We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$40
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Expedia.com
$41
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$34
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Easy and fast booking
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveler rating
409
92
35
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
409
92
35
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con relaxing stay quiet location lovely pool standard room sairee beach scooter villa island tao thailand diving pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 559 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our 3 day stay in Woodlawns was fantastic&comfortable for all the reasons below:

-Dedicated owners who live onsight and provide you with the following :
1.Taxi from the port that only costs 100TBH each. (E4.89 /£4.16/ $6.42)
2. A Greet and meet by owner himself who provides you with information,booklets / handouts and a mobile phone . The mobile phone has the number of reception and restaurants to call if you want breakfast or dinner delivered etc.
3.Information about local activities - the snorkelling with Roland ( a local man from Germany) was great! He brings you on a longtail boat around the east coast of the island which is the nicest part of the island and the most untouched which us great for coral reefs. Its beautiful!!!
Be sure to wear a very High factor sunscreen in the water and be sure you are able to jump in and out of a boat.( no ladder) and it can be a bit difficult.
4. Was told about the cleaning of the villa etc.
5. Info on where to go to rent scooters and warning about it too. He tells you to take photos of the bike and try it out before you rent it.

Luke was really friendly and genuine and could have stood there all day answering our questions. He's really into the island and sincerely wants you to enjoy your stay. Your told to contact them on the mobile at any time and they'll try to accommodate you as best they can.

Others reasons:
-Relaxing - We stayed in the Garden Suite which is bigger than the Garden Villa .
-Very picturesque - you feel amongst the jungle so it's different to being right on the beach, which is great for a change. We didn't get bitten by Mosquitos once here.
-Quiet location - which was brilliant after our stay in Bangkok&Koh Samui.
-A feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle for some breathing space.
-very romantic at nighttime
-Simple interior but extremely charming
-Clean and well maintained
-Lovely staff

I did alot of research before our trip to Thailand. I found woodlawn on Tripadvisor and was immediately impressed. I was deciding where to stay and made an inquiry. A few hours later I got a helpful detailed email from Michelle. It really helped me decide how to plan my trip because it gives you brilliant insight into the location , type of accommodation it is etc. Dhe outs alot of work into it and will always get back to you.

The owners Michelle and Luke do not try to sell this resort for something it is not. They don't call it luxury and don't send an email with "over the top" language to try sell it to you.
They are straight up owners of a very well maintained and much loved resort. They have also lived on Koh Tao island for years and can give you great tips on the surrounding local areas as well as plenty of things to do around the island!

About the location & villa itself ;

It's located south of the island which is quieter than Sairee beach and so pretty! Lovely restaurants and beaches nearby .5 mins in scooter! Yin&yan is a fab Thai & western Resturant that's a must try! Thai food is obviously nicer and so so tasty! Even if you are picky, try it and if you don't like spice, just say!

Go to freedom beach! It's so so beautiful! Like paradise on a postcard!! Only 15 mins in scooter and all u do is follow your map and pack your beach bag for the day! Its beside Chalok bay alongside Taa Toh bay. Chalok bay is the 2nd most popular beach.
Go to Babaloo Bar! Shipwreck , beanbags, hammocks , great atmosphere!

We are young and considerably fit and my boyfriend had no bother renting and being on a scooter . You do need one in my opinion, especially in the heat. If you didn't want to get one though u can walk. It's a dirt track to main road but a straight easy to follow road at that. We just found the scooter really handy to get around. If you are looking to venture, have a good sense of direction and follow maps and love to take advice and get out and about then this is for you.
On the other hand if you just wanted to retreat to a villa and stay snuggled up with movies and takeaways then you can do this too! So it's great all round!

The air con is only in the bedroom but there's a fan in the living area and in 33-35 degree heat we found this perfect. Bed us really comfortable. Some bathroom toiletries would be a lovely little touch:) everything eles is perfect.

We'd come back again no problem and it comes highly recommended .

Thank you for our wonderful stay,

Eithne&Jason

Room tip: Garden suites are bigger than garden villas. But in saying this, the garden villas are facing the twilight villa, reception and pool area. Might be easier to get to.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eithnemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Cannot recommend this place enough. Arriving in Koh Tao felt a little overwhelming, but the owners of woodlawn villas soon made us feel completely relaxed and at home. The accommodation is clean, tidy and ever so comfortable and only a short walk to a beautiful beach. The welcome booklet provides you with all the information you could need and every whim is catered for. Woodlawn have got it perfected!

We couldn't have asked for more from our stay. Thank you Luke & Michelle for making our time in Koh Tao unforgettable!

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently stayed in 2 villas at Woodlawn Villas as two couples. We had booked the accommodation months in advance and were very much looking forward to our stay in Koh Tao.

We were greeted with a warm welcome from Luke who told us what was around the area, good restaurants, snorkelling places and all the good knowledge of someone who has lived on the island for a long time which was great.

We were however after being dropped off from the taxi told that we needed to pay him 100 baht per person for the service, even though there was no mention of this in emails and we were under the impression that as no cost was given this was a complimentary service - very unprofessional.

The villas themselves are very very basic. If you think that maybe cooking within the villas would be great and that's why your choosing to stay here then I would think again. One of the ovens was dirty with food left on the tray, the lack of kitchen utensils is shocking with bent knifes and not even a serrated knife available. The sofa is very uncomfortable and this goes for all the chairs available to sit on in the villa. The bed in our villa was broken as it creaked and groaned every time we moved. The toilet seats were broken in both villas and when this was mentioned the response was oh well we looked at it yesterday and it seemed fine, they did eventually come and look at it, tightened the cheap seat back up and by night time it was just as the same as before. As time went by they got worse and my parents was so bad that they had to sit on the porcelain in the end which is not acceptable.

The villas are set in a peaceful location where you feel like your in the wild and its great, we loved this. You could hear geckos and birds all the time and it was highlight of the villas. The swimming pool was nice and new however the temperature was a bit warm but understandably there is a lack of water on the island and as its so hot this makes it harder to control.

The location of the villas is ok. If you want to explore I would recommend hiring scooters, we used a company down the road who gave them to us for 150 baht a day. The beach is a bit of a walk and I would like to see people walk there in 10 minutes as stated as it took us at least 20 minutes. The better beaches for swimming are also not in this part of the island so if you don't have transport it would be a little tricky especially as taxis are really expensive here.

When we were due to check out we had a long day ahead of us as we had a train at 22:45pm that evening. We asked for a later check out and were told the books would have to be checked. We still hadn't heard from them so we text and asked to which their response was 'check out is at 10am' with no explanation or reasoning. I understand that places need to be cleaned and cleared for future guests but it seemed that this wasn't even the case. We were offered the option of laying by the pool and that they would hold our bags but as it was pouring down with rain this wasn't really an option - a little more understanding would of been appreciated or even if people were going to be checking in, that would of been fine too but they didn't mention this.

Overall I feel that Woodlawn Villas would be a great place to stay and great value for money if they made some improvements. Everything within the villas feels like its been done cheaply and you can see that this is the case when you get here. If Woodlawn Villas were to read the reviews and suggestions people posted on TripAdvisor instead of being very defensive and aggressive about them, and actually concentrated on the positive aspects people mention then this place has the potential to be a great accommodation option.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZaraAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at Woodlawn Villas for 5 nights last week in Koh Tao. Wow! Luke greeted us upon check in and told us everything we needed to know. Fantastic service! Super friendly people. Accommodation is very nice... Quiet, secluded area away from the madness of the beaches. Great to be able to escape to a quiet place after exploring Koh Tao during the day. Pool is wonderful as well.

You will definitely enjoy your stay here! Plan on visiting again next year. Well worth it!!!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skootah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Twilight Villa for a week after originally booking for 2 nights. Luke and Michelle were incredibly accommodating, helpful and lovely to deal with, they even supplied a local mobile phone which was incredibly useful. Woodlawn Villas is a haven and definitely a highlight of the trip, the new pool is a gem and the Twilight villa itself is spacious, well designed and has everything you need to enjoy a little luxury in Koh Tao. When Luke puts the cinema and pool room in on the first floor I shall definitely be going back!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestTours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews