We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments
Ranked #4 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment with excellent service”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment for two nights, and the accommodation was superb. The room had all of the expected amenities, with a very homey and sleek decor. I would rate the room on its own a 4/5, however, the service is what made this place excellent.

Pros: Dani, the hotel manager, must be one of the most helpful people I've ever met in my travels. Upon arrival at the pier, she greeted us and arranged for a taxi to the hotel. Once at the hotel, she gave us a brief introduction to the island, along with a small compilation of activities and attractions, which she made herself. Plus a pre-paid cell phone with numbers for some of the key restaurants, taxi services, and herself. Very handy. Relatively close to both Maehaad and Sairee villages (few minute cab ride to either).

Cons: Location was a bit out of the way,though I suppose this can be either a pro or a con depending on the person's preferences for seclusion. If going to town, a taxi is almost necessary, particularly during the evening as the roads are unlit and the mosquitoes tend to be out in full force. The taxi driver is on-call most of the time, so if you don't mind taking a taxi, then this should not be an issue. It was about a 20 min walk to Sairee village. I preferred to walk places, so while I enjoyed the quietness and seclusion of the apartment come night-time, it would have been more convenient to be closer to the action during the day.

Overall, this was a great place to stay, especially for a couple of first-timers on the island. I strongly recommend Koh Tao Heights to those travelers who wish to have a bit more seclusion and a quality room. For those who like to have all the amenities of a village at their doorstep, there are plenty of other places in Sairee or Maehaad that offer quality accommodation which may be worth checking out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan10500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronen G, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us, however wish it could have been for longer! I hope you can return soon for a longer trip. I'm glad you enjoyed the quiet and privacy the apartments have to offer. You are completely correct, they are perfect for guests who wish to stay away from the main hustle of restaurants and bars, yet they are close enough so you don't feel stranded just a 2 minute taxi journey or 10-20 minute walk to the main Sairee Beach.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    37
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
103
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in the studio apartment for over one week. We liked the place very much; clean and spacious room and all the equipments you will need. Only negative thing was the hill in front of the house. You have to climb the hill up and that makes you really sweaty.. If you dont mind a little work-out so it`s fine.
Dani is totally awesome person; she helped us in every way you can figure! When we were sick she gave the ride to doctor and brought us some medicine, she helped us organizing tickets, trips etc... What a service! We can recommend this place and will definitely go back someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1katja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was the second time now that we've stayed at Koh Tao Heights. (6months + each time) Both times we had an excellent stay.

Great views, roomy apartartment with all mod cons and a landlord that was on the ball and so accomodating.

A great location, just a short walk away from Maehaad & Sairee ...compared to the other places I've stayed in, it was pure luxury!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_diddy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked an apartment based on good reviews here on TA. We wanted an opportunity to cook some meals for ourselves; having backpacked and eaten out for many months, an affordable (just) kitchen seemed great to us. The price wasn't the cheapest but we figured we'd save on buying local food to cook.

We were met at the pier by a friendly host (Danni) who put us in the taxi and met us at the apartments. We were initially disappointed to find out there was no pool to use, which was actually big factor in our booking the apartment. It was partly our own fault as we had read a review on TA which mentioned a pool, but unfortunately the reviewer had actually reviewed the wrong accommodation - it was a review for the villas, which are completely separate from the apartments.

Pool aside, on first viewing the apartment itself looked amazing. It was very spacious with a lounge area and nice large bed. The decor was great and the large balcony was a nice feature and it begs to be sat at for breakfast and/or watch the sunset.

We were given a welcome pack with information on tours, massages, ferry times and other general handy info. There are also a collection of delivery menus for some of the restaurants on the islands.

We were given a mobile phone to use for taxis/food etc., and told to phone her or the manager if we ever needed anything, which was a nice addition.. which unfortunately for us, ended up being useless (more on that later).

We quickly realised that the kitchen wasn't really good for any kind of cooking. Sure it is a kitchenette, but it is billed on their own website as ''fully equipped''. It really hardly had anything. It had two small hobs with two old dirty pans and some bad quality dirty cutlery - it was similar to a student apartment kitchen. Simple things like a a tin-opener, toaster, microwave, clingfilm, collinder weren't included - so we were definitely out of hope for a pestle & motar etc. for cooking some Thai food! Other things that we would have expected were a tea-towel (we had to use a bath towel) and maybe some wine glasses would have been a nice addition to go with the view on the balcony. If we are being picky wanting a pestle & motar (we are in Thailand, but okay lets say we are being picky) we would still expect the basics... We might as well have just had a nice hotel room as the kitchen was just a token effort which basically amounted to having some plates to use for delivered food. If this is what you want, then great, but unfortunately it disappointed us.

Now here is where a few bad things came into play and combined for a pretty crappy evening. As we didn't have much hope for cooking ourselves we planned to get some delivery food late in the evening... The sun set and we had a few beers and tried to order around 10:30pm... the call didn't connect. We tried again, and then another restaurant, and another. The phone did not work. The phone seemed to have insufficient credit to do anything with. Our host did say she checked it for credit when we checked in, but regardless, we couldn't send a text or make any calls. Without that phone you are basically stranded as there is no reception or landline phone to use. It was too late to go out to a restaurant as the walk to and from the apartments in the dark is a little crazy (aside from the fact that we just wanted an evening in). There are no lights in the streets and scooters are zooming around everywhere with drunken Westerners on. All this led to us going hungry for the night.

The location of the apartments is pretty good overall. It will depend on what you want. It is away from the main hustle and bustle of the backpacker area, which is what we wanted.. but if you want all that then this is maybe a little out of the way. The walk at night can be hard due to no lighting, and not to mention the steep hill... Depending on how hard you find the climb, it may be worth the effort when you have the view you get from the balcony. Many reviews have pointed it out, but I would reiterate that the hill leading up to the apartments is very steep and if you aren't very mobile, it will be a lot of effort - it was a lot of effort for me and I'm a perfectly healthy 26 year old. Think of being on the 20th floor of a hotel with no elevator.. hard work, but you get a good view.

With our phone being useless we really hoped that our host would show up the next day (as she had told us she would, to give us our change from paying). Unfortunately she didn't turn up and we never received a call to explain or check up on us so we went another day, and in fact the entire 3 night stay without seeing her and therefore, without the phone. It was explained that it was the only phone that she didn't have the number for and otherwise she would have called... so I'm sure this same thing won't happen again - but it still affected our stay so I have to mention it.

Other smaller negatives were dozens of ants and several cockroaches (thankfully small, otherwise my girlfriend would have freaked!) in the bathroom. The ants were pretty big and a few scouted into the bed area a few times.. we tried to get rid of some and made sure no food was ever kept in the bin etc., but they persisted. I think there may be some kind of ant-nest in a wall in the bathroom as they never stopped coming!

The power was out on our final day, to continue the trend mentioned by some of the reviews on here.. while it didn't effect us too much as we were leaving, it obviously could effect others.

A nice plus to end on was the included taxi to the pier. The journey isn't far but the local taxis aren't cheap.

Overall I'd say the apartment is overpriced for what you get. It is nice, with nice decor, lounge and bed area. The bathroom (minus bugs) was good but the kitchenette was a real disappointment that basically shouldn't be thought of anything other than some plates. The host was very nice, but didn't provide the promised service (phone and visiting the next day etc.) The pick up and drop off service was good. I want this review to be productive and I hope it helps the management improve on what happened with us as the location and idea is good, it's just the execution and maybe unfortunate circumstances that failed us.

The review was almost a 2/5 due to the disappointments combined with the price, but it scrapes a 3 because of the balcony and bed/lounge area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronen G, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed during your time here. I can only apologise for the phone not working, it is a service that we offer that has been well received by many of our guests. Unfortunately the problem was that the phone company had blocked the credit, something we are aware of now and will not be any problem for our future customers. I did come and visit the following days, but at these times you weren't at there, again all I can do about this situation is apologise.
The studio apartment is 51 sq meters, with flat screen TV and amazing views. Our villas have private swimming pools, which is stated on our website.
In regards to the kitchen, for most guests that stay here it is more than adequate and relative to the price and what you get with the whole apartment. We provide plates, bowls, cutlery, glasses, mugs, a saucepan, a frying pan and other utensils (eg.spatula), a kettle, tea and coffee. I would like to mention, that for a similar price in Koh Tao you are unlikely to find accommodation 51 sq meters, the decor, the view, with a kitchen, fridge and appliances that we do provide. There is a photo of the studio on our website also showing the kitchen area so you can see its size.
I'm glad you enjoyed the views from the apartment and the decor, this is something we pride ourselves on. We have taken on board your comments, and have resolved issues with the phone so this shouldn't be a problem in the future.

I hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip.
The Koh Tao Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Now, the view from the balcony is just splendid and the apartment itself also impressed, it felt new and was very spacious and comfortable. Quite luxurious living indeed.

As for the hike up, we didn't mind much, it only takes 7-8 minutes walking down to Sairee beach/village and not many more to go back up - reasonably fit persons should cope. Or hire a motorbike if you dare.

We were met at the ferry as promised and directly vanned to the apartment but felt that the owner's representative was a bit short on explanations about the accomodation, and recommendations for the island - his main goal seemed to be to collect the cash and head on. A file with all the information a visitor may need would be appreciated. Also, everyone staying there needs a strong flashlight, why not have one in the apartment instead of making all guests buy their own?

A slight nuisance was the frequent power cuts - two nights out of three we had no electricity from 6-11 PM.

Wifi was slow and you had to position yourself in or very near the kitchen, otherwise it hardly worked at all.

A few times we ordered dinner/breakfast to be delivered which can be recommended. Cheap, great-tasting food came promptly and, as said, the view from the balcony is really something special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you were pleased with the standard of the apartment. This is something we do pride ourselves on.
We have now made some changes to the apartments to make the service better. We have installed mobile phones into every apartment so you can call restaurants for delivery, taxis, our staff should you have any queries and it also has a light to aid you when you walk at night.
We have also made a welcome pack full of information about Koh Tao, recommended restaurants, activities and services available on the island and a travel service where we can bring any tickets to your door.
The power was a big problem across the island in August. Apologies for any inconvenience. This month the power has been much better.

Glad you were pleased with the apartment and the view. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My and my girlfriend spent 4 nights in the Studio apartment on the last week. The apartment is really great, clean and with an incredible view on Sairee beach. The service is great too (free pick up from/to the pier and room service everyday). Despite of this a big issue was we didn't have the electricity for 2 days on the 4 ones we stayed from 18-21h. The owner told us that was a problem of the whole island and to be honest it seems true but considering that -reading other TA reviews- this kind of problem was already been highlighted, I think he should do something in order to solve this, maybe installing some power units. (the bungalows of the same road have electricity...). Another thing to be highlighted is that the last 50metres of the road are really steep so that if you are in 2 on the motorbike you could slip: is better that one does this last metres by walking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trioev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
August was a terrible month for power across the island, and I am very sorry that it affected your trip. This month has seen a great improvement with the power, and we are looking into ways we can avoid this problem in the future.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the apartment and especially the fantastic view. We are very proud of the standard of the rooms we have. We have now upgraded the services offered for the apartments.
Hopefully we will see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked the Doro villa for 2 days and it was amazing.
The view is perfect, the swimming pool is big and the service is great (free pickup and free dropoff at the Pier, daily cleaning).
The living room has a nice TV, an entertainment system, audio speakers for your MP3 player, and everything else you need.

It is easy to get to (scooter) and its close to the Siarree village.
And even though it is close to the village, it is very quiet and peacefull around the villa.

Its really worth the money and I dont think you will get any better for the same price in Koh Tao.
Once you get here, you will never want to leave the villa.
Rate 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlinder25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our villa.
We now offer more services for our villas, for example, we can offer private massages whilst enjoying the beautiful view.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
489 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments

Property: Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments
Address: 49 / 8 Moo 1 Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Heights is located on a hillside in the center of Sairee surrounded by a lush tropical jungle, coconut trees and overlooking the crystal-blue waters of the Gulf. Relax and enjoy the gorgeous panoramic view of Sairee bay and Koh Nang Yuan Island – only 10 minutes walk from the center Sairee beach. Koh Tao Heights offers a new standard of accommodation on this magnificent island. All of our Koh Tao apartments and villas feature a stylish combination of traditional Thai design, modern elegance and eco living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing