We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$40
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Expedia.com
$41
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$34
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Easy and fast booking
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveler rating
409
92
35
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
409
92
35
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con relaxing stay quiet location lovely pool standard room sairee beach scooter villa island tao thailand diving pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 559 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights but wished we had stayed longer. On arrival we were greeted by Luke and given a handy information pack which detailed all we could possibly need to know for our stay. Our garden suite was lovely and ready for when we arrived earlier than expected at 10am, it was huge and was fully equipped with all you would need for self catering. There was a seperate lounge/kitchen area which was great to chill out in and write the postcards! The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was clean with a good shower. We rented a bike from down the road and this proved valuable as taxis are not cheap around the island, it cost us 200 baht for 24 hours and it only needed 50 baht worth of petrol to see us through.
The service here was fantastic, they answered all the questions we had and the staff around the resort were always very polite. Luke and Michelle have lived here for years and their passion for the island is shown through their dedication to the business.
The swimming pool on site was lovely, towels were provided and there were sun loungers around the pool to use. On our last day we checked out at 10am but Luke and Michelle kindly let us use the pool until our taxi to the pier arrived at 12.30pm.
Woodlawn is easily accessible from the main road up a short private track, it takes about 5-10 minutes to get to Sairee which is full of restaurants, bars and shops. It was nice to stay a little off the beaten track as it felt like we were really secluded but in actual fact we were only a short way from all the amenities we needed.
Thanks Luke and Michelle for a great stay, we hope to return in the not too distant future!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandEllie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and i recently stayed at woodlawn villas. we were greated by the owners upon arrival and given an info book to read which was very helpful and informative. They also give you a mobile phone to use whilst there which i think is both a generous and very good idea. The room was fine, clean and every effort is made to ensure you have the information you need to enjoy yourself. There are menus from local restaurants in room so you can have home delivery if you wish. clearly the owners have gone through a lot of trouble and thought to make every guest feel at home. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend their hotel to others. However, i have one minor complaint about the taxi driver used by the resort. Upon arrival into koh tao the driver was standing with a sign and he was easy to find, which was great but then he walked off very quickly leaving my husband to struggle with 2 heavy suitcases. He was aware we were struggling with our bags but chose to ignore this. Once we got to his car he stood their whistling while we again struggled to load the bags. Dont get me wrong i do not expect him to have taken both bags but a bit of assistance would have been nice. When we left koh tao he again drove us to the ferry and again let us struggle with the bags and then tried to get an extra 100 bht from us as he didnt have exact change. Ordinarily we wouldnt hav minded leaving him the extra money but as he had been in our opinion, really quite rude my husband had to walk to a shop down the road to get change to pay him. This didnt in any way ruin our stay or reflect badly on the people at woodlawn but its usually polite to offer to help people that are struggling especially if you are paying them!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our 3 day stay in Woodlawns was fantastic&comfortable for all the reasons below:

-Dedicated owners who live onsight and provide you with the following :
1.Taxi from the port that only costs 100TBH each. (E4.89 /£4.16/ $6.42)
2. A Greet and meet by owner himself who provides you with information,booklets / handouts and a mobile phone . The mobile phone has the number of reception and restaurants to call if you want breakfast or dinner delivered etc.
3.Information about local activities - the snorkelling with Roland ( a local man from Germany) was great! He brings you on a longtail boat around the east coast of the island which is the nicest part of the island and the most untouched which us great for coral reefs. Its beautiful!!!
Be sure to wear a very High factor sunscreen in the water and be sure you are able to jump in and out of a boat.( no ladder) and it can be a bit difficult.
4. Was told about the cleaning of the villa etc.
5. Info on where to go to rent scooters and warning about it too. He tells you to take photos of the bike and try it out before you rent it.

Luke was really friendly and genuine and could have stood there all day answering our questions. He's really into the island and sincerely wants you to enjoy your stay. Your told to contact them on the mobile at any time and they'll try to accommodate you as best they can.

Others reasons:
-Relaxing - We stayed in the Garden Suite which is bigger than the Garden Villa .
-Very picturesque - you feel amongst the jungle so it's different to being right on the beach, which is great for a change. We didn't get bitten by Mosquitos once here.
-Quiet location - which was brilliant after our stay in Bangkok&Koh Samui.
-A feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle for some breathing space.
-very romantic at nighttime
-Simple interior but extremely charming
-Clean and well maintained
-Lovely staff

I did alot of research before our trip to Thailand. I found woodlawn on Tripadvisor and was immediately impressed. I was deciding where to stay and made an inquiry. A few hours later I got a helpful detailed email from Michelle. It really helped me decide how to plan my trip because it gives you brilliant insight into the location , type of accommodation it is etc. Dhe outs alot of work into it and will always get back to you.

The owners Michelle and Luke do not try to sell this resort for something it is not. They don't call it luxury and don't send an email with "over the top" language to try sell it to you.
They are straight up owners of a very well maintained and much loved resort. They have also lived on Koh Tao island for years and can give you great tips on the surrounding local areas as well as plenty of things to do around the island!

About the location & villa itself ;

It's located south of the island which is quieter than Sairee beach and so pretty! Lovely restaurants and beaches nearby .5 mins in scooter! Yin&yan is a fab Thai & western Resturant that's a must try! Thai food is obviously nicer and so so tasty! Even if you are picky, try it and if you don't like spice, just say!

Go to freedom beach! It's so so beautiful! Like paradise on a postcard!! Only 15 mins in scooter and all u do is follow your map and pack your beach bag for the day! Its beside Chalok bay alongside Taa Toh bay. Chalok bay is the 2nd most popular beach.
Go to Babaloo Bar! Shipwreck , beanbags, hammocks , great atmosphere!

We are young and considerably fit and my boyfriend had no bother renting and being on a scooter . You do need one in my opinion, especially in the heat. If you didn't want to get one though u can walk. It's a dirt track to main road but a straight easy to follow road at that. We just found the scooter really handy to get around. If you are looking to venture, have a good sense of direction and follow maps and love to take advice and get out and about then this is for you.
On the other hand if you just wanted to retreat to a villa and stay snuggled up with movies and takeaways then you can do this too! So it's great all round!

The air con is only in the bedroom but there's a fan in the living area and in 33-35 degree heat we found this perfect. Bed us really comfortable. Some bathroom toiletries would be a lovely little touch:) everything eles is perfect.

We'd come back again no problem and it comes highly recommended .

Thank you for our wonderful stay,

Eithne&Jason

Room tip: Garden suites are bigger than garden villas. But in saying this, the garden villas are facing the twilight villa, reception and pool area. Might be easier to get to.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eithnemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Cannot recommend this place enough. Arriving in Koh Tao felt a little overwhelming, but the owners of woodlawn villas soon made us feel completely relaxed and at home. The accommodation is clean, tidy and ever so comfortable and only a short walk to a beautiful beach. The welcome booklet provides you with all the information you could need and every whim is catered for. Woodlawn have got it perfected!

We couldn't have asked for more from our stay. Thank you Luke & Michelle for making our time in Koh Tao unforgettable!

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently stayed in 2 villas at Woodlawn Villas as two couples. We had booked the accommodation months in advance and were very much looking forward to our stay in Koh Tao.

We were greeted with a warm welcome from Luke who told us what was around the area, good restaurants, snorkelling places and all the good knowledge of someone who has lived on the island for a long time which was great.

We were however after being dropped off from the taxi told that we needed to pay him 100 baht per person for the service, even though there was no mention of this in emails and we were under the impression that as no cost was given this was a complimentary service - very unprofessional.

The villas themselves are very very basic. If you think that maybe cooking within the villas would be great and that's why your choosing to stay here then I would think again. One of the ovens was dirty with food left on the tray, the lack of kitchen utensils is shocking with bent knifes and not even a serrated knife available. The sofa is very uncomfortable and this goes for all the chairs available to sit on in the villa. The bed in our villa was broken as it creaked and groaned every time we moved. The toilet seats were broken in both villas and when this was mentioned the response was oh well we looked at it yesterday and it seemed fine, they did eventually come and look at it, tightened the cheap seat back up and by night time it was just as the same as before. As time went by they got worse and my parents was so bad that they had to sit on the porcelain in the end which is not acceptable.

The villas are set in a peaceful location where you feel like your in the wild and its great, we loved this. You could hear geckos and birds all the time and it was highlight of the villas. The swimming pool was nice and new however the temperature was a bit warm but understandably there is a lack of water on the island and as its so hot this makes it harder to control.

The location of the villas is ok. If you want to explore I would recommend hiring scooters, we used a company down the road who gave them to us for 150 baht a day. The beach is a bit of a walk and I would like to see people walk there in 10 minutes as stated as it took us at least 20 minutes. The better beaches for swimming are also not in this part of the island so if you don't have transport it would be a little tricky especially as taxis are really expensive here.

When we were due to check out we had a long day ahead of us as we had a train at 22:45pm that evening. We asked for a later check out and were told the books would have to be checked. We still hadn't heard from them so we text and asked to which their response was 'check out is at 10am' with no explanation or reasoning. I understand that places need to be cleaned and cleared for future guests but it seemed that this wasn't even the case. We were offered the option of laying by the pool and that they would hold our bags but as it was pouring down with rain this wasn't really an option - a little more understanding would of been appreciated or even if people were going to be checking in, that would of been fine too but they didn't mention this.

Overall I feel that Woodlawn Villas would be a great place to stay and great value for money if they made some improvements. Everything within the villas feels like its been done cheaply and you can see that this is the case when you get here. If Woodlawn Villas were to read the reviews and suggestions people posted on TripAdvisor instead of being very defensive and aggressive about them, and actually concentrated on the positive aspects people mention then this place has the potential to be a great accommodation option.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZaraAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews