We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option for avoiding the crowds”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The two of us really enjoyed our stay in the Garden Villa at Woodlawn Villas. The bungalow had a small kitchen (even with an oven, tea kettle, and egg cups!), comfy loveseat couch, basic TV with a small library of DVDs, air-con bedroom, and pleasant bathroom with a shower.
We were impressed that the owners provided us with a cell phone already pre-programmed with phone numbers for restaurants, tour services, taxis, and the Woodlawn owners - the latter of which always picked up and were available when we needed help or advice. Also in the rooms were delivery menus for several (very good!) restaurants in Sairee Beach, flashlights, and a few maps of the area. The villa was well-thought out and complete in a way that made us feel at home very quickly.
The villas are located uphill from the main street in Chalok, a location we found to be great. The privacy of the whole property does come at the price of a short uphill walk on a private road, that some might find challenging - we were perfectly ok with that. The are of Chalok is a short drive away from the more touristy area of Mae Haad and Sairee Beach but still has several neat restaurants, cocktail bars, and shops. It took us about 10 minutes to walk from our villa in Chalok to the main Chalok beach (try out Taraporn restaurant on the water - their "Mexican nachos" and pasta dishes were fantastic - the restaurant recommendaton came from Woodlawn and they can show it to you on the map). We liked the walk and discovered a few neat eateries that way ("Fishy's Burger Island"!).
Bottom line: We loved our stay, felt welcomed by the owners and manager, and enjoyed taking advantage of all of the neat services that Woodlawn offered. If you are looking for a little privacy in a homey setting away from the "main drag" on Koh Tao, this place is for you.

Room Tip: For the last two nights of our stay we moved from the Garden Villa to the Twilight Villa. The Twilig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taputao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for you excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you all the best and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 468 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location was excellent for exploring the island. However, if you're the kind of traveler who likes to stay at the resort for most of the holiday, this is not the place for you. No restaurant on site, but plenty of places nearby. The villa is a bit isolated, but only a 10-15 minute walk to the southern beach, laundry and grocery store are only a few minutes away. The surroundings weren't as nice as we would have expected (dirt road, no flowers, etc), but it was still really peaceful and relaxing. At night we got to fall asleep to the sound of dozens of frogs and gekkos blaring like trombones, and even had a couple friendly gekkos hanging out in the bedroom :)

We had booked the Garden Villa for 4 nights, but ended up staying for 8 nights! There was plenty of room: kitchen/living room + separate bedroom + bathroom. We rented a scooter to get around the island. We're travelling in Southeast Asia for 2 months, so this was perfect for us. Free wifi was great! Manager was really nice and helpful and any problems were quickly dealt with. There were some minor annoyances, like the bathroom sink leaking and the A/C was pointing straight at the bed, so it was not too comfortable sleeping. All in all very good and worth the 1500THB we paid per night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pau677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your review.

I must say we are a little confused by it, you do seem to contradict yourself throughout it.

It is unfortunate you booked with Agoda instead of with us directly. When guests book with Agoda we are not provided with any contact details and it means you miss out on our informative email that we provide all guests before they arrive.

We are so pleased to hear you found our location excellent for exploring the island.

We are sad to hear you found our surroundings were not as you had expected but please bear in mind we are not a 5 star resort and have never claimed to be and at the price you paid you need to have realistic expectations.

We are normally complimented on how lovely our surroundings are with the abundance of butterflies, frangipanis, coconut trees, vines, birds of paradise, bougainvilleas, established trees & lawns etc so we are surprised you did not feel the same.

We can only think you are referring to the lawns looking somewhat parched and we can only apologise for this although it is some what out of our control.

As we explained at check in, Koh Tao is experiencing the worst drought we have had in 5 years it has lasted 6 months since May which is effecting the entire island not just Woodlawn Villas. You'll be pleased to know we did have a little rain since your departure which the lawns have highly appreciated, but we need much more :-)

In regards to the AC unit, it is a shame you did not speak to us about this during your 8 night stay as we could have easily shown you how to adjust the setting so that the air flow is re directed so it isn't directly blowing on to you.

When guests check in we do advise them to sleep at night with their windows and doors closed so gekkos although harmless, do not enter as they live in the surrounding area and eat small insects. Koh Tao is a densely tropical island, you will be presented with this scenario wherever you stay here.

However if you chose to sleep with your windows open they can come in. If this happens our staff will happily come and remove them. I would say you have exaggerated the volume of the noises coming from the natural surroundings however this was probably because you slept with your windows open.

We are glad you found the Garden Villa spacious and well appointed and the complimentary wifi was good during your stay.

We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels throughout SE Asia as I believe Woodlawn Villas was your first destination.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to stay in this area. Our villa was huge and perfectly clean. It really is big enough to make your home for a few days. Lots of dvds provided, very good aircon and a fully equipped kitchen. The only issue we had was that the water temp when we showered varied of its own accord but that's not a big thing. The complex itself was very quiet which was nice. Walking to shops/restaurants/bars takes about 10 mins and about 20 to beaches. We were give lots of tips by Luke when we arrived about where to go and why. Staff carried our bags on check in and out which is a nice touch. Staff and management are very friendly. The Chalok area is definitely a lot quieter than Sairee but if you want to kick back this isn't a bad thing. Woodlawn is definitely a good option if wanting to stay in this part of Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chivasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to accommodate you both during your holiday to Thailand.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities and services we provide and found our recommendations useful.

We have noted your comments in regards to the shower and it appears to be working perfectly. We are sorry you found this was not the case during your stay and can only imagine you did not set the tap correctly.

As is explained at check in to those unfamiliar with gas heated showers, they require you to turn the shower tap round to full heat and then ease off the heat from there to suit your required temperature.

We wish you all the best and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spent 4 nights in one of the simple villas (they have more advanced as well). Cozy and quite place not too far away from the beach (15 minutes walk). Good thing is that they provide you with menus of some restaurants and you can call to make an order. You are provided with local mobile phone which is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRomeGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for you excellent review.

It was great to meet you and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad you found the mobile phone we provide useful, it is great for ordering food to your accommodation from the various range of local restaurants :-)

We wish you all the best and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've just go back from Woodlawn Villas and I have to say how pleasantly surprised I was with it. A lotel of hotels/hostels/villas claim to be secluded and "off the beaten track" but never are. Woodlawn however lived up to that tagline and so much more. The rooms were big and very clean, I was given a helpful tour of Koh Tao by Luke and Michelle and they sorted my transfer too and from Koh Tao pier. I felt safe and secure at all times and would recommend Woodlawn Villas to anybody who is staying in Koh Tao to relax.

10/10 guys!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yeboah184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your holiday.

We do hope you visit us again in the future!

We wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

it was differenet expeirience at woodlawn's.
good location, very nice people, we got all the information we wanted from resturants to beaches and even a phone for back up, what is very nice to see is that everything is done with a smile.
the villa was big, clean and comfturble - very recomended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you both and a pleasure to accommodate you at Woodlawn Villas.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our recommendations beneficial.

We do hope you return again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Woodlawn Villas for four nights and enjoyed every minute. We were efficiently met by a driver at the pier and were warmly welcomed by Luke and Michelle upon arrival. Luke provided us with detailed info about Koh Tao including some excellent recommendations for restaurants and beaches which we tried out and loved. We could walk everywhere from the villa and felt at home in the bungalow. They provide you with plenty of DVDs, a guide book and a Thai mobile phone which is excellent for ordering taxi's and take aways! The bungalow had a kitchen and included and a nice warm shower. We loved Koh Tao and got to explore most of the west coast which is beautiful. We would definitely recommend staying here when visiting the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It was lovely to meet you both and an absolute pleasure to accommodate you during your holiday.

We are glad you found our local knowledge useful and enjoyed our recommendations.

We do hope you visit us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $29 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing