We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - an oasis on an island!”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently stayed at Aminjirah Resort with my family and friends. This place is excellent and it is easy to see why it was a TripAdvisor 2012 winner.

When we arrived on the ferry, we were picked up by one of the staff members and driven to the resort. The manager, San, greeted us with cold drinks and insisted that his staff carry our luggage to our rooms. San and his team are great and could not be more helpful. San must be the most cheerful, helpful, affable and personable hotel manager that I have come across.

Jacob (the owner) and his wife were at the hotel to keep an eye on things, as the hotel had recently undergone some works, with new rooms and another pool being built. Jacob and his wife took the time to know all of the guests at the resort and are lovely people. They were very personable and always looking for feedback. It is not often that you see an owner take so much interest in the welfare of his/her guests.

The light bulb in my bathroom blew and the hot water for some reason stopped working. I informed San, who had the problem fixed within a few hours!

The view from the pool area is to die for and the food is excellent and reasonably priced.

The only downside to the resort is the fact that the water is not fee (not a major complaint, since a bottle is only 20 or 25 baht), and some of the rooms are a bit dark and don't have much storage space for suitcases and writing desks. That being said, some of the other rooms are very generous in size and extremely well appointed. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and would be happy to stay in one again!

I would not stay anywhere else on Koh Tao and, time permitting, hope to be back there in a few weeks. I was speaking to some other guests at the resort, who were also in love with the place.

In conclusion - excellent and highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The rooms above reception or by the pool are well appointed and larger than other rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjpihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear D

It really was a pleasure to meet all your friends and family and receive all your feedback and kind words during your stay. San says hello but I didn't tell him about ALL your kind words as he will just be too full of himself :-)

I am bit puzzled about the water and will look into it as it's supposed to be free. I can only say I must have failed to communicate it to my staff and do apologize. I'll discount you on your next stay or give you a years supply of Koh Tao Water lol.

Take care and hope to see you soon !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for Aminjirah Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just concluded a 4 night stay at Aminjirah resort for a diving trip.

Felt like a bit of luxury instead of squeezing into one of those beach front chalets.

The resort is every bit as the photos depict with a clean and beautiful infinity pool and breath taking sunsets.

I had a complimentary upgrade to a pool villa (original room had some electrical wiring issues) and it was great.

It was spacious with a king sized bed, living area and a huge bathroom (too bad, no tub but given how erratic electricity and hot water can be on this island, it would be a waste and pointless)

Room was clean and everything worked. Hot water and electricity was 90% alright was 1-2 occasional of no electricity and hot water ( but i think its a function of the island rather than hotel)

Wi fi connection was a bit dicy and i suspect its to do with bandwith because at times i can connect and during "peak" hoours when all the guest are back, its hard to even connect but generally 70% of the time was ok.

Service is as expected of Thai hospitality,they were accomodating for small details like making a sandwich for me at 0600 before i dived as i was entitled to complimentary breakfast but kitchen does not start till 0700. I cant complain at all except that its a tad slow at times regards food and drinks. the manager (san) speaks good english and there was no issues with communicating. Rest of staff is mix of burmese and thai so langauge is a tad suspect but nothing that some basic smattering and sign language cant resolve. I had no issues at all

Of course by Koh Tao standards, there are cheaper alternatives esp if you want to be in sariee village but for the price of abt USD 85, its fantastic value for money ( even without my upgrade as i saw my original room).

Location is pro and con, its a 15 min walk and is dark at night but in day ok. I like it because its exactly as i desired, near enough to village for daily multiple commutes via walking or rent a bike/quad for supplies and food and yet distance enough to enjoy some peace and quiet.

I would totally recommend it for the price that you pay and i think its more worth it to pay a bit more for a room with a view of the sunset.

was alone and its a pity. Its great for couples esp if you are there ti relax and spend couple time yet do some leisure diving. For hard core divers, location and facilities may be wasted due to limited time at resort.

There was some renovation work ongoing and its still a work in progress but did not affect the guest at all.

Intend to return with partner soon hopefully to a even more beautiful resort.

Teck from Singapore

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THSOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your kinds words and review. We do our best but you are right, occasionally internet, electricity etc. is a struggle on a small island with horrible logistics with regards to power, water etc. Still everybody here, except for a few large resorts, are in the same boat.

Still it's paradise here and we're glad you felt the same way. We are now fully open and there is no more renovation or construction, so hope to see you back next time !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

What a beautiful property! The pool and restaurant area are spectacular, and we actually really enjoyed being away from the craziness of the town/beach area. This is a perfect romantic getaway, and the owners Jacob and his wonderful wife were very helpful, and friendly. They made great suggestions when we had questions about local adventures and restaurants to check out, and made us feel right at home.
The price was definitely reasonable and allowed us to have a small slice of luxury during our backpacking adventure trip. The free transfer back to the port was extremely helpful too, and the amenities and ambiance in the property are fantastic.
Would definitely recommend this for couples and small groups of friends. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgundy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Gidday Guys

Thank you for your nice words and it was indeed a pleasure mingling with you in our pool and provide you with a good experience. Take care with the skiing and so forth..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I proposed to my long time girlfriend after spending a few days at this romantic resort. The views
Were just too much to bear without getting romantically in minded.

We got a completely new room, the first guests to ever stay there and the decorations and ambiance was perfect for my plan.

Service was outstanding with the occasional funny mishaps but all taken with a smile by the staff and the very jovial and sweet manager !!

We will be back for our anniversary !!!!

Room Tip: Sunset dream suite is worth every euro !!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 293974Mohdakbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were possibly some of the first to stay in the newly upgrade Aminjirah and what an absolute pleasure it was. The pool was simply stunning with vistas reminicent of the best resorts in The Med. There were of course a few service hick ups due to the resort just reorganizing but smiles, atmosphere, food, views, rooms and staff were ALL amazing !!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borissta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Looking forward to seeing you in the future !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I had to the opportunity to stay at Aminjirah even though they had not fully opened after some renovations and a new pool along with some other guests and it was just stunning. There was a new pool and restaurant (nearly finsihed) and the pool is just so amazing with world class views. Our room was one of the ocean views and a great place to unwind after hard day on the beach and snorkeling. This is a small resort with big resort facility. I think only 13 rooms/villa but 3 pools. Incredibly. And so romantic in the night tieme.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mads M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the past 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed the resort and especially the new pool and the amazing sea views from it. During our stay we moved rooms to save a little money and stayed the first 2 nights in the seaview rooms and the last two nights in the garden room. The former was amazing with sweeping views of the ocean and very spacious and the former was obviously a bit smaller, but comfortable and good value for money (we paid about 1200 Thai bath due to low season).


All in all it was a great stay and we couldn't have been more happy.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are amazing but garden room is good value for money
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,514 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
912 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $40 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing