We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$127
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ameenjeerah Koh Tao(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveler rating
1,028
23
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,028
23
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr bearthought of everythingmobile phoneour honeymoonwelcome basketcomplete privacyprivate poolfiltered drinking watertext messagenespresso machinetaxi drivervilla numberprivate chefpre programmed numbersentertainment systemsairee beachhard drive
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

From the first email – to confirm our booking – to check out, our experience of The Place was second to none. Our only complaint was that we didn't want to leave... we will be staying for weeks next time, not days.

We stayed in villa one and it was perfectly sized and beautifully furnished, from the beanbags on the decking to the bed, everything was wonderfully comfortable. Guy and Bex were always on hand and it was good to know that their friendly help and advice was never more than a phone call away, but for the main part they gave us the space to enjoy the peace and tranquility of The Place.

Every aspect of the villa itself and the service from Guy and Bex was really well thought out – from the bottles of ice cold water they greet you with at the ferry to the mobile phone they lend you for the duration of the stay and the torch attached to your keys – anything that you might want or need is at your finger tips.

We arranged for Ed the chef to come and cook us a seafood platter on the last night. The platter he presented us with was nothing short of divine, and it was the perfect end to a perfect stay.

I could go on and on about how great The Place is, but it just won't do it justice. Go and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were recommended to stay at The Place by a friend and it totally surpassed all expectations. We stayed for 10 nights as part of our honeymoon, we arrived on 8th May 2012 and didn't want to leave. We stayed in Villa 2 and could have happily stayed there forever. From first booking the villa with Guy & Bex they gave us all the information we needed, they are very approachable and have a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude. Guy and Bex met us at the pier with bottles of water in hand to rehydrate ourselves, they took our bags and that was the last thing we had to worry about...Guy and Bex took care of everything for our whole trip.

The villa is amazing, spacious, luxurious and well designed. The fresh water filter tap, movie selection, rain forest shower, the views...all well thought out and exceeded our expectations. The infinity pool is a fantastic way to cool off, the uninterrupted views of the forest and seas are to die for. The welcome hamper is a great idea and the coffee suplied is ace!

They even give you a mobile phone with credit and all relevant numbers stored. They have ensured they only recommend the highest quality people. Mr Bear the taxi driver is cool, friendly, reliable and superbly knowledgeable around Koh Tao.
Definitely treat yourselves to the private chef...highly recommend the seafood platter and very reasonably priced too...our red snapper was caught at 5pm, cooked at 7 and eaten by 9pm watching the sunset, glass of bubbles in hand. Divine!

Another must is the personal yoga and meditation sessions. Tracey guided us through a totally relaxing yoga session on the veranda overlooking the sea for a morning then finished off with meditation. Fantastic way to unwind after a stressful week of sunbathing.

Could not fault The Place or Guy & Bex who totally make it a unique experience. They are always on hand for the slightest of queries and leave you to your holiday with no intrusions. The eco policy is refreshing too!

The place is secluded which we thought ideal, you can't even see let alone hear your nearest neighbour. The local beach is literally a 10 minute walk, or 2 minutes with Mr Bear. We walked pretty much all the time as it was nice to stretch our legs.

Can't recommend The Place enough. It is totally ideal for couples who want a romantic getaway but still be close enough to the super chilled out beach front bars.

Thanks Guy & Bex for making our honeymoon super special. Kurt & Scarlett.

Room Tip: Villa 1 or Villa 2...both are totally luxurious.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ks0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I hummed and hawed for weeks over whether we should shell out the money to stay at a "nice" place after we were planning on diving for several days earlier in the week. I was a little bit put off by the price at first (200 dollars Canadian a night) since it's Koh Tao and there are many cheaper options that seemed nice (albeit there are many MORE EXPENSIVE places as well) but in the end since this was our Honeymoon we decided to just go for it after reading so many positive reviews....
WE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN HAPPIER TO HAVE STAYED AT THE PLACE.

I'll discuss things in categories so people can flip through their main concerns quickly without having to read a novel..

THE PRICE
I'll talk about this first since we almost didn't stay here because of it....Once we got there we realized that the 200 dollars a night got us what would normally cost HUNDREDS more elsewhere.... I really felt that the price of the place was extremely fair and we didn't think twice about it after about 2 minutes there. If the price is what is making you hum and haw about this place if you can fit it into your budget i recommend it x1000000.... It was easily the nicest place we have ever stayed and we definitely have NOT had a tight budget on other trips we have been on (we also stayed at a luxury 5 star place in bangkok....The Place was just in a category on its own!)

THE LOCATION
If you are tired of running into drunk backpackers and people who just never left the dive shops years after arriving to Koh Tao this location is for you! Completely secluded yet still only a few minutes walk away from town made it perfect. We really felt like we were completely alone. The only time I saw another person from our room was when a gardener was out ensuring the landscape was impeccable but I probably wouldn't even have noticed/ seen her had we not walked by her after returning from a late breakfast in town. THERE IS a big hill leading up to the place which is a bit of a hike (for someone with a disability this may be limiting) HOWEVER we climbed in no problem and there are steps (maybe just a bit out of breath by the top?lol!) but honestly it really was NOT a big deal and besides after all the relaxing a bit of exercise was welcome! We made the walk at least 4 times during our stay and i remember thinking that some of the other reviews painted this hill as mount Kilimanjaro...and how silly it was since at the very most you may just get a bit breathless. If you have bad joints or aren't in the best physical shape you could always rent a motorbike in town for peanuts a day! This hill is probably what keeps the drunk people away and keeps it a bit more remote which is what makes this place so perfect! Besides, jumping into the plunge pool when you get back to your room is HEAVEN! :)

THE ROOM
BEAUTIFUL! From the EXTREMELY comfortable bed looking out over the ocean to the private infinity plunge pool which was a perfect temperature (as opposed to the ocean which was like swimming in a bath tub) we could have seriously considered packing up our 2000 square foot home and living here forever since it had all we needed. The pool was a bit smaller than I thought it would be based on the pictures online but it didn't matter really since it was a plunge pool and was plenty big for people. The bathroom was BEAUTIFUL with an amazing sky light and rainwater shower head made this by far my favorite part of the whole villa. Everything was very clean and they had thought of everything down to the last detail. There were dishes available for take aways with utensils to use, filtered tap water to drink, even over sized umbrellas just in case :). The deck was large and shaded (since we are both quite white from a northern climate this was key in preventing us from burning to a crisp in the heat and i could enjoy the heat without a need for sunscreen!). The TV was nice for watching a movie in bed (with pretty much any movie/show you could think of all for free!) and we were really able to just RELAX here..which was the whole point :) The villas were situated in such a way that you had complete privacy from everyone and everything. We stayed in Villa 2 and it was incredibly private but I think Villa 1 may even be a tiny bit more secluded. I don't think it would matter either way though you would have a phenomenal stay at either!

CUSTOMER SERVICE
What I think makes The Place consistently get 5 stars (which i too was skeptical when reading all these reviews) is that their Customer service is just IMPECCABLE! When Mr. Bear (their own taxi driver) came to pick us up I was a bit surprised when both Bex and Guy ALSO came along to welcome us with cold water in hand! From then they did a wonderful job at meeting all our needs and then some. They provide pretty much anything you can think of (flashlights/torches for walking around outside in the evening, umbrellas etc) and if you need anything they won't hesitate to get it to you! You are also provided with a mobile you can use with all important numbers already programmed in! Friendly texts like "it looks like rain...you may want to use the umbrellas if you are walking into town" and just messages to check in and make sure we had everything is what set this experience apart from everywhere else. As we were leaving, not only did they arrange our transport, I was again astounded when Bex and Guy joined us to bring us down to the pier and ensure we got on the right boat (all the while carrying our bags...) and just overall kept us company until it was time to go (with cold water bottles for us as well!). These touches of them going above and beyond every time is really what made this a 5 star experience!


THINGS WE THOUGHT COULD BE IMPROVED ON
This is a misleading category because there really isn't anything I feel is worthy of a "complaint". There were a few things that would have made it even MORE perfect and I'll list that here just so you know I'm a real person who can look at things objectively! :). I found the cost of a taxi on koh tao to be quite expensive (compared to bangkok, not compared to real life)...and for this reason we never used the taxi. We didn't really need it but it may have been a nice option had we stayed for a few more days. I would have liked if they also had motorbike rentals directly from The Place and if they ever got that I think it would be icing on the cake and a great way to explore the island some more but as i said earlier, walking into town was pretty easy and accessible and getting takeaway food delivered was very easy and efficient. I only wish they had thai take away delivery options but as Guy informed me, most of the thai food places are so cheap already they dont make any money on deliveries so they dont really do it...on that note the Pizza we ordered from frescos (i think that is what it is called) was delicious (the sandwiches from Zanzi...not so much!) The internet was down for most of our stay but it was down on the entire island so again not much to complain about there. I wish the mini bar had had some food/snacks available to purchase (like crisps for a late night snack or some fruit for early mornings) that would have been great but since food delivery was so easy, again this wasn't much of an issue.

OVERALL
If you are looking for a quiet peaceful and romantic sanctuary you NEED to stay at The Place. It was so amazing and wonderful we are already planning on celebrating future anniversaries here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lilmisstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We ended our 6 week Asia trip in Koh Tao, with the Place being one of our "splurge" accommodations. It did not disappoint. They are rated #1 for a reason. Since they were booked up around our desired dates, we were only able to spend 2 nights in the villa. With such limited time we did not leave much, and took advantage of the menus they had available for food delivery. They really do think of everything, and the wonderful pictures on the website do not even do the place justice. It's even nicer in person. Book it with out hesitation. In the meantime, I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunangel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Finally discovered the meaning of 'zen' at The Place. Had a wonderful 3 days, only wish we'd stayed longer. Guy and Bex were delightful. Extremely accommodating and great company if you can steal them for lunch! Everything has been thought of so you can drop your bags and just get on with your holiday. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwardh730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews