We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall, but size lets it down”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at Amanjirah for a week in March, sadly it was just before the flooding so the weather was very unseasonal , I think we had 1 day of sunshine.

The resort is small, well laid out, but it is small, I could even say that they might have tried to fit too many rooms in. Doing away with one room could have made the others bigger. Whilst we were there it was quiet, but as most of the rooms are situated round the pool and on top of each other, during high season I would expect it to be noisy.

We chose a superior room @2500THB, which is enough to pay for Koh Tao. When we booked, the website was being created/changed regularly as the resort is new so there were no photos of our room type (and still aren’t)
It was tiny with only one side of the bed accessible. I would say that it’s only really suitable for 1 person. One window looking out on to the pool terrace, which literally was a stones throw away. We had to keep the curtains closed all the time as you could see right in to our room. (Sitting on our balcony I could clearly read the magazine of a sunbather, it was that close!)

We were under the impression that it would be bigger and better appointed that the standard garden room, but as these rooms were next to each other, we could see little difference apart from the small balcony.
However having said all this, the room itself was immaculately presented with top quality fixtures and fittings. It was also spotlessly clean. Little extras like kettle, fridge and free wifi were a nice touch. Would have been nice to have a shelf in the bathroom and hooks for towels/robes etc.
The resort is in a good location away from the noise of Sairee, but only 5 mins by scooter to the bars and restaurants. Staff at the resort were very friendly and courteous and the manager speaks very good English. Our included breakfast was very nice and served on our balcony.

A nice resort, I would kind of recommend it but if you want a reasonable size room then you will have to pay a bit more than we did, even though I think we paid enough by Thailand standards.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanoir_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Thank you for your fiar comments. We do have a variety of room types and some rooms are indeed small(er) - specifically the garden rooms and the type you mention. We find that by offering a wide price range we can meet many interesting guests and not only guests paying a higher end type of rooms. We also have different rates for different periods as is commonly done, i.e. rates are higher for high/peak season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

The hotel is nice and new but a bit far away from sairee "city". Rooms are nice with nice decoration.
The receptionist is by far the unfriendliest person I ve seen so far in thailand. We wanted her to make a phonecall for us, in my opinion a standard service for a hotel in that pricerange, she just answered that it is 20 baht per minute and we should better go to town.
The other staff is very friendly but doesn't speak a word if english.
After all it is a nice place to stay but you can find better and cheaper on koh Tao.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annaschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Being the owner I am not pleased to hear your impression of the front office and will strive to improve. Thank you for bringing it up as we have had mostly very nice comments about our service, but we cannot be reticent about this and must go forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We had a wonderful time on Koh Tao and found the resort to be absolutely gorgeous. The welcome were extremely kind and rooms had been done up beautifully. and we loved the sea view and the pools.

Initially we thought the location was a bit remote, however, once we hired a scooter we quickly changed our mind as it was in all actuality great to be away from the hustle and bustle. The fact that a free shuttle is provided several times a day is fantastic.

The menu and the ambiance of the restaurant decks was good and really chilled. Very very romantic.

We have recommended many friends to go there when they visit Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toyota_judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our friends for 1 week in february. It is a great place - small, friendly and far enough out of the centre not to be disturbed by noise. We had a poolside suite which was fantastic - our friends had a superior poolside room which they felt was small. However the hotel accepted our criticism and made every effort to move our friends to a bigger room. The staff are friendly and helpful. We appreciated the courtesy coach. It is situated in a perfect setting with wonderful views and the food is very good! What more do you need for a perfect holiday?

Room Tip: Pay for a Poolside Suite - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Guest Relations Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words. We always do our best to meet our guests expectations. It was so nice too to meeting you and hope to see you again next year :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We just came back from Amanjirah Resort where we stayed (unfortunately) only 1 night. Due to the recent floodings in the south of Thailand we managed to get a great deal through their website and enjoyed their Fantasy Deluxe room with Seaview with a 40% discount. As the island was so empty we seemed to be the only ones in the small resort which was just perfect. Our room was spacious and light with great with a huge flat screen TV, unobstructed 180 degrees seaview, big bathroom with rain shower, perfect bed and our own private swimming pool as the other Fantasy room was empty. All this for 2700 Baht only! Staff was very friendly but apart from the receptionist their English was extremely limited which made it hard to order food as we had a few special requests.Also there was no phone in the room so for room service we had to go up to the restaurant; just a few minor flaws in an otherwise perfect resort.

Room Tip: Check their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rice_paddy7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Guest Relations Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

It was our pleasure. It seems everybody think the island is devasted :-( Everything is infact back to normal and all the flooding news are completely blown out of proportions. Boats are running and there is no problems at all to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed in Koh Tao for four days and we came across this hotel on tripadvisor. I emailed the management through their website with regards to rates and availability and i had a response straight away and we booked with such ease.
The hotel even collect you from the port, which is great after a delayed ferry ride.
The hotel is in a great location, just outside the main part of Koh Tao (Sairee Beach) and it has the most amazing views over the Ocean. We had a seaview fanasy room and we were so so so impressed. The rooms are wonderfully done and have everything you need including a large flat screen tv and a laptop, which is free to use at all times. The bathrooms are fantastic and are very well maintained.
We had dinner at the restaurant on our first night and it really was one of the best meals we had in three weeks of travelling around Thailand.
The two pools are great and again very well maintained. I really recommend this hotel and dont be scared to hire one of their mopeds as there is so much to see in Koh Tao.
As mentioned, we explored many places in Thailand and i can honestly say Koh Tao was our favourite and this hotel definitely contributed to that.
Many thanks, Paul and Susan.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

a lovely place to stay

really nice and sweet stuff!! great restaurant!

and i felt very safe... love this place and will go again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aluk-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,476 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
955 reviews
1.3 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $37 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 17 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing