We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, basic standards ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #105 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm room which was clean enough and had lockers and air con plus a fan. Shower and toilet area constantly had a vile stench in the air but Were not the dirtiest you will find I'm sure, staff helpful and friendly enough, were given sheet and pillow case but had to pay per night for a blanket. Worst part about it was the pillow which I can only describe as a bag of gravel (and that's being kind) overall it's in a good location and does what you need it too for the price!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was travelling solo in August and wanted to find a hostel to stay. it is very close to the pier and the beach. It's also more quiet than the main beach, which I prefer. The hostel is still new, so it is clean. Perfect for backpacker.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place was in the perfect spot with a bit more care it coild be lovely and if your not a full blown backpacker then imwould stay clear the air cone worked bit didnt reach past half way so one side of the room was freezing the other side boiling. You got given a sheet and a pillow case but had to pay for a blanket and the bed has a very noisy and hard plastic cover on it so every move anyone made in bed woke the other people. The bathrooms were a disgrace with no water pressure bad drains so you had to stand in other peoples dirty water. Such a sad thing as the island is one of the most beautiful places we went and if we had not allready arranged our stay in koh samui we would probably have stayed longer just in different acomadation. Did meet some lovely people there and the DJL bar across the way is brilliant with the pool side bar and full english fry up

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Tegzdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed here, initially planning just to spend three nights. When we arrived the lady who checked us in was lovely and super helpful. We were trying to find a ferry over to Koh Pagnan for full moon party so she suggested a number of places we could go to check for ferry spaces and tickets etc. We ended up extending out stay, so she shuffled new arrivals around into other dorms so that the 4 of us could stay where we were. We left our stuff at the hostel the night we were away for full moon party and when we arrived back late the next afternoon she was so pleased to see us and said she'd been worried because we were so late back...the staff couldn't have been more helpful or more kind. Showers were cleaned regularly, and despite there only being a few of them I never had to wait longer than 10 minutes for a shower. And yes, you're asked to take your shoes off when you arrive, but that helps try to keep the sand out and is common in loads of places all over Thailand...and they were never stolen or anything, so I can't see any reason to complain

It isn't 5 star accommodation, but as a backpacker it was perfect, and much nicer than lots of the other places we stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyBackpacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As a backpacker, this is a fine place to stay. Ofcourse, there are betters, like bans avenue for example, but this place is just 20 meters away from the party.

That means less noise and less annoying drunk brits, yet still in the party.

You also pay less here than at bans avenue. Squeeky beds, but apart from that a good place. Only downside is the aircon is really cold and the showers are outside of the room. Also, staying here got me 10% discount on fun dives with Davy Jones Locker. which I enjoyed a lot! Recommended by a backpacker!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guido1010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hey thanks for the positive review, with the AC we do leave the remote in the room so that customers can adjust the temperature themselves.
Which can mean that you'll get someone in the room who'll turn the AC right down to the lowest setting which is great if you have just walked in from outside, but if you leave the temp setting as low as possible when you go to sleep it really does get cold during the night. We recommend setting the temperature to about 23-24 degrees Celsius for sleeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I can't remember how much we paid for our rooms, but I do remember that it definitely wasn't the most expensive place we stayed on the islands so can't have been particularly pricey! We booked a couple of days before on a booking website and paid a deposit, got there and were told we had to pay the full price. When we said "oh no we've already paid some of the price through the booking website", the lady on reception very politely informed us that its actually an extra booking charge through the website, so we paid full price as she asked - so I don't know why people are saying the staff are rude as this woman was really polite to us! She was also very understanding when someone lost the key to the dorm and calmly told us that we would have to pay the fee that she'd told us about when we'd checked in - which we obviously did, out of courtesy since we were the ones who screwed up. So like I said I don't understand why people say the staff are rude or unfriendly, we were only ever treated kindly and politely, even by the night staff on reception who must have been really tired! The staff also seemed to remember who was in what room which was reassuring because it meant they knew who was meant to be wandering in and out of the hostel, also when I found a drunk girl in the toilet they knew which room she was staying in and unlocked it for me so that I could help her into bed.

The room itself was fine, 8 people in a dorm is a good amount in my opinion, especially because there was 6 of us in our group. Obviously it was hot considering it was May, but the air con was good in our room and the lockers were big enough to put all your valuables in, they weren't so tiny you could only fit your passport in, unlike some places. The showers and toilets were clean enough and the posters about the hot water were helpful. Also really appreciated the fact that a cleaner came in every day, not many hostels do that and it was just nice to have a clean room.

So yeah basically its a good place to stay if you're looking to have fun, meet new people and at the same time get a pretty good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Paid for 300 baht for an aircon room but it only worked sometimes. As we were at reception - another girl came to complain about her aircon being broken. Her room were 'discounted' to only 250 baht a night which is a complete rip off for a non-aircon non-fan dorm. Planned to stay 4 nights but as soon as we saw the state of the room and bathroom we decided we'd look elsewhere. Being just after full moon we thought everywhere would be fully booked, but we walked down the road and found a lot of places for the same price that were a hundred times better.

It's not safe!! A guy in our room had his stuff stolen, and you could tell by the state of the lockers which were dented and broken - clearly have been tried to be broken into.

Staff extremely rude!!! Travelled for 5 months and this is the worst hostel by FAR.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacker91London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

At the moment yes we do have a problem with the AC in one of our dormitories which isn't working correctly even after we've had 3 different AC 'service technicians' come to try to repair it (this will be fixed when the new AC unit arrives in a few days). None of the other dormitories have any problems with the AC and are working perfectly well unless customers insist on keeping leaving the room door open or are unable to correctly operate a remote control unit (sadly both of which do seem to happen way too often and after many years of trying we have now concluded that we are unable to AC the whole of Koh Tao via the hostel). It appears that this customer didn't notice the fan attached to the ceiling in the dormitory and for the people staying in the dormitory where the AC wasn't working correctly we put an additional fan in their room.

You say that someone in your room had his stuff stolen, this does seem a little odd as no one has reported any theft to the hostel at all. We'll check the CCTV if people come to us and tell us they have had things stolen so we can try and work out who has been coming in and out of the room, as we can see who comes in and out of every room 24hrs a day. In the past when something like this has happened we called the police to come around to investigate as this did happen a couple of times before and we were able to work out the particular guest that was responsible as all the thefts took place in the same dormitory and we could work out that he was the only person that had been present in the room when things went missing (mostly just money) and then he had additional unexplained cash on him when searched which was unsurprisingly a very similar amount to what had gone missing.

I'm sorry that you felt the staff were extremely rude, usually they are very pleasant to people unless the customers are being particularly rude or unpleasant to them. I know the other day that there was a guy who believed that after booking in and agreeing to the terms and conditions that they would at least pay for the first night of their stay should they decide to cancel on arrival, or cancel on the day of their booking or not show up for their booking that having an argument with the staff would somehow put them in the right because they hadn't read what they had agreed to and so wouldn't have to pay. When the staff do get annoyed with people who are clearly in the wrong either through stupidity or just by trying to get away without paying what they should then to be honest I can't get too upset with my staff for doing their jobs correctly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
#26 of 142 in Koh Tao
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
CK Hostel
CK Hostel
#113 of 142 in Koh Tao
45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#40 of 142 in Koh Tao
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Best Hostel
The Best Hostel
#55 of 142 in Koh Tao
17 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baan Chalok Hostel Koh Tao
Baan Chalok Hostel Koh Tao
#79 of 142 in Koh Tao
15 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
A Forest Story
#88 of 142 in Koh Tao
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Address: Moo 2 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $14 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Backpackers is in central Sairee, Koh Tao. Koh Tao Backpackers offers cheap hostel style accommodation for both divers and non divers. Located in Sairee at the Silver Sands Resort, behind Davy Jones Locker Diving who's restaurant/bar and swimming pool we use as our common areas, Koh Tao Backpackers is close to everything you'll need whilst here on Koh Tao. We also have full access to the Dive resort's swimming pool and bar restaurant. We have AC in all the dormitories, hot water showers, lockers in the dormitories and 24 hour reception with CCTV cameras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing