We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with amazing view”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel with amazing view”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Aminjirah Resort for 3 nights and it was such a relaxing getaway from the beach. We stayed in the budget comfort room which was average (a bit dark and small) but the pool and view made up for it. We spent a lot of our time here - ordering food and drinks while lounging poolside. The staff was very friendly and helpful to assist in whatever we needed. It's about a 10 minute walk down to Sairee beach and town or a 200 baht taxi ride if you're feeling a bit lazy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krixie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    273
    122
    63
    47
See reviews for
118
758
55
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were picked up in the resort's SUV from another hotel on the island. And from then on we just knew it would be an amazing experience. On arrival my girlfriend and I was taken to the Sunset Dream that we had booked online and fell in love immediately with the week and the furnishings of the room. My girlfriend loved the romantic feeling of the room and I loved the big screen flat screen, so it was just a great match. The suite was very generous in size and from our balcony we just had the most amazing view of the ocean. Sitting there at night and watching the shrimp fishing boats in the distance and the moonlight shimmering on the surface of the sea was heaven.

One must mention in particular the bar staff at the pool. More friendly guys are hard to come by and nothing is too difficult for them to get for you. The pool was just as fantastic as it looked on the website - if not better. It's not often you come to a resort and find that it's actually better looking than the pictures on their website, but that was the case at Aminjirah.

The only "negative" thing to mention is that from time to time the breakfast would arrive a bit slow, but the resort was fully booked and we really enjoyed having it on our own terrace. Once it was arrived it was seriously yummy.

We have already penciled the resort in for a visit next year again.

Room Tip: The Sunset Dream Suite is absolutely worth every penny. There are only two of them so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Now where do I start... my girlfriend and I booked this resort for New Years and we were so glad we did! It was pure luxury and the views were stunning.
We unexpectedly had a lift waiting for us from the resort 4x4, so no need worrying about how we were going to get to the hotel using taxi's etc. The same happened when we had to catch our boat out of koh tao, we were driven to the port. We were also taken into town on the first night and the next day decided to hire a moped to get around, and the resort driver took us there. Fantastic service, made our stay alot easier than it could have been.
The room was fantastic! We had a comfty bed, aircon, tv (with premier league footy!), lovely ensuite. View from the room was stunning - view of the cliffs and the sea. Breakfast is served either at the restaurant or you can have it delivered to your room, which we did. We sat at the balcony and enjoyed fresh orange juice, tea/coffee, bacon, eggs and toast. Bliss!
The infinity pool makes the hotel, you can sit in the pool, relax with stunning views around you. Wifi did not work in the room which was a slight issue, but worked fine in the restaurant by the pool. Constant powercuts occured during our stay, which apparently is quite common for Koh Tao, but got a little bit annoying...
The hotel location is just up the hill from Sairee Beach town, it took us 20mins to walk back from town and was not a great walk. Would recommend a taxi! But the views pay for everrything.
Go and book it, look elsewhere!!! It made our stay in Thailand!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomGuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Normally i dont write reviews but i really had to write one about this hotel. When we came to kih tao we was greeted by very friendly staff and taken to aminjirah in very comfy car. We got a nice tour from the supervisor and then got iour superb room. It was called sunset dream and we had just a marvelous view from our balkony. The room was vert beautifully decorated also. One step outside and could jump in the big pool where we enjoyed many amazing sunset. Bug best of all was the friendly staff and the amazing food. Especially the pizza !!

So we come back next year !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinathordk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at Aminjirah in the beginning of January and I can highly recommend it. It is a really nice and tranquil place in the hills just north of the main beach of Koh Tao, the standard and service is great and the view from the pool is outstanding! It's not too far to the closest town but due to the hills and the humidity a motor bike is highly recommended to rent; the friendly staff helped us with that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We came straight from another resort on ko Tao and were blown away by the great welcome by manager San. He spoke excellent english and made sure we would ask him if we needed anything or if there were something we were not satisfied with. He then showed us to our sunset dream bungalow which was spacious and nicely decorated and had a magnificent view of the ocean and the beautiful sunset. We spent 4 days here and had a wonderful time by the nice pool where we enjoyed the view and an occasional refreshing coconut shake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the resort, and could not fault the hotel in any areas..I gather recent upgrades and improvements are now finished, and i have to say the resort is a perfect place to unwind, relax and enjoy a spectacular view in beautiful natural surroundings..from taking breakfast al fresco to sipping cocktails at sunset..the emphasis and ambience of the place leaves you feeling like you want to stay longer..The owners and staff were friendly and always smiling and helpful, and must suggest you try the panang curry..its the best one ive tasted..Cant wait for my next trip to Koh Tao, and in particular Aminjirah resort..thanks so much

Room Tip: A room with a view over the bay...so nice to wake up to each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you and glad you enjoyed all our upgraded features. Truth be told, we have had so much positive feedback that we are walking on clouds...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,483 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.3 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
663 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing