it is made in our own kitchen about a 1-2 minute walk from the pool deck. I will re-iterate to all staff to ensure only "HOT" breakfast is brought to the tables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

I loved this hotel, as everyone has written the staff are great (I found their English very good compared to most hotel staff i've met) and the location was perfect for us. The rooms have been finished well with beautiful decorations. We also had an open ceiling bathroom but I didn't find this a problem at all.

I spoke to lots of people on the island who were paying similar prices for very basic bungalows as Koh Tao was very busy after the full moon party, I really doubt you'd beat this hotel on price. We're definitely going back.!!!!!

Room Tip: worth paying extra for bigger room, the budget are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous resort built into the side of a cliff with an infinity pool overlooking the island. The sun set directly over the pool each night and amazing cocktails were served in the pool bar/restaurant area making this an unforgettable experience. Our ocean view room had the same outlook and the breakfast (included) could be served at your room if you wished. Great attention to detail had been paid to the design and landscaping of the resort making it even more beautiful. The rooms themselves as well as the food served at the hotel were good value-to give an idea, 2 of us ate 4 meals each and drank plenty of beers/cocktails during our stay as well as using the mini bar and the tab totalled approx 70 pounds. The staff were also very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights during our stay on the island and what a lovely find this was
The location is right on top of the cliff overlooking the Sea with the most amazing views and sun sets you will ever see!
The infinity pool alone is worth staying here for and the food and service by the young Thai lads is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele and Phili... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We're not perfect and enjoy to listen to feedback and ideas. We have a lot of plans for next low season including a spa and improvements across the board. Still we think we compare pretty well to our closest neighbours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we just returned to Samui after a fantastic week in Koh Tao @ The Aminjirah ! What a stay ... Stellar views, romantic sunsets and all round super ambiance and service.

Our rooms was one of the Fantasy Rooms and it was very generous in size and offered lovely facilities.

Much have been said about the pool and with good reason. It is so amazing that one forgets there are two other pools...

And yes the cuisine was supreme...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebsamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have a big love/hate relation with this hotel. I like posh hotels but wanted a hotel close to Sairee without being on Sairee, so I chose the Aminjirah. You can go by foot to Sairee but with the heat and the hills I just took the taxi (5-10min).
The pool area is really beautiful, amazing breathtaking view from the infinity pool. Food is great. The staff is nice but communication in English can sometimes be difficult. Included breakfast not really awesome. Just basic.
That's it for the positive points. Now to the negatives.
I booked a superior room... And had a shock when I saw it! Dark little room, one window and a bathroom with open walls. No way I sleep in there! Unfortunately the hotel was full, so they tried to fix it by building in a roof (!) into the bathroom. The night after I was upgraded to room number 1, which was very nice and had a closed bathroom. But still not meeting my standards. The 3 remaining nights I got another superior room. Dirty floor (do they mop with water or just dry!?). Bathroom not really inviting either.
It's just sad because this hotel has the potential to do much much better, as the place is very nice. They should redo all bathrooms for sure!
The manager tried to help as much as he could, but I won't come back, that's for sure.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank VanessaB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for spending time with us during your holiday in Koh Tao.

We are very sorry to hear our service standards did not meet expectations and for that we sincerely apologize.

We do feel we portray the room you booked accurately with exact pictures on our website. The bath room has a thatched roof which is customary in many island resorts and actually considered "romantic" by many of our guests. I believe that the fact that our manager was able to further "close" the ceiling for you by adding additional bamboo ceiling shows our dedication to all our guests and your comment about "that we tried to fix it by building in a roof" is inaccurate. We "tried" to accommodate your request as we do not believe the roof needs fixing. Many luxury resorts have open air bathrooms and we actually have a thatched roof as previously mentioned.

Still we managed to upgrade you to one of our most popular rooms which receive rave ratings by most other travelers here at tripadvisor.com and yet that did not fit your standard either.

The breakfast is actually not a set breakfast as our manager explained to you. We have a standard breakfast but allow all guests to select from a large menu of other items to replace the standard breakfast. This includes anything from thai dishes to pancakes.

Still, thank you for your nice comments about our view and other food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at Aminjirah 6 days in januari 2013! We booked the cheapest garden room but first night were we upgraded to a lovely ocean view room. The garden room is small and quite dark but the only time you spend at the room is when you are sleeping. The new pool area is fantastic and the view over the ocean and sunset absolut amazing. The garden is beautiful with a lot of differrent flowers! San and the staff at Aminjirah does everything for you to feel welcome! Wifi works quite well at the pool area! At sunset you need to protect your body from mosquitos! Rent a bike from the hotel! 300 baht/day! It takes 15-20 min to walk to Sairee village! Aminjirah pick you up at the ferry when you arrives at Koh Tao if they know when you are coming! Don´t think just book this place!!!!

Thank you, Aminjirah for a lovely stay!

Peter and Anna from Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $37 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 17 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing