We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have you lost the plot ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Have you lost the plot ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I just returned from a fab 5 night stay at Amanjirah Resort and I can truly say that it was one of the most relaxing stays I have ever had at a hotel. From the moment you enter the reception until the time you check out again, all the staff are so friendly and smiling that it's nearly too much.

We stayed in room 7 which I believe is one of the standard rooms and had booked this directly through the resort's home page. I can not recognise a single point of the previous reviewer's complaints. Especially considering the price was less than 40 USD per night. Yes, it's one of the cheaper rooms and you get what you pay for. In this case that means a small but comfortable room with nice beds, nice furnishings, a quirky bathroom (but works just fine), tv and airconditioning. We were planning to spend our time outdoors in any case and loved the tranquility of both the pools. Especially the smaller pool has such an amazing sea view that must be seen.

The treetop terrace is where we had our meals and boy were they yummi + lounging in the hammock in the night time is just an amazing feeling with the ocean view and the cicadas humming. Fantastic. Absolutely.

The staff, as previously mentioned, were excellent - not the best English, but very very friendly and dropping what they were doing to help with our bags when we arrived. Lovely people.

So to conclude: If you're high maintenance and require 5 star posh surroundings then you should not come here, infact you should probably not come to Koh Tao at all, but if you're looking for beautiful surrondings, atmospheric rooms and a family atmosphere then Amanjirah is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    260
    119
    57
    41
See reviews for
112
721
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Its a very beautiful and peaceful resort, best place to escape from hustle and bustle of regular life. It has an amazing outdoor pool with decked relaxing chairs to sunbathe yr body. We stayed at Amanjirah Resort for 3 nights. The rooms are well maintained, spacious and with a great view. It is an ideal place so spend few days. It provided us all the comfort facilities we needed along with privacy and an amazing experience of having dinner on a tree top. Truly a memorable experience.

Bhavini

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We ended up leaving a day early because we were that displeased with our experience here.

Arrived to a not so warm greeting. Showed a room- no 7, which was dark, small and smelled musky in the main room and the bathroom smelled like wee. Not to mention the reception area also had a urine smell wafting about.

We were ok about the island being in a drought thus no spectacular pool to use and the whole site is dry as a bone. However our air conditioner did not work and the shower head kept falling out of its holder (including onto my head). Oh and there was a cockroach in the bathroom too!

I approached management about these two issues that morning and was not met by a helpful response- the girl looked annoyed that we were even asking for assistance.

Some guy came down and turned the air con on and off for about 5 minutes then our whole bathroom was flooded in 2 inches of water as the drains became blocked. No apology, no proposal of what their solution was on whether they were going to do anything about it.

We decided to check out and could not believe the price we were charged for such a dungeon-like room.

When we checked out later that night we were told we could not leave till we spoke to the manager. We were made to wait five minutes and asked why we were checking out early.

I explained the attitude of the staff was appalling, plus listed all the faults with our room. He made a big hoo-ha about how he would upgrade us and how he could fix the problem but it was too late we just wanted to get out.

I should also mention this place is miles from where the action is.

Seriously this place needs to get a grip cos 3500 baht per night is overpriced for the very little you get in return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darrrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear guest

I am sorry to hear about your negative experience of our resort and the difficulties you had. As another review pointed out I have not been able to be at the resort for a week or so and therefore I cannot comment on all your points. I will certainly take your points to heart and look into the issues you had. One thing though I would like to mention, though, is the rate you mention since you mention that you paid 3500 THB per night. The room type you booked is less than half of that.


Best Regards

Panalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We finally arrived at Amanjirah, after having requested a greeting at the port but not receiving one. We looked hard for someone holding my name but to no avail. On arrival we were greeted by a young girl who was quite short with us and not particularly welcoming... Although throughout the stay her mood did improve a little. We had booked a deluxe room for two people....on being shown to our room, we actually had a family room.... A little disappointing as we had expected a sea view, but instead had a view of an empty pool. The room was spacious clean and well presented with some nice furnishings.

However, on taking a shower, the water barely lasted two minutes before running out completely. Not great when your hair is full of shampoo and cannot be rinsed. We acknowledge the water shortage on koh Tao at the moment and indeed it is a precious resource...however, this resort should not be running if it cannot provide its guests with enough running water to take one shower per day! The owners should be looking to invest in a solution... They are charging enough from their rooms to be able to reinvest some money into water provision. We noticed that they are expanding and building more buildings on the land... Should they really be doing this if water is an ongoing issue? One of the lads working at the hotel was particularly helpful...although understandably could not resolve the water problem single handedly.

We quickly realised that the owner was not there... It certainly appears that service is not as good when the owners are not there. They left a note in the room advising us of their need to be in Bangkok as the children are at school there and did leave contact numbers should there be any major problems. Begrudgingly, the girl on reception took drinks and food orders and it did seem that this was perhaps too much trouble... A shame, as when she did smile she seemed very nice!

We ordered breakfast one morning and it was pleasant to be able to eat it on our private terrace. Since leaving the hotel, I have looked at their website and believe that it is better to book with them directly as it appears the cost of the room is cheaper and includes breakfast in the cost. We unfortunately booked through Agoda.com and were charged much more than the cost of a sea view fantasy room and did not have breakfast included. We had not expected five star but did expect decent service for £63 per night.

We tried to rent motorbikes to go around the island but because we saw passports being held to ransom, we decided against risking our passports being held by some dodgy bike owner and had to resort to paying expensive prices for taxis or walking. We can see that there are some idiots damaging bikes but similarly some motorbike rent places are ripping off tourists... This is causing an uneasy atmosphere and standoffs between locals and tourists. Perhaps they should find a different means of renting out bikes.... Insurance???? Although we're not sure if this is a viable option on such a small and fairly primitive island.

We would perhaps consider this resort again in the future, but would need to know whether the owner was going to be there or not. Our advice...email and ask in advance of your stay and then choose carefully!

Room Tip: Check you have the room that you expect... If you pay for deluxe...you don't necessarily want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Your points are very valid and we try to always have one owner at the resort at all times. However, the details mentioned regarding water are 100% true and for that reason we actually did stop the couple of new villas construction. It is understandably very inconvenient to have a shower and run out of water, but this July and August have been extremely diffiicult with water and nearly all resorts on the island have been feeling this.

We do definitively recommend all guests to book with us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

My favorite place on Koh Tao. Unfortunately the main pool was dry due to having been fixed and then not having water to fill it again (drought apparantly). Luckily the small plunge pool did the job.

the food was better than most places we have visited and service was good as ever.

Koh Tao has some way tO come yet in terms of road safety etc but overall a very enjoyable island.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyfabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Amanjirah is by no means the most luxurious of resorts and one should not stay here expecting a 5 star exeperience. Rooms are very clean and the staff is attentative and friendly. One thing to note is that it is quite far from the town. We walked in most evenings (about 15minutes) and took a taxi back at night. The road is hilly and there are no lights so walking at night is a full on suicide mission.Most people hire a scooter on the island, but we had heard some nasty stories of accidents/being cheated on the return of the vehicles, so we did not want to risk it.
The pools at the resort are more for dipping in than swimming, but they did the job of cooling us down. The pool on the seaview patio has great views. We spent most of our first day on the patio and had the place pretty much to ourselves. No fighting over sun loungers or space in the pool, which was great. There were no kids either, which made the stay very relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 2 (Seaview Fantasy with direct access to the pool) is the best. We stayed in room 1 and althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripster02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ko samui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

i not enjoy my stay at this resort.
everything was dirty and the water was black.
on the toothbrush there were insects on so we had to throw it away.
in the bed the were insect like ant.
the room was dirty and too expensive for a room like this.
i ask for a taxi in the resort and at the reception they tell me that for a round trip they charge me 200 bath.
when i came back in the hotel i had to pay 400 bath.
thats a real rip off because the distance to the town is not very far.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear reviewer

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It may have something to do with the fact that you booked our smallest room and showed up with 2 adults and 2 children. As we clearly inform guests on our website, our smallest rooms are mainly meant for just 2 persons and are priced as such. I believe the language barrier might have prevented you from seeing that during the booking process. In any case it is of course unfortunate to expect a room for large enough for 4 persons but then having to stay in a 2 person room.

With regards to your other comments regarding cleanliness, then I will let our 50+ excellent reviews stand as proof that our rooms are certainly not dirty or full of insects. Of course we are in a tropical climate, so some insects with always be a part of life, just as the house geckos and the chorus of frogs in the garden when it has rained.

About the transfers then you called and asked us how much it would be and we said to take a taxi. We are small place and when you only pay about 25 USD for a night, you can hardly expect us to provide you with a free transfer when we would be charged about 5 USD for that ourselves.

Finally, water is always an issue on Koh Tao. Especially right now, there is a severe lack of water on the island - but blackness of water is not one of the problems.

As we have stated several times, what you can expect:

-We are a small resort.
-Glitches does happen but are fixed with a smal
-Our smallest room are just for two persons (and it says so very clearly on our website).
-Expect nature - naturally. You are on a tropical island.
-Expect a nice 10-15 minute walk to the beach or shopping. That's why most of our guest love it here. Rent a moped, then it's just two minutes.

So book with us if you want beautiful sea view, friendly atmosphere, beautiful rooms, fair rates and basically want to get a bit away from it all, but still be close to get THERE.

Peace be upon you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing