We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
“Back again!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

My favorite place on Koh Tao. Unfortunately the main pool was dry due to having been fixed and then not having water to fill it again (drought apparantly). Luckily the small plunge pool did the job.

the food was better than most places we have visited and service was good as ever.

Koh Tao has some way tO come yet in terms of road safety etc but overall a very enjoyable island.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyfabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    265
    120
    60
    41
See reviews for
112
736
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Amanjirah is by no means the most luxurious of resorts and one should not stay here expecting a 5 star exeperience. Rooms are very clean and the staff is attentative and friendly. One thing to note is that it is quite far from the town. We walked in most evenings (about 15minutes) and took a taxi back at night. The road is hilly and there are no lights so walking at night is a full on suicide mission.Most people hire a scooter on the island, but we had heard some nasty stories of accidents/being cheated on the return of the vehicles, so we did not want to risk it.
The pools at the resort are more for dipping in than swimming, but they did the job of cooling us down. The pool on the seaview patio has great views. We spent most of our first day on the patio and had the place pretty much to ourselves. No fighting over sun loungers or space in the pool, which was great. There were no kids either, which made the stay very relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 2 (Seaview Fantasy with direct access to the pool) is the best. We stayed in room 1 and althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripster02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ko samui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

i not enjoy my stay at this resort.
everything was dirty and the water was black.
on the toothbrush there were insects on so we had to throw it away.
in the bed the were insect like ant.
the room was dirty and too expensive for a room like this.
i ask for a taxi in the resort and at the reception they tell me that for a round trip they charge me 200 bath.
when i came back in the hotel i had to pay 400 bath.
thats a real rip off because the distance to the town is not very far.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear reviewer

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It may have something to do with the fact that you booked our smallest room and showed up with 2 adults and 2 children. As we clearly inform guests on our website, our smallest rooms are mainly meant for just 2 persons and are priced as such. I believe the language barrier might have prevented you from seeing that during the booking process. In any case it is of course unfortunate to expect a room for large enough for 4 persons but then having to stay in a 2 person room.

With regards to your other comments regarding cleanliness, then I will let our 50+ excellent reviews stand as proof that our rooms are certainly not dirty or full of insects. Of course we are in a tropical climate, so some insects with always be a part of life, just as the house geckos and the chorus of frogs in the garden when it has rained.

About the transfers then you called and asked us how much it would be and we said to take a taxi. We are small place and when you only pay about 25 USD for a night, you can hardly expect us to provide you with a free transfer when we would be charged about 5 USD for that ourselves.

Finally, water is always an issue on Koh Tao. Especially right now, there is a severe lack of water on the island - but blackness of water is not one of the problems.

As we have stated several times, what you can expect:

-We are a small resort.
-Glitches does happen but are fixed with a smal
-Our smallest room are just for two persons (and it says so very clearly on our website).
-Expect nature - naturally. You are on a tropical island.
-Expect a nice 10-15 minute walk to the beach or shopping. That's why most of our guest love it here. Rent a moped, then it's just two minutes.

So book with us if you want beautiful sea view, friendly atmosphere, beautiful rooms, fair rates and basically want to get a bit away from it all, but still be close to get THERE.

Peace be upon you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in the Seaview Fantasy Room in mid july 2012, and was welcomed by the owner, Jacob, a Dane who opened Aminjirah with his wife. Normally he lives in Bangkok, but he spent the holidays here as well, with his two lovely kids.

Everytime we met him, we were greeted and he was very interested in hearing our opinion, and if everything was okay. The staff on the resort was also very helpful and polite, some of them don't speak much Thai, but they speak english though, so you will not have any difficulties communicating with them. We had a lot of questions before arrival, but they respond to e-mails very quick, almost instantly.

If you choose to stay at Aminjirah, you have to be advised, that Koh Tao is a small island, and just because you pay a bit more to stay here, it doesn't mean that water pressure and electricity is stable. Electricity and water worked really great during our stay though, a few times the water pressure dropped to zero, but it was only a matter of five minutes, before it came back. The electricity worked perfect - a couple of times it was out, but in one second at was restored - perfect!

Another great thing about living here, was the short distance to Sairee beach and all the restaurants and supermarket. The taxi drivers are very expensive - 3-400 baht oneway, depending on your destination (Sairee/Mae Haad). We rented a motorbike from a small place located just before entering Sairee (first house you meet before entering Sairee, on your right side, a nice old lady takes care of the place and she is very honest). We recommend that you walk to Sairee - it is not as bad as it looks, and then take a taxi on your way home, as it is a bit of a climb up the steep road.

The resort itself is really nice, landscape looks great and the view is amazing. You sit on the front row to the sea, and you can follow the dive boats during the day, and at night you can watch as all the fishing boats take place on their spot and stay there.

We could not be more happy with our stay, and could not ask for any more. Everything worked perfect, bed was comfortable, the huge tv was new and signal was perfect. They have a lot of channels to choose from, so on rainy days you will not be bored.

All in all we had a wonderful stay, and we would definately come back, should we be so lucky to come to Koh Tao again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasloewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great spot, the best on the island probably, rooms are nice the staff were friendly, rooms clean and nicely decorated
Excellent location!!! Just meters away from all the pubs and restaurants… but Far away enough so you don’t hear any type of noise.wonderful view. balcony has a table and chairs to enjoy the view. We had breakfast delivered to our room every day.they were reasonably priced and we stay by 12 day. Would recommend to anyone staying in Koh Tao that wants to be in the thick of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a excellent stay at this resort. We booked for 4 nights, but stayed instead 7 nights. The resort has a great view and is very relaxing. 2 small swimmingpools, one has beautifully view over the sea. We had 2 different room types: Swimming pool view, room is very cosy and romantic and has a nice balcony to relax. We enjoyed it a lot. Our seconde room was called sea view fantasy room. It's more expensieve but the room is very beautifull, romantic and big. Nice sea view and balcony, we loved it. The roomservice is excellent every morning we had breakfast on our balcony. The food is good and the shakes are superb. Staff and owner are very friendly and helpfull. We rented a bike to visite Koh Tao only 200 bath, you can ask the owner and he will call someone that bring the bike to the hotel. In 5 min. you are in the town with the bike. It's very easy to visite all the different bay's in Koh Tao from this resort. We travelled for 3 months around Asia and came here to relax and enjoy peace and quiet and it was defenitly worth it. We would recommanded to everybody that wants to have more comfort and luxury and would defenitly come back to this beautifully place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Be careful what kind of room you book. Do not take the room with garden view. You have no view through the windows the room is small and there are no lights outside to get to the room without the torch. You do not have a good lighting in the room - looks like backup generator. Ac didn't work properly - it was too hot inside the room. There was No chair in the room. Tv remote didn't work even when I asked for new battery. The lady in the reception is not Nice and friendly at all. Eventually I couldn't pay with credit card. They told me that I gave them a wrong number what is impossible because when you book via booking.com there is always a verification. Fortunately I had enough cash to pay. They didn't want another card even. Very strange situation.
If you want to stay in this płace - the view is awesome you need to book a bike. There is no point to stay there without it or you will pay 300 baht for each trip to the center.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our beautiful view.

Let me state that we LOVE constructive comments. We love it when things are pointed out to us for improvements during guests staying so why not bring it up directly with us during the stay. I spoke to the guest a number of times when you came back from your snorkeling trips and hikes and not once did were any issues or concerns brought to my attention.

In any case, our Standard Garden Rooms are indeed garden view. We have taken great care to describe our room types on our website exactly to avoid situations where guests are unhappy with our small retreat. I am paraphrasing from the website:

Our 3 Standard Garden Rooms are suitable for a couple or the single traveler wanting enjoy the great atmosphere at the resort while not splashing out. Room includes cable tv, fridge, air conditioning & warm shower and wifi. The images on the website are exactly as shown except for one room which is actually larger and has twin beds.

You did indeed book with booking.com and it is simply not correct that they verify the card. They do not - it is up the the resort to do and we could not charge your card. We asked if you wanted to try again as perhaps the number given to booking.com was incorrect, but you preferred to pay in cash.

Most of our guests very much enjoy the fact that we're not in the center of Sairee Village with all the bars and noise and most enjoy the leisurely walk or rent a motorbike. Again we make this clear on our website. I suggest guests book on our website to get all the facts rather than online agents that might not display all the info we give them.

One point I would like concede is that during high season a few times a day the power can drop due to overutilization by the island's resorts. This can make the lights dimmer and indeed make the airconditioning blow luke warm air rather than cold air. Normally this passes fairly quickly and most guests understand and enjoy the fact that not every thing is "perfect" as it is back home. Afterall "This Is Thailand".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing