We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For Small Family”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Living in Bangkok it is often difficult to select where to go with the family. Many places don't cater to families or are TOO family friendly, i.e. large an impersonal. Therefore it was very refreshing to, during our trip to Koh Tao, find a small resort that even though it's not on the beach, just were a perfect choice for a small family with spacious rooms, excellent and helpful service and a shallow pool where the young ones could play. Plus with few rooms, you get a very special and family atmosphere. We stayed at the family suite and enjoyed the sunset from our balcony and the sun during the day at the pool and restaurant terrace. Much has to be said for the staff, although some of them had not too much English, they were all just big smiles and happy to help.

Don't choose this place if you are looking for a perfect 5 star vacation though, as I don't think that's even what the resort aims to be.

Best Regards

A Swedish Dude Living in Bangkok !!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolSwedeBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

Our stay at Amanjirah was an absolute delight. We stayed in the Seaview Fantasy room for 3 nights and was not disappointed. The view was spectacular from Sunrise to Sunset...we had our privacy as it is a small resort...and that was exactly what we wanted. The service was impecable, and the food was one of the best on the island.(especially the Chicken Pad Thai, and Tom Kai Ghai) delivered to our room or you can enjoy their delightful outdoor restaurant...
This place is a must stay and well priced

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

As time passes, memories linger but great experiences never fade. Our short honeymoon at The Amanjirah was one of those experiences. My husband and I lodged in Seaview Suite and enjoyed a large balcony with an absolutely fantastic view and easy access to the small but refreshing dipping pool, which overlooks the sea. Overall Amanjirah is not a typical resort, it is very small and intimate with great little touches and very friendly staff. Nothing is ever a bother for Ms. Farida and her team. Granted, the language barrier can sometime cause some funny situations, but if you are prepared to go with a smile, then you simply won't be disappointed. We would come back in heartbeat if we had the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnnThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I would highly recommend this holiday resort as it is perfectly situated, away from the hustle and bustle of the popular Sairee beach bars and restaurants, but only a couple of minutes away using the resort’s taxi service. It is ideal for perfect views of the sunset over the ocean from the restaurant . We found this to be the perfect location as it was so peaceful and tranquil. The rooms are absolutely stunning and the décor is exquisite. They are exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff are lovely, really friendly and very helpful. We could not have asked for anything else from a resort. We may consider this place for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishayasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

After reading all the reviews, I was really excited about staying at Amanjirah for a trip to Koh Tao. I have to say that my admittedly high expectations were sorely disappointed. We were looking forward to a relaxing and luxurious stay and Amanjirah missed the mark. The owners didn't appear to be around and there wasn't a feedback form so straight to Tripadvisor it is.

The pros first: the view is truly amazing, the pools are great and the food is delicious. There are beautiful flowers and plants everywhere. The place is new and obviously a lot of thought has been put into design.

The cons: Our "superior" room was very small and dark - the windows looked directly level onto the pool terrace so for privacy we kept the curtains closed. We stayed in 4-star places in Koh Samui and Bangkok for the same price that were at least double the size. The room is too small for the giant flat screen TV that's been placed there, so you have to dodge the corner of the TV stand in order to enter. It was also hard to fall asleep as the air conditioning directly above the bed emitted a weird blue light.

The location wasn't very convenient unless you are looking to spend all day around the hotel. There's only one free shuttle to and from the main town otherwise the charge is 200Bt one way, about the same as a Koh Tao cab (i.e. overpriced for 5 mins down a single road). While it's not far to walk (about 20mins), the road is quite narrow with no pedestrian pavement so it's not the most pleasant walk.

I couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff, however there didn't seem to be any organisation. The main woman at reception who spoke excellent English seemed to be doing everything.

Some examples: the breakfast is offered as from 8am. We had a day trip booked where the pick up was at 8:30. When we asked about breakfast, the woman at reception said that it was actually 8:10. Fine, we thought 20 mins to eat some breakfast is sufficient. So we put in the order form with the requested time. The next day at 8:15 still no breakfast in sight, I walked to reception (there are no phones) to ask. There were probably about 5-6 staff sitting in reception chatting, the woman at reception was apologetic and seemed surprised that the order hadn't been put throught and went to the kitchen. The food arrived cool at 8:25, although at least the staff asked the driver picking up us to wait 10mins while we scoffed breakfast down. Another thing was that, while they offer room service, they leave dirty crockery hanging around; our plates on the little balcony weren't removed for a good 12 hours and I noticed dirty plates piling up outside other rooms.

I would have to say small things like these really dented our opinion of Amanjirah.

On a separate note, the hotel's only been open since 1st February apparently, so I'm not entirely convinced about the other reviews dating back to December. They're all from first time contributors and some of the photos look like they came straight from the hotel website. I wish I had been a little more cautious before paying upfront for the stay, as we saw lots of places on arrival that looked nice and were offering rooms for less.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Thank you for your comments; both the positive ones and the "less" positive ones. We are indeed a new resort and are training staff, finding things to improve daily and are working on many ideas and following up on comments we get from guests. I am sorry to hear about the minor issues you had with the room service and breakfast and it is something that we are already working on.

Regarding your comment about the time we opened, then I would like to clarify that we have actually been open with parts of the resort since late december and therefore we have indeed had quite a lot of guests staying prior to February.

Best Regards

Rojana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Although Koh Tao is not really the most upscale island, it has some very romantic resorts. We happened to stay at one of them in particular and actually considered not writing this review so we can keep it a secret and to ourselves the next time we go to Koh Tao. On arrival we were met at Koh Tao's pier with a friendly smile and were transported to the resort. Took about 5 minutes and we had a view of Yuan Island from our balcony. Might not be suitable for the elderly although we met a 65+ year old couple we really enjoyed their stay, but there are a few steps and stairs to the various rooms and restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinbrenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights at the start of our three week trip through Thailand and it was by far the nicest place we stayed at. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. They provide a shuttle service to the beach, scooter rental, a very extensive menu (very good food!), and both pools are amazing with hammocks, deck chairs and breathtaking ocean views. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. TV has a DVD player and hundreds of channels. I very highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ah126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Dear Sarah

Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure meeting the two of you and we really do hope to see you again...

Sincerely

R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,576 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
935 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $39 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing