We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliff side Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Ranked #35 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Wow!
Firstly I was nervous about this choice of accommodation before arrival due to the mixed reviews. But this "experience" has exceeded all expectations. You could not get a better location with views like these. The water is so pristine and clear you can see the fish from your balcony. The sunsets are just gorgeous! The staff are friendly and attentive. We decided to treat ourselves to a hut with a pool, SO worth it. Jansom Bay is a perfect snorkeling, sun baking spot ( with yummy cocktails).
The only negative things that are worth mentioning are there is only one dinner restaurant ( so choice is a little limited).
Also you must be up for a little adventure there are LOTS of stairs/steps to get any where, and the drive to get here is 4wd so was a little nerve racking!
Would absolutely recommend for any one wanting something a little different to your everyday resort, you won't regret it!! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiinauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 143 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

- This hotel has MANY stairs and steep hill walks and is not walking distance to town.
- To get to and from your bungalow and town is a mission. First get a taxi to reception of hotel, order 'hotel taxi' to get FROM RECEPTION TO BUNGALOW CARPARK, then walk down stairs/hills to bungalow. Note there is only one 'hotel taxi' for all guests so you may have to wait to get to and from your room to the reception.
- After eating at the only night restaurant at the hotel you must walk a VERY steep hill to get to reception, then order taxi back to room, not the best idea after eating a full meal..
- There was no 'outdoor shower/bathroom' as advertised and no water access from the bungalow, you must walk to the beach area.
- There is a mosquito net over the bed for a reason... there are spiders etc that get into the bungalow, i would recommended folding bath mats under cracks or doors to prevent more bugs etc.
- The place isn't well signed and can be easy to get lost with all the walking tracks.
- It took over an hour for a bottle of wine to be delivered to our bungalow...
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone with knee/mobility problems, children, anyone wanting to be close to town, anyone afraid of bugs, or people who don't like to wait around just to get back to their room from reception.
- If you REALLY want to stay here, avoid bungalows 12-15 as they are very far from anything.

Room Tip: Avoid bungalows 12-15, we met another couple who got a bungalow with a private pool and they loved t...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jayde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited the Bamboo Huts for 3 nights in Jan 2013 with our 6 year old daughter. We piled in the same room which was a little cosy (though you can get bigger huts than BB4) but we hardly spent any time in there as we were too busy eating, swimming, snorkelling, kayaking & sunbathing. The resort is part of Charm Churee Village and the resorts share a private beach, Jansom Bay which is stunning. Great beachside bar/restaurant with good service. Food was pretty good with the buffet breakfast of a good standard and evening meals at the Starlight Restaurant great fun. Wonderful sunsets, very good service and a nice choice of Thai meals. Couple of tips:
- If you don't like walking or have mobility issues, Bamboo Huts may not suit you
- Scared of animals or wildlife? You may struggle here, as there are geckos, water monitors, crabs, fish, lizards, bugs etc around - we really enjoyed spotting all the different animals, great fun!
- bathroom is semi outdoor, we loved it however others may not
- very suitable for children, but personally I feel not for the under 3's
- there isn't a resort pool but you can get a hut with a private pool

All in all we had a great stay, beautiful place, wonderful staff and something a little different.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We travelled as a family of 3 with our daughter being 6. We found this resort to be totally beautiful. The sunset views are totally amazing and have to be experienced. The huts are built on the water and are quite basic but we thought a lot of fun as they are unique. We were not wanting for anything more.
There are reviews stating that there are a lot of steps which is true but we found this not to be a problem for us as the walk is also beautiful and good exercise (which was needed).
The staff were totally dedicated and lovely to our daughter especially Mia! Thanks to all staff as everybody was always polite and helpful.
Highly recommend a paddle in the canoe as you will see some amazing fish from the water and a different view of the resort etc.
They also provide a pick up and drop off service to the ferry which is handy.
This resort would not be for everybody however those seeking a little adventure with perfect scenery coupled with some exercise, well this is your spot.
Accommodation and all food and drinks are reasonably priced and we did not experience any issues at all when checking in or out.

Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to try out both BB5 [with it's own private sunbathing rock] and BB7 with panoramic views of the ocean.

The opportunity to walk straight down into the sea from your Hut [BB5] is an unforgettable novelty. BB7 misses out on this count but wins on the extra privacy gained by it's elevated position on the extreme end of the chain of huts. BB7 also has the feeling of being larger - the verandah/covered balcony is certainly more extensive and the bathroom more luxurious. The ouside showers found in all huts [both hot AND cold water in BB7, plus a choice of two showerheads] are quite liberating once you get over the thoughts of any observers out at sea. Being further from the water in BB7 meant less wave noise too. However, the rock and sea access from BB5 get my husband's vote.

Both huts had immaculate bedding and the towels were pristine and new. The silk curtains were lined and kept out both heat and light. We used the mosqito netting at night and avoided bites - but bring DEET based repallent when out and about - I got 21 bites on ONE LEG when I used a 'tropical formula' aromatherapy based gel rather than the DEET spray.

Other reviewers have commented on the accessibility and distance from the centre of the resort; to us this was a bonus - meaning that we had total quiet at night. We are both quite fit and liked the opportunity for a bit of exercise. We walked to the far end of Sairee and back without really thinking about it. Hearing about how boisterous this Sairee strip can be in high season made us think that the Bamboo Huts occupy an idyllic location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mini_mum_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in total (2 at Charm Churee Sunset Cottage and unfortunatly just one night in the Bamboo Huts with a private pool BB3). What more can I say but 'stunning'. It was the most spectacular view from the room/pool and is set high on the hill with a really lovely entrance down a steep pathway surrounded by beautiful vegetation. The room was a good 5-10 minutes walk away from the rest of the resort (bar & restaurant) but I really liked this about it. I loved the winding paths trailing up and down through the trees and although sometimes steep had spectacular views and were perfectly crafted and showed amazing workmanship. Our room was positioned half way between both of the beautful beaches and again was a lovely walk. It was terrific exercise after their wonderful meals provided at both the bar area and restaurant. We absolutely loved this place and will be back.

Room Tip: BB3 with a private pool is very much worth the extra expence.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Frist of all, the reservation have replid my email and answer my
many qusetions any request quickly, infromative, helpful.

Once drop off the ferry, someone waited for us and sent us to hotel by 4WD.
When i arrived hotel i was friendly welcome by the reception with the
welcome drink and like the cool towel. My room was been up grade with
the bigger pool and face a amazing seaviews .

The room was big, nice, clean, with free wifi connection which is very
helpful, the breakfast at the Starlight is very high quality.

Even when we check out the driver and bell man were helpful to arrange
our cases and send us to the pier.

We only staying for 3 night, i can't remember the name for all staff but everyone was very kind and helpful with super service!!!

Especially, Anty (receptionist) is very helpful and nice, she help on
everything if needed. Also her smile is really sweet.

Room Tip: Must remember to bring and use sunscreen
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wai Shun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#16 of 142 in Koh Tao
729 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Bamboo Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Bamboo Huts

Address: 30/2 Jax Trek, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $137 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Bamboo Huts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A low-impact, eco-friendly, natural-oriented resort right on the cliff. All rooms are sunset unobstructed seaview. Some of the rooms come with private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Bamboo Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing