We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing and highly recommended”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing and highly recommended”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for 12 nights in April and would highly recommend it. We wanted somewhere special and relaxing to stay and definitely found it in Woodlawn Villas. The location was perfect for us - lovely and quiet, set in well kept grounds but walking distance to the shops, good restaurants and the beach.

We stayed in a Garden Villa and the rooms are really clean and comfortable and I slept better than I've done in years. The kitchen has everything you need (we cooked quite a bit). There's a lovely balcony which is perfect to sit on for breakfast. Usually if you stay somewhere a while you start to notice little things that need attention but this is really not the case here - well except the fact my partner felt the DVD selection was too girlie but that was fine by me :)

What makes Woodlawn Villas so special above all are the owners, Michelle and Luke. They gave us loads of advice on where to go to on the island, places to eat at, quiet beaches etc. Michelle was great from the moment we contacted her with the booking inquiry and set up transport to meet us etc which all worked well. Luke was great with all the food recommendations! There was no question they couldn't answer. They were lovely to chat to but equally if you don't want to be sociable they would be very respectful of that.

We'd highly recommend staying here if you want a lovely holiday and we'll definitely be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and having you as guests at Woodlawn.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    73
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
62
259
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at Woodlawn Villas at the start of April 2012 in a Garden Villa and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in such tranquil surroundings.

Prior to our holiday in Thailand and Koh Tao, we spent many hours between us trawling through numerous places of accommodation and stumbled upon this "Little Gem". All the excellent Trip Advisor reviews are to be believed and hit the nail on the head.

The Villa is situated only 5mins taxi ride from the ferry pier at Mae Haad and is easily within walking distance to Sairee Beach, approx 30mins. A supermarket is only 2mins walk away and believe me, it sells pretty much anything that you could possibly need and also a nice fresh fruit & vegetable stall, the mango is to die for! Chalok Beach can be walked to in under 10mins offers some nice beach bars & restaurants. Once more, the Villa was good value for money.

The owners, Michelle & Luke are so friendly and are always available to assist in making your stay memorable and offering knowledgeable advice of local attractions/ammenities. A very simple but effective touch was that you are given a mobile phone with useful contact numbers pre-stored, so if required then help is at hand at a touch of a button.

The accommodation itself was very nice. The kitchen area and and dining area was very handy. The DVD library was nice if you fancied a night in. A range of menus from local eateries was provided so that you could call in an order and they would deliver it free of charge.

All in all, this is a great place to stay in Ko Tao, offering a more personalised and local experience than some of the major hotels on the beachfront.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review!

We are always thrilled to hear our guests have enjoyed their time at Woodlawn Villas and what the island has to offer.

We do hope you will visit us again in the future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

we stayed in woodlawn villas mid april 2012, after my girlfriend booked via trip advisor basically on the back of the previous reviews. and very pleased we did. the villas themselves are set in a lovely piece of ground, very quiet and tranquil at night. inside they are very modern, we had seperate kitchen diner with large dining table, big tv with dvd player and lovely big couch to relax on when it got too hot outside..
luke and Michelle cant do enough to make you feel comfortable even providing a mobile phone for us if we wanted to have breakfast delivered from the many restaurants dotted about the island, which we did every morning.
a 10 min walk from chalok, or even better hire a bike from steve, recommended by luke, and some lovely beaches are only a short ride away.
my girlfriend and i were slightly disappointed at first when we found out it was closer to chalok beach than sairee as this was the beach we were recommended by friends, but couldnt of been happier once we had explored as the quieter better beaches are in the south.
all in all a highly recommended stay and when i go back to koh tao, woodlawn villas is where i'll be staying.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas & the island itself.

It was a pleasure to have you both as guests and we look forward to your return :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed at Woodlawn Villas for 6 nights in March 2012. I booked after reading the rave reviews here on TripAdvisor and it still managed to exceed my already high expectations. My villa was exactly as advertised, it was a great place to lounge around when it got too hot outside! Although i'd done plenty research on the island before arriving the tips Luke gave me on places to eat at and hang out trumped all my research. The complimentary phone also came in very handy when my own phone went for an unexpected swim! I'll definitely be staying here again on my next trip to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review!

We look forward to your return & wish you all the best :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in Koh Tao at the Woodlawn villas at the end of our 5 month se asia trip. We had decided to treat ourselves to a little bit of luxury after the long haul, and Luke and Michelle provided us with just that,

We stayed in the twilight villa and it was superb. A fully functioning kitchen and a dining table and a lounge with comfy sofas. It was exactly what we wanted. As another reviewer put it - like a home away from home (except it was hot and sunny). The villa is surrounded by a garden that allowed us to play badminton, and have drinks on the patio. The staff are all incredibly friendly and have a smile and hello everytime you see them.

The villa is cleaned every day and is spotless.

The garden is well maintained mostly due to the constant care of Luke and the boys.
On arrival we were issued with a mobile phone, pre programmed with take aways and taxi numbers, and a torch for the walk from Chalok.
The nearest beach is a 5 minute stroll away and with the second largest supermarket on the island at the bottom of the drive you never want for food or drink.

Sairee is 5 minutes away by bike or if your feeling energetic you can walk it in about 25. (Take water if you set of after mid-day).

All in all our stay in the villa was a highlight of our trip and I look forward to contacting Luke and Michelle the next time I head back to Koh Tao.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Hindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous review!

It was an absolute pleasure to have you both as guests at Woodlawn Villas.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed all the Twilight Villa has to offer and made the most of the badminton rackets :-)

We do look forward to your return in the future and we hope you have a great time in Japan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I had a bit of a whirlwind trip through Thailand and spent 2 nights at Woodland Villas – we wished we could have stayed longer. The hosts – Luke and Michelle were fantastic – friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Upon check in they showed us all we needed to know about in our garden villa and gave us a mobile phone with all the numbers we may need programmed into it including their numbers, taxi, restaurants, etc – just brilliant.
The room itself was simple and comfortable with air conditioning (thank goodness), it’s not 5 star, but they don’t claim to be, it’s just good accommodation that is close to everything you need and as the island is small, it’s pretty easy to get around.
Luke helped us organise a snorkelling long tail boat tour with a local, Roland (from Bavaria) who was absolutely fantastic! We went to many beautiful beaches and snorkelling spots were we had it all to ourselves – it’s the best way to see the island! We would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seratori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time on Koh Tao and at Woodlawn Villas.

We will pass on your comments to Roland he will be pleased :-)

We do hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Me, my boyfriend and my friend stayed in the Twilight Villa for 5 days in Febuary and we were instantly impressed as soon as we approached the resort. The villa was well kept, spacious and soon felt like a home from home.
Luke and Michelle were both extremelly friendly and welcoming. Luke was a fountain of knowledge having lived on the island for so long; his recommendations for EVERYTHING were so helpful and always spot on. We were provided with a map that pretty much listed every bar, restaurant, cafe, activity on the island, torches, menus for local restaurants that delivered and a mobile phone. Great little extras that really did help!
The location was perfect; situated near most of the more picturesque beaches, a supermarket and plenty of places to eat and drink. Lots of choices on all accounts but there was still that lovely island feel where the area wasnt too built up. Perfect.
Me and my boyfriend have both said we would absolutley love to go back to Koh Tao, it was our favourite of the islands we visited, and we would definately go back and stay at one of the Woodlawn Villa's. Nothing bad can be said about the villa itself, surrounding area or service we recieved. A must if you're looking to stay in Koh Tao! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas and the island itself.

It was a pleasure to meet you and share our local knowledge with you.

We look forward to your return in the future! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing