We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be "The Place" you stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

What can I say that has not been said, just absolute perfection from the moment you are collected at the ferry terminal to the moment you, sadly have to leave.

The accommodation is beyond 5 stars, its hard to pull yourself away from your villa during the day to go sightseeing.

We stayed in villa number 3 and it was fantastic, but I can imagine all the rest of them are the same, the girls Franzi and Bex could not do enough for you, nothing was a problem, even sorted me out with James who done some acupuncture on me.

Ko Tao is a beautiful island and long may it stay like this and anyone reading this, just don't bother looking at other accommodation this is THE PLACE

I also must add the booking of the place was one of the easiest that I have ever done, Guy looks after you very well

Hopefully we will come back soon x

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nclemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 961 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wow! While I'm not sure where to start....... The Place is amazing!
We were greeted by two smiling faces, Franzi & Bex as we arrived on the pier. They had cold water for us and guys to collect our bags.
It was a short trip to their resort, which we were absolutely blown away by.
Our villa (Number 2) had a personalised timber sign hanging on our villa door, with our names and a matching 'Just Married' signed with tin cans and ribbon. It was adorable and we felt instantly safe and comfortable.

Our villa was incredible, everything from the view, the plunge pool, decking area, outdoor bathroom had all been throughout out so well and we wouldn't change one thing. It was perfect!

We spend 5 nights at the place to start of our honeymoon, and it was the best decision we every made. It was so relaxing and Franzi and Bex went out of there way to to anything for us, they made us feel like we were the only guests.

We walked down to the small village everyday for either breakfast, lunch or dinner and our daily massage. We also ordered breakfast to our room a few mornings, with our mobile phone given to us by Franzi & Bex. It was filled with phone numbers for the restaurants that delivered to our villa, the taxi driver, if you weren't feeling up to the 10 min walk back to The Place, all the staff's number in case you needed anything.

We did 4 dives while we were there, which were all organised by Franzi & Bex. We'd be sent friendly text messages most days, letting us know the daily weather and asking if we needed anything. They even offered when we wanted Thai food delivered to our room, to go down and pick it up for us.

As you can see they team at The Place went well and truly above and beyond any hotel/resort I have ever stayed to make our honeymoon amazing.

I would highly recommend The Place to anyone, it was truly amazing!

The only regret you will have it not staying long enough.

We will be back!

Room Tip: - Hire a scooter from one of the places The Place recommends to get you up and down the hill to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RochelleTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

It has been 2 years since we last stayed at The Place and it is still wonderful, if not better! Our villa was perfect, the team were fab, the diversions and activities we did we're all perfect - massages, diving, private dinner, cooking classes etc etc. There was so much to do. Bex, Franzi and Guy were all fab and really looked after us, all the little extra touches which meant we didn't need to lift a finger. We were very sad to leave and the 5* resort in samui wasn't a patch on The Place. We will be back, again!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked the place because of the brilliant reviews on tripadvisor and we are so glad we did. We loved every second of our time there. The warm welcome of the team fetching us from the pier to being dropped back at the pier with cold waters for the journey. The team also booked our ferries for us and changed our times at the last minute without any problems for the extra effort. When we arrived at the villa we were blown away. It was so beautiful and the photos don't do it justice. Bex, Franzi and Guy gave us amazing advise, organised anything we asked for and always had a smile on their faces.

The attention to detail makes you realise how professional the team are. It's like being in a 5star hotel but with the personal service you'd expect from a b&b. Your privacy is the main priority which was perfect as this was our honeymoon so the phone they give you to use is ideal for organising things without leaving your private pool.... Simply amazing! We would definitely recommend

Room Tip: We had room 3 which was probably the least private as the infinity pool overlooked the courtyard how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Although we had read many of the reviews before we stayed at The Place, nothing can prepare you for the breath taking view when Franzi and Bex showed us up to our villa! It is not often that I am rendered speechless! We had a truly wonderful 5 nights here and they have thought of everything. We loved the island and the little town of Sairee is great. If you are looking for a haven of peace and tranquility with service that is discreet, efficient and friendly, look no further. It was an absolute treat to have stayed here. Well done Team!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hetty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I would like to say thank you to Guy, Bex, Franzi & all of The Place Team for making our stay here wonderful. "The Place" itself is beautiful, without a doubt one of the nicest villa's I've ever stayed in whilst in Thailand. The view from our decking was amazing & the infinity pool was lovely. Only a 15 minute walk to Sairee beach so in a great location for bars etc, although you may want to get a taxi back as the hill is quite steep! Thought it was a great idea that we got given Thai mobiles whilst there, our friends were staying in one of the villa's too so this made it very useful to contact them and also to call taxi's & order food etc. Although there is no room service it is very easy to order take out from the local restaurants & food was usually delivered within 30 mins. Nice and secluded but not too far away from the action, I loved it here. Although I think this is more for couples if you want somewhere to chill out for a few days this is it! The welcome book is very helpful & it is easy to book trips or massages etc here. Great selection of movies available. All of the staff were absolutely lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. I will defo stay here the next time I visit Koh Tao :-)

Room Tip: The villa's seem pretty much the same, all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

WOW! WOW! WOW! The Place is absolutely AMAZING! The best place we have ever stayed! Guy, Bex, Franzi and all of The Place Team are so lovely, friendly and very helpful! From the moment Bex, Franzi and Mr Bear met us we had such a warm, lovely welcome! The villa is absolute luxury, the infinity pool and view is stunning! Simply paradise! So private and relaxing! They have thought of everything at The Place! The attention to detail is fantastic! We are so impressed! Words cannot describe how fantastic The Place is! For anyone considering booking, book now you will love it, just like we do! We would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to everyone at The Place for a fantastic stay! We will look forward to visiting again soon! Lots of love Jo & Heather xxx

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibizajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,531 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $190 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Place Luxury Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing