We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restful stay, not sure if worth extra money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice restful stay, not sure if worth extra money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Quaint little bungalows....we went with the more basic one which was adequate for people ok with backpacker style accommodation. Location is great as its walkable, even with luggage, from ferry, and beach is right there with some great snorkelling near rocks. Wifi quick and included. Would however agree with what others have said about value for money/price, as really there are a lot of similar beach bungalows for much smaller costs with equivalent facilities. That being said, they have flush toilets and showers so perhaps on a small island like koh tao you need to pay more for this...
No place to eat here, though restaurants 2 minutes away

Room Tip: Bungalows don't have much sound proofing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    89
    39
    21
    30
See reviews for
41
121
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

we struggled to get accommodation in koh tao over new year but we managed to secure an ocean view deluxe bungalow at this resort at a fairly reasonable price. the accommodation was a great size and had some quirky extras including an outdoor bath (although had seen better days), hammock on the balcony and huge bathroom. down side of our bungalow was it was at the top of a steep hill and was very dark, not much natural light could get in due to shutters on the windows. the resort itself was nice although beach area was not as nice as neighbouring siree beach. i preferred mae haad for restaurants, shops etc. but siree beach has the best nightlife. it is a taxi ride or it is walk-able but not advisable at night as very dark. koh tao is a beautiful island so we were really glad to have got somewhere so nice to stay, such last minute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali-Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are ok not to bad , we had one of the more basic ones and to be honest we didn't have any complaints apart from the price ! It's simply to much for what you are getting . The staff were friendly enough but the whole place is lacking something, not sure exactly what but there isn't much going on in the evening . We tend to walk into town and find somewhere also to eat. It's very close to the docks and we made the mistake of paying for a taxi to get there but it was dark and first thing in the morning. It really is just a few minutes walk from the boat. Well if you can find somewhere else to stay you probably will get more for your money but it's not a terrible place if that's all there is.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montbeliard, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Such good memories at the Royal resort !!

The place is really cheap, we arrived in koh tao with our bags and had to find a hotel. we saw many of them but this one was the best.
good value for the price, the rooms have a nice balcony, it is clean, and the girl at the reception was really friendly.
The resort is on the beach, and not far from sairee but far enough to be quiet.
We loved it.

Anne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sovaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at Koh Tao Royal Resort for five nights and had a great time there! We arrived very early as we took the night boat from Suratthani but even at 7am, the staff were friendly and offered us free coffee while we waited to check-in and was told our room would be available at 11am :)
We were satisfied with cleanliness of the room. I am very particular about bathrooms, and had no problem with the one in our room except that the light was maybe a little too dim. Electricity and water are valuable on the island, so having fresh water in the shower is great and so what if you have to switch the air conditioning off while the water heater is on! :)
The rooms are set up in the hill and they all have hammocks strung on the verandahs! It's a short stroll to the reception, restaurant and little bar which are on a pretty stretch of beach with clear blue/green waters. Even though the beach is a 5 minute walk to the pier, it is still peaceful and quiet and there are some decent snorkelling areas to the left of the hotel beach..
Food at the restaurant was pretty good and reasonably priced and we ended up eating there very often..
Location wise, it's on Mae Haad, which is quieter than Sairee beach, but you can still walk towards the party areas or rent a bike to get around the Island..
Service wise, the staff were very friendly and helpful.. we set up massages, rented motorbikes and booked tickets for night boat back all through them.. they were also very accommodating in allowing us to keep safe our luggage on the day we arrived and on the day we left.
Special thanks to Muey and Anorak for everything! and to Kamil for keeping us company after we checked out at 10am till 9pm while we waited for the night boat!
Overall, we had an awesome time and would recommend this place to anyone :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suneeta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at the Koh Tao Royal Resort in January 2012. Overall I felt that the receptionist was always rude and his English is practically inexistent. The rooms are clean but are old and the bathroom is quite crumby. It is completely over-priced for what it is (and doesn´t even include breakfast!). We booked it as we were afraid of arriving on the island during peak season with no booking but we didn´t have to worry - we subsequently found nicer accomodation on Sairee beach (where everyone wants to be) and it was even cheaper!!!!!!!!!!!

I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloeinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Me and my girlfriend (we're both 26) picked this hotel because it had A/C rooms and was close to Crystal dive resort. In that sense, we got what we wanted. However, if you do not dive with Crystal (which we, by the way, can NOT recommend), there's little point in staying at Royal. Rooms are clean, but nothing special at all, and prices are simply too high relative to the location (Sairee beach is much more beautiful). We later moved on to the InTouch resort on Sairee, which was cheaper, more stylish, better located, and operated by a great team with a personal touch - at way lower prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.7 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Royal Resort

Property: Koh Tao Royal Resort
Address: 24/3 Moo 2, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Royal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as our guest , Leave as our friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koh Tao Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing