We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option to stay, but it is better for travelers without children.”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great option to stay, but it is better for travelers without children.”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I with my wife and 5-year old son stayed at Woodlawn villas in early August. Hosts, Luke and Michelle, is very nice guys. Luke gave us lots of useful tips about Koh Tao, some of which really have been very useful. We lived in Garden suite on the second floor quite big two storey villa whith a beautiful view on coconut grove and rock formations. Inside the house has a spacious fan living room with small kitchen and big fridge, A/C bedroom and large bathroom. All of them extremelly clean. Rooms cleaned every day, and every day staff placed 3 bottles of water in the fridge. Villa is situated in a quiet location just 10 minutes walk from the center of Chalok where lot of shops and food options and 15 minutes from the beach. Next to the villa there is a Aukotan supermarket, small fruit shop and laundry, which is very convenient. Luke gave us very good advice about the greate Tukta thai restaurant which is very close. Unfortunately, Chalok beach was not very suitable for swimming at this time of year, because the morning was low tide and the water shallow was not clear, so we went swimming to the Freedom beach, which is pretty far away, is about 20 minutes walk from Chalok in the heat over the mountain and narrow concrete bridges, but the beach is fantastic, empty and very shady. Also a 20-30 minute walk from the villa to the Hadtien beach (Shark bay), but it is better to go there early morning, as the road goes to the other side of the big hill mostly up. Go back is more easily, even afternoon, because the down the hill. Road to the beach pretty shady and starts right behind the Aukotan store. If you are traveling without children, I would suggest to rent a scooter, and then most destinations on the island will not be a problem, but I would not recommend to go to the northern parts of the island such Ao Luk, Ao Tanote and Mango bays, because the sandy dirty dangerous mountainous road. To visit this places, we took a 4 WD taxi which costs 400 baht and more one way. August was surprisingly dry month on Koh Tao, absolutely no mosquitos. The villa has an excellent location on the hillside, blown by the wind. I slept in the living room without air conditioning with the windows open and did not feel any discomfort. If I guess, Luke and Michelle began construction of a pool, which will be a great addition to the service. Also we seemed a little uncomfortable path directly to the villa, the concrete would have been better. But in any case, I can recommend the Woodlawn villas as a great place to stay on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed you holiday at Woodlawn Villas.

It was so lovely to meet you and thank you very much for the lovely gift you gave us, the russian dolls, they are wonderful!!

We will begin work on the resort pool in 2013 and it will be ready for guests to use from the 1st April 2013 onwards. Fortunately do to its location this will not disturb any guests during their stay.

We have noted your comments in regards to the path leading up to the Garden Suites and you will pleased to know that we are in the process of concreting that path.

We had already done so for the Garden Villas and the Twilight Villa.

We do hope you visit us again in the future, we wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    72
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
257
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had 4 lovely nights in this quiet resort, total relaxation! Upon arrival at Koh Tao harbour we were promptly greeted by a driver who efficiently got us away from the crowds to the quieter south of the islands in a transfer that takes no more than 10 minutes.

We were met by Luke who showed us the villa and gave us a huge amount of information about the location. Both Luke and Michelle answered our every need and suggested some cracking local restaurants!

The Villa itself was spotlessly clean, traditional in appearance and well appointed. We particularly liked the dvd collection and guest mobile phone. (very useful for ordering in fantastic cheap breakfasts)

We were using Koh Tao as a complete chill out before the hustle and bustle of Bangkok and returning to the UK. Woodlawn villa's was perfect for this. Excellent Beaches within a 10 minute stroll - We liked Freedom Beach and Chalok. We also took up the option to go snorkelling with Roeland. Highly recommended experience, especially if you can split the cost of the boat with other groups/coupes!

Restaurants much like several areas in Asia did stop serving food around 8.30pm so you do need to be heading out before then. We enjoyed the Pizza/Fish Restaurant (on Stilts) at far right end of Chalok Beach, We also had a superb Thai Meal, extremely good value just 5 minutes walk (right) from Woodlawn villas.

We would definitely recommend Woodlawn Villas and wouldn't think twice about going back should we return to Koh Tao. Thank you to Luke and Michelle for all your helpful advice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you both and an absolute pleasure to accommodate you during your holiday before heading back to the UK.

We are happy to hear that you found our local knowledge useful and the mobile phone too :-)

We are so pleased you found your stay with us relaxing and enjoyed the snorkelling trip with Roland.

The pictures you have posted are great, Chalok Bay and Freedom Beach are absolutely gorgeous!

We look forward to accommodating you both again in the future and wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet spot which is close enough to the action but not too close, this is the place to be.

I stayed for 7 nights in August 2012. I needed to decompress and this was the place to do it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 348Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.

It was a pleasure to accommodate you during your holiday and we are so happy that you found it a relaxing stay.

We do hope you will visit us again.

We wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Woodlawn especially thanks to Luke who was extremely helpful in organizing our trip around the island. We liked our suite a lot and felt like all the added value of staying there made it really worth it,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozfederico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas and the snorkelling trip with Roland.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

as a young (ish) couple travelling thailand we have spent a fair amount of time in the hussell and bussell of the towns so we wanted somewhere we could escape all that and have a touch of home to rest and relax. Woodlawns villas was just perfect. clean, tidy, peaceful and the staff and owners were outstanding. they were always on hand to assist us, providing us with local information and even a cell phone with local numbers. If you want to go and explore i wouls suggest getting a bike but you are in walking distance to the beach and the supermarket. I would 100% stay there again. thank you so much for a restful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you both and accommodate you during your holiday.

We are so pleased to hear you found your stay so peaceful and relaxing.

It is our pleasure to share our local knowledge with guests so they get the most out of their time on the island.

We would love to see you both here again in the future.

We wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights of our Honeymoon. It was perfect. When we made our initial enquiry about staying at Woodlawn Villas, we had a response from Emma within 24 hours. Her email, was really helpful and informative especially as we had not visted Koh Tao previously and had various questions about which boat services etc to use in order to make the trip to and also return from Koh Tao.

Communication between ourselves and Woodlawn Villas was 1st class, which really helped the overall experience. We couldn't wait to arrive on this beautiful tropical Island and relax.

When we arrived at Woodlawn Villas, we where made to feel extremely welcome and shown to the Garden Villa. The surrounding grounds are well maintained and as for the garden villa, it was everything we wanted.

The villa was spotless, and had everything we needed.

Woodlawn Villas is situated perfectly within a short distance to the most beautiful bays on Koh Tao that you will have ever seen anywhere!

We love Thailand, and are already planning our next trip. We plan to spend much longer on Koh Tao next time, and in particular stay at Woodlawn Villas.

If you are lucky enough to be visiting Koh Tao, make sure you pay Woodlawn Villas a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review!

It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you both during your honeymoon.

It is wonderful to know that you found our email correspondence so helpful prior to your arrival.

It would be lovely to accommodate you both again in the future, perhaps for your anniversary :-)

We do wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for 5 days at Woodlawn Villas in a "Garden Villa".

The Villa easily provided enough space for the two of us and was also very clean. We enjoyed having a kitchen, which made it possible for us to buy fruits from the market and cut them or cook small meals at "home" (yes it felt like it!). We also liked the personal touch of the Woodlawn Villas: when we moved in Luke, the owner of the place, explained us some things about Koh Tao and made several useful recommendations. He also provided us with a cell phone, which we were able to use to ask him for help, call the delivery service or book trips (very useful!). The TV and the DVD Library were also a great addition.

The location is not directly at the beach but close enough to two of them. A supermarket and an excellent Thai restaurant (Tukta Thai) are very close by as well.

All in all a very recommendable place to stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peteretep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review.

We are very happy to hear you appreciated our recommendations and the easy access to the local supermarket and restaurants.

It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you both during your holiday and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing