We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife & I stayed at The Place for 8 nights as part of our honeymoon in May. With so many overwhelmingly positive reviews we were wondering if it could possibly live up to the reputation. Our villa on the Koh Tao hillside exceeded all expectations, however, and was a simply put a perfect stay for us. The combination of location, luxury standard, attention to detail & wonderful staff make me doubt whether there's anything quite like it anywhere else in the world, let alone in Thailand or on Koh Tao.

Guy, Bex & Franzi made us feel extremely relaxed and they have the balance spot on of taking care of everything without us ever feeling that this tropical paradise was anything other than private. The welcome at the pier, thorough introduction & constant top level service was a complete joy & helped us utterly chill out after a busy time in northern Thailand. The provision of a mobile phone is a genius idea & these guys have a wealth of knowledge about the island which helped us on our way. The Place really benefits from the fact it's not huge & therefore the personal touch is there in everything they do.

The taxi service provided by Mr Bear was always there if we needed it, but we were perfectly happy walking down to the town & back up again in the evening (not least as it helps work off some of the lovely food that can be found out & about). People averse to a walk would probably want to rely on his service or the other taxi drivers in town (there was never a shortage) but I we found the nightime walks home a real pleasure. We tried a fair few of the restaurants & bars in town and found them all to be superb.

Everything has been thought of in the villas to make your stay feel ridiculously luxurious. From the wealth of films & tv programmes available so easily, to the wonderful pool & sun loungers, there is nowhere I can imagine that is better equipped for a romantic escape. It may be at the more pricey end of places to stay on Koh Tao, but it's completely worth it. If you're wondering whether to book or not, just do it!

Never before in my adult life have I had such a strong feeling of not wanting to leave somewhere as when our stay at The Place came to an end!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 952 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Place for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for more.
Its beautifully laid out and finished and has a wonderful location. It is set back up the hillside from the beach (which is clear on their website) which means a 5 min max taxi back up (300 baht at night). However this is more than made up by the fact you get a fantastic view & true privacy.

The staff are brilliant - happy to help organise anything you can think of full of great tips for the best places to eat on the island.

I have never stayed anyway before that lived up to its reputation and my expectations so well and would recommend it as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Place is a fantastic selection of villas with amazing views and friendly staff that are always on hand to help you with anything you may need.
Guy, Bex and Franzi are really nice people and will make you feel at home, they gave us plenty of advice on good places to visit whilst on the island as well.
The villas themselves are simply perfect and I would highly recommend anyone to visit as you have peace and quiet yet you are ten minutes walk (if you don't mind a hill) from the town with lots of places to eat and drink.
Go, you will love it!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The Place is pricy compared to other hotels on Koh Tao, but the quality of your stay - from service to accommodation - is comparable to some of the most exclusive hotels in other locations. The other reviews are right on the mark. If you value high end accommodation along with the quality of service and amenities this implies, privacy, large rooms, your own personal plunge pool for cooling off after a hot day, then this is The Place to stay on Koh Tao. Make your reservations early because they are often fully booked months in advance. It is worth the trek out here. Tips:1) consider taking the overnight train first class sleeper cabin from Bangkok to Chumphon and take the high speed boat operated by Lomprayah to Koh Tao, be at the start of the queue for boarding and sit downstairs inside for a great ride. 2) book everything early, if you spend a couple of days in Bangkok, book your train tics through an agent who will deliver your tickets to the hotel where you are staying. 3) once here, done wait till the last day to eat at The Gallery or to sample a massage at the Aurora Spa, both within about 100 ft or 30 meters of each other on the walk to town (Sairee) from The Place. And 4) if you like snorkeling, book a day long tour with Oxygen - they've got great guides and its the best way to sample the different locations.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What can I possibly say that the other reviewers haven't already?

To sum it all up: the service is outstanding. They make you feel at home in Koh Tao. You will never be lost, confused or stressed because Franzi, Bex, Guy and Mr. Bear can handle anything you need. They're very flexible. They're very helpful and will book any requests you have to make sure it happens. They give you a mobile phone so you can reach them at any time through texts or calling... this also allows you to call local places and order food or make appointments yourself. The view was stunning, the rooms were comfortable, the prices were insanely inexpensive.

Be warned, there will be a few tiny bugs. The rooms aren't airtight so sometimes you get little tiny harmless ants in there or fruit flies. However, we didn't see a single mosquito in our entire time there so don't worry too much. But if a few bugs are going to ruin your stay, you shouldn't be visiting Thailand anyway!

All in all: we were treated like royalty during our stay here and we're already looking at the calendar to book our next stay. Thanks, The Place! You made our honeymoon unforgettable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipnwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon at the end of the trip and could not have been happier with our choice. The villas are beautiful and deserve the title of 'luxery'! To add to the experience, the staff at The Place is welcoming and will make you feel like you have been a friend forever. Our experience here could not have been better and would have to recommend The Place to anyone who is looking for a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is by far the best place I have ever stayed, and at such a great price for what you get. I cannnot recommend this place enough. The rooms are amazing but it is more the setting. The pool is completely private and it feels like you are in paradise. The service is great - they leave you alone and then you just call and they sort it - v simple but v effective

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cackyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $190 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing