We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for peace, views, and lack of crowds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao Bamboo Huts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Ranked #32 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place for peace, views, and lack of crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just spent a week at the Koh Tao Bamboo Huts and absolutely loved it. Situated just out of the main town (a 10 minute walk from reception along the beach and jungle), this property located next to (and now owned by) Charm Churree Villa. The huts are all very private and located at or just above the water and built onto the rocks. We stayed in BB6 which was on the water with nothing impeding our view. It was a bit difficult to access the water unless it was high tide as you have to pull yourself out with a rope, or swim around to the private resort beach (which is sheltered, clear as gin and like swimming in an aquarium!). Some of the other huts had easier access or no access - but you can't complain about any of them. Each hut has its own shaded porch as well as a full sun deck (or awesome flat rock as BB5 does) and it was easy to just hide away from civilization for a week. Rooms are well appointed with a comfortable bed, AC and the most incredible outdoor bathroom - this is the place of childhood desert island tree hut dreams but much better! Starlight restaurant was amazing with an outdoor eating area that was simply magical and with such amazing food that we didn't even bother to go to town to eat anywhere else. My favorite dish had to be the Charm Churree Spicy Seafood Salad (which they made "little spicy" for me). Breakfast at Chaba - just above Starlight was probably the best breakfast buffet we have had in Thailand - lots of fresh fruit options, an omelette station, cooked dishes, and pastries. The coffee wasn't the greatest but much better than instant! As others have noted - there are LOTS of stairs and hills which would make it difficult for anyone who had mobility issues - but we enjoyed the short workout getting to breakfast, dinner or town. The staff are super friendly, always extremely helpful and wanted to do anything they could to make our stay the best it could be. We would absolutely go back in a heartbeat and probably will.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with easy sea access if its available and you'd prefer or want the option to snor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwigalatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    10
    7
    12
See reviews for
15
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just spent two weeks on Koh Tao. Week one at a scuba resort, week two at the huts (with pool). It was simply fantastic.
Room was simply fantastic with way more room than we had thought in BB3 unit. Walk in closed, seating niche, comfy bed and large covered outdoor restroom. Private pool over the water was such a worth while upgrade especially after a week of shared chaos at other resort. We would definitely stay here again!
The hike into town is indeed hilly and about 20 mins but with eating and drinking more than normal, we found it good balance with other activities to work it off.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the water with great expansive views. We opted for pool and feel it was good f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB76Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've been this place after got recommend from some friend. Never expect anything from the place that I didn't chose by myself, but came out all are over expectation, room, room decor, nature around the resort, food, service, activities.,etc. Unfortunately I had stayed there only one night but that's enough for me to know what the heaven is.
Love that the hotel can keep perfect balance between nature and luxury.
Love watching sunset at the island and at the night I can watch the stars from my room. That was amazing moment. Wish I could be there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juzmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed over Christmas and it was wonderful. The Hotel does not have a lot to offer as far as night life goes, but it is close to town. If you do go here, make sure you are fit. There are hills and steps everywhere. No High Heels here. Strickly sneakers. Watch the creatures in the bathroom, since it is open air. Recommend not to leave anything in there.

Room Tip: Any room is good. they all have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eng67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Traveling to other parts of Thailand, after having visited 25 years ago, I was impressed by how 'done' Samui was and how I can imagine Phuket, Phi Phi, and Pattaya must be now. Ko Tao, and specifically this hotel are still quite innocent and unspoilt. The hotel, despite its proximity to the ferry pier, is not easy to find and the taxi drivers and townspeople did not know the name. We booked at the last minute so the hotel had not seen our reservation or we would have been driven to the hotel. As it was we rented a scooter and eventually found our way to a marvelous place. The rooms further away from reception, the Koh Tao Bamboo Huts, are better and newer than the ones at the Charm Churee Resort, which is the 'parent', the reception and original part of the hotel. While it is a hike to get to them, it is worth it as you have peace and isolation once you get there. We quite liked the 'hike' as it is a pretty walk to arrive at the bungalow. It is up and down hills but there is help getting your bags there and help from a golf cart if you need it. Having said this, on our check out our bell boy inexplicable left us with our bags (only light ones) half way to the reception and indicated we were onour own! The private beach is too small for the number of rooms that are at the hotel now and a bit more work on making it more pristine on a daily basis would not go amiss but another 10 minutes walk to the west brings you to the most sublime beach you can imagine and it is as good as being private. There are no beach chairs or service, but it is quite perfect. Diving is good at the dedicated center and the restaurant is a lovely experience of sitting on cushions on the floor in a outdoor room on the rocks over the sea. Stick with the Thai dishes. To sum up, any complaints are minor, and do not detract from a sublime setting, lovely rooms and service that is at times naive but befitting a place that is still unspoilt.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow with access to the sea or sunning rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfinpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here are the end of Dec, and this was our favorite place we stayed in our trip to Thailand. Our hut was right overlooking the water, where you just lie on the bed and look out to the Gulf of Thailand. Outdoor bathrooms, very ecofriendly... about a 7 minute walk to the breakfast buffet, but to me that was part of the charm. One morning we were walking on the path, and just ahead of us we see a 3 foot iguana crossing! The breakfast was amazing, with both Thai and western style options... and a view overlooking the water as well. The eggs were a bright orange color... so definitely organic which goes with the lodging theme.

Janson Bay is the small beach area where you can swim, and they offer you snorkeling masks as well free of charge. The Bay is on a reef where we saw many bright, wonderful fish... including a puffer. Elvis Bar right there too, so any food or drink you need is brought right to your beach chair.

At night the Starlight restaurant on the property was the best food we had on the island, again, overlooking the water. It really is perfection. Go with the Thai menu. If you go to Thailand to eat pasta, then you are really doing something wrong. It's on the menu... but who does that?!

Like I said, the property is a bit spread out, so be prepared to walk a bit. The town is walking distance as well, where you can get Thai massages for 300 baht ($10 US dollar) for an hour long massage. Well worth many times that anywhere else.

Staff was friendly and helpful... and made our stay everything we could have hoped for. If you are looking for a typical fancy resort where you get your standard boring amenities and everything at the tip of your finger... this is not it. If you are looking for a rustic but gorgeous natural environment where you don't mind doing some walking/exploring... then look no further.

Room Tip: We had room B17. Some of the rooms are not on the water, but we paid a little extra to make sure we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylegakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Best place I've ever stayed in, already dreaming about going back one day. The pictures somehow don't do justice to this place. Our room was much larger than expected, had its own deck with sunbeds (totally worth paying extra for the upgrade) and had all the amenities you need, while still being very rustic. It's the perfect combination of luxury and nature. Yes, the walk to the breakfast restaurant is about 10minutes, but we loved the adventurous path through the jungle (plus a little extra exercise on vacation never hurts). The walk to town (about 20-25min) is also very picturesque and worth taking, even though taxis are accessible from the reception. The beach (Jansombay) has the perfectly clear water and was never too crowded, even though we visited in high season. The water is very clear and having the reef right there makes great snorkeling without taking any extra trips. The dinner at the Starlight restaurant was one of the best meals we've had in Thailand (go for thai signature dishes, skip western). It's super romantic, right on the water. The breakfast was pretty amazing and had variety of thai and western dishes, with delicious fresh eggs made to order. We were surprised by the service and amenities of this level from a 3 1/2 star hotel. We stayed in a 5 star resort later on our trip and all I could think about was how much I missed the Bamboo Huts :) It's truly one of a kind place that deserves only raving reviews!

Room Tip: BB17 has most privacy, if you don't mind the longer walk (it's one before last hut, on the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycgirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#10 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Bamboo Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Bamboo Huts

Property: Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Address: 30/2 Jax Trek, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Bamboo Huts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A low-impact, eco-friendly, natural-oriented resort right on the cliff. All rooms are sunset unobstructed seaview. Some of the rooms come with private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Koh Tao Bamboo Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing