We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in a secluded paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas in a secluded paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent a fantastic Christmas at Woodlawn Villas this year at Michelle and Luke's island paradise! This was our first trip to Koh Tao and we had heard lots of positive feedback about the island itself. We were absolutely delighted with our choice of Woodlawn for so many reasons; whilst the coastal resorts of Sairee look lovely you are in the heart of the dive schools and beach bars, at Woodlawn you are in a tropical, serene paradise! My husband and I travel extensively (this was our 11th trip of 2013) and enjoy our little luxuries in life, if this is your thing too then Woodlawn Villas will not disappoint.

We stayed in a spacious garden suite with a large bedroom, really sizeable kitchen, diner and lounge,along with an en suite. The facilities in the suites are tremendous, including a tv with multi-language channels, a fridge and an oven! With the supermarket at the end of the driveway it was very easy to stock up on essentials along with cold drinks and whatever takes your fancy! Aside from the villa and amenities, Michelle and Luke's little touches made the stay so special. The mobile phone with pre-programmed numbers is a genius idea and not only does it allow for you to contact the owners directly, you can order food delivery right to your doorstep - I kid you not!! This was perfect for a smoked salmon bagel breakfast delivery over the Christmas period. Not very Thai, but certainly very welcome!

The grounds of Woodlawn are spectacular, mature plants and trees, which are not only beautiful they also offer great shade and house incredible bird life. We cannot submit a review without mentioning the fabulous salt water swimming pool. Just lovely for a refreshing dip or to relax and read a book with nothing more than the sounds of the birds and palm trees swaying in the breeze.

In terms of Koh Tao itself, the "turtle" Island offers everything you could desire from a holiday. Beautiful scenery, beaches, diving, bars, a great selection of restaurants (incredibly well priced!) and full body massages for £6 an hour! Without Michelle and Luke's advice and top tips, we definitely would not have been exposed to such a rich selection on all counts and have enjoyed ourselves so much!

Michelle and Luke - thank you both so very much! We wish you continued success with Woodlawn villas and will be back for much longer next time! Bob and Marge

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobandMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    71
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
61
255
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
L.A
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have just spent 6 nights in the Twilight Villa with 4 friends. We had wonderful time on Koh Tao. It's a beautiful island with plenty to do and see. The villa was perfect for our needs (2 couples and a single). We had the pool and gardens pretty much to ourselves for the entire stay although apparently Woodlawn were fully booked in the other suites so it really feels very private. The location is perfect - especially over the NYE period when the island went a bit mental and was in peak season. It's a short 3 minute walk down private road to supermarket, scooter hire, massage places and a few good restaurants. We hired scooters for 4 days which is a must if you want to get to most other parts of the island as it's very steep in areas and too hot for walking. It's only 5 minutes by scooter to Sairee Beach which has plenty going on and some good spots to eat. I would much rather have stayed at Woodlawn than beachside as it was lovely to head back to the villa after a day of beaching/sun and have a final swim in the gorgeous pool surrounded by lush gardens before heading out for drinks/dinner.

Luck and Michelle were great hosts providing great insider/local knowledge on what to do/where to eat etc...they were attentive but never encroached on the holiday. The villa was well equipped for all you need on a holiday and each room had a separate ensuite.

Thoroughly recommend to anyone. Thanks for having us Luke and Michelle!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Most of the detail has been said, but this is a lovely place to stay an easy walk from the beach. The hosts were very thoughtful and the villa was exactly what we needed for 4 nights. Having a small kitchen and an amazingly stocked shop at the end of the drive was brilliant - it's amazing how appealing Museli and yoghurt is after a couple of weeks of hotel breakfasts! We took Luke and Michelle's advice on diving and food and didn't go wrong. Would genuinely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath_Sewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights at Woodlawn Villas!! Great stay and lovely staff and owners!! The property was very nice and comfortable and the villa... Wauw!! When I forgot my passport, Luke acted great... The next morning my passport was in my new hotel. Would definitely go back again. Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Henk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights in mid November at Woodlawn Villas in a garden suite. We had travelled by overnight train from Bangkok to Chumporn, missing our boat connection as the train was two and a half hours late. Despite monsoon conditions and a very rough crossing we finally arrived late afternoon at Woodlawn Villas. Luke was there to meet and greet and as has been mentioned, run through his welcome briefing.

The suite was well equipped and comfortable and included much needed water and umbrellas, mobile phone, torches and resident gecko. Luke and Michelle were very helpful with advice on beaches, walks and restaurants and the location was perfect, being close to all amenities but still quiet and secluded.

Recommendations would be to eat at the Taktu restaurant , about 5 minutes walk from Woodlawn and Freedom beach for snorkelling (we saw a turtle) as it is sheltered from the north east monsoon.

We would certainly recommend Woodlawn Villas as the place to stay in Chalok, Koh Tao.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furryJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Luke and Michelle are the lovely owners of this small boutique hotel and are native English speakers. They have put extreme attention into the details of their accommodations and have put together an experience that is ideal for "first timers" to thailand. There are only a few rooms though so book in advance.

After a grueling journey involving a late train and missed ferry we were relieved to arrive at Woodlawn. The rooms are set back from the main road along a pretty rough dirt road, but a lot of places in Thailand are like that and honestly it helps keep the area quiet with less traffic. We were given a very thorough orientation by Luke, who gave us a tour of our rooms and explained the best places to eat, easiest beaches to go to, and how to use the cell phone and flashlights provided with the room. He also explained about some of the more unique cultural aspects to Thailand aka how to properly use the plumbing etc... This kind of orientation is what makes this place great for first-timers to Thailand. I want to pause for a second just to say... how awesome is that - you get a cell phone to call if you have a problem or to call for food delivery! Brilliant.

We stayed in the McMansion of Thailand and got the biggest room they had - a villa right next to the salt-water pool. It was a total splurge for us after staying weeks in very low-end B&Bs and well worth the money. There was a quiet AC, a mosquito net, and the TV even had a variety of English speaking stations including the National Geographic channel. The large villa has multiple rooms and a huge shared living room and kitchen. Each room has its own beautiful bathroom. The kitchen is equipped with all sorts of appliances for making your own meals. I think this would be a great way for a family with picky eaters to travel in particular since you can make stuff for the kids before heading out on your adventures.

It was a tragedy that we had to leave Woodlawn. The owners would have gladly extended our stay, but to stretch our travel budget to its max we had to return to cheaper spots after only 2 or 3 days at our Woodlawn Mansion. I was so glad we at least got to stay with Luke and Michelle for a little while because they introduced us to the best bar and restaurant while visited while in Koh Tao! I would stay here again in a heart beat, especially if I was traveling with folks who had never been to Thailand before and I wanted to show them the very best the Island had to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 699kathrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed a 4 night stay in a garden villa. We were warmly welcomed by Luke who gave great info on where to go for food/drinks/snorkelling etc. it is on the quiet side of the island so you will be restricted if you don't want to hire a moped, which is very easy and would recommend star bike (the first shop as you come out of the villas little driveway turn left go up road toward Mae head and its a little shop on your left). If you have a moped then the location is no problem at all, 10 mins to sairee village which is a cool little party spot. The villa itself has everything you could need. We loved having the kitchen and stocked up at nearby supermarket for breakfast foods. Would definitely recommend if you aren't set on staying very central. Great value and great pool.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseasandadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing