We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aminjirah Resort
Nearby Hotels
$68
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$131
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$66
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$49
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$32
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$45
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$22
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,369)
Filter reviews
1,369 results
Traveler rating
813
292
127
71
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
292
127
71
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolmystery roomsunset dreamsairee beachbudget roommain poolocean viewstunning viewsfree shuttlemy girlfriendwe loved our staywatching the sunsetrent a scootergreat poolshuttle servicelow seasonyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
950 - 955 of 1,369 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Difficult to add much to all the accolades Aminjirah has been given in previous couple of reviews. I actually chose this as a present for my girl friend and we extremely happy with the experience.

Aminjirah is about a 15 minute walk from bustling Sairee Village - which is a great place to visit - but also a great place to leave and the tranquility and atmosphere up in the clouds at Aminjirah is truly heaven.

I saw a couple of reviews complaining about the location, but as a matter of fact, it's hardly a kilometer from the action and the walk is pretty easy.

The rooms are very lovely and the views are in a word: breathtaking. We just missed the new pool being built, but once that is done I think nearby resorts will scramble to compete.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llowell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for your kinds words! We'd love to welcome you back soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at Amanjirah for five nights. It is a small and pleasant resort that is run by its owner. Because it is a small place, I think Amanjirah perhaps lacks a slight air of professionalism that larger, more commercial resorts have. The owner is pleasant and friendly man though, and we enjoyed interacting with him. It's obvious that this place is a work in progress to him, and he does a good job meeting his guests needs.
The rooms are clean and well-looked after, as are all the grounds. A new swimming pool was being built while we were there, and while there was definite noise, it was not unbearable. The construction work did not spoil the incredible view and I enjoyed a few beautiful sunsets looking out over the ocean from the balcony of our room. We had a large (but friendly) lizard living behind our air conditioner, but this is part of the experience of being on an island like Koh Tao and I'd imagine you would see lizards just like it in other more expensive resorts.
Koh Tao is small, but even so, the walk to Amanjirah can be tiring. I'd recommend a scooter to anybody planning on travelling to the busy beaches a lot, and I'd say that anyone favouring a busy party experience over a secluded resort like Amanjirah should look elsewhere for accomodation.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have an incredible view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samwise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. Were a bit saddened by the low scores on the value and location areas if I have to nitpick - since we offer great value for money compared to our closest neighbors Thipwimarn and Dusit Buncha. Also usually we are selected because of our location and our guests enjoy being a bit outside the party zone. Still we appreciated your kind comments !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My partner and I vacationed in Koh Tao, for our second time, this past June. After scouring the internet and TripAdvisor, we chose Aminjirah Resort for our week long stay. This was clearly a step up from the last time we were in Koh Tao (we were backpackers then!). I was impressed before we even arrived, just from the e-mail contact we had. I emailed them a few times before arrival asking some general questions, and always had a reply within a day or two.

Upon arrival (note: took a taxi from pier to Amanjirah as I was informed before arrival that they no longer offer pick-up service) we were greeted with cool drinks and friendly smiles, and an unexpected but welcome upgrade due to an administrative error (we originally booked the Seaview Fantasy suite, and ended up with the Royal Seaview suite, which was twice the size!). The photos on the website don't lie - the place is stunning, and the views are seriously the best you will find in Koh Tao. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the ocean and direct access to the second (more private) pool.There was a bit of construction going on while we were there, but the noise didn't bother us that much.

Yes, the resort is up on a hill (hence the incredible views), but IS walkable to Sairee beach and town - just be prepared to sweat a lot, and if doing it in the night, it's dark so I recommend a torch. After a couple of days, we ended up renting a scooter and the 10 min walk turned into a 2 min scooter ride.

There was some problems with water pressure a few days - but was always corrected within a few minutes of the pressure being low and its probably something that happens at every resort on the island. The free wifi was a great bonus and was surprisingly very reliable and the complimentary water each day was great. There is also a little shop just across the road where you can get waters, snacks and beer if you don't want to venture down into the main town.

All in all, we had a fantastic holiday and really enjoyed staying at Amanjirah. Hopefully we will get the pleasure of returning! (oh - and Pinky, the resident dog, is such a sweetheart!)

Room Tip: Recommend the Sea View Rooms - you won't regret it
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtann98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Jtann,

It was a pleasure meeting you guys and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. The good news is that it's been raining loads since then, so water problems are no longer an issue on the island :-)

Hope to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful place to relax and not too far away from night life, Amanjirah Resort is the right place to go to. It is located almost on the highest level of Sairee beach. We used to walk down to the village and the beach and walk back up to the resort, temperature around 35 degree celcius, about 30 minutes walk. We took it as our daily exercise, so we can enjoy the very good food at the resort again!
We booked the Seaview Fantasy and we loved it. The room is tastefully decorated and spacious, this goes the same with the bathroom. The balcony was big and the view is breathtaking! We had our meals at our balcony as we were not use to eating in the traditional Thai style, which is sitting on cushions. We did tried on the first evening. We had all our meals in the resort and they were all delicious. For the quality you get, it is worth the price.
A good snorkeling spot is to walk down the hill through the hotel below. Ask the receptionist for the direction. The staffs are all very friendly and hardworking. Some of the guys are a bit shy. The resort is very well kept and clean. Oh, yes, if the pools were to be a little bit bigger, then it would be more then perfect! We did experience a couple times with electricity or water supply breakdown, it was not a problem at all for us. We were on holiday and we had TIME.
Our stay at Amanjirah was very pleasant and we will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HibiscusGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Damn good place to stay. Never stayed at such a beautiful place. Food was great and the people there there were also very helpful. the sea view room was just fantastic and wud love to come back in near future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jits406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews