We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

perfect hideaway for honeymooners or couples who wish to relax. situated on a hill 10 min walk to town. We used a private taxi service to take us back up the hill at night for 200 baht. Guy and Bex were very helpful.

Room Tip: No Buffet Breakfast included, just a hamper with items when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kr12102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 961 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I live on Koh Tao, so going on "holiday" on the island seemed a bit strange! But The Place was fantastic. Set in the hills above Sairee away from everyone else, you are transported to another world, so we really felt like we were somewhere else. The facilities within the Villa are superb, and we hardly had to leave during our 3 night stay. There is a large comfortable bed, the choice of aircon or fan, a great lounge area, flatscreen TV with a huge selection of movies, a very well equiped kitchenette and a very unique and beautiful split level bathroom (loved the bathroom!!). There is also a large, but secluded, deck at the front of the Villa with a dining table, bean bags, sun loungers and the infinity pool. The view from the infinity pool was wonderful - we spent quite a few hours watching the boats coming and going, and watching the weather moving in and rolling out.

Bex and Guy really have thought of everything when they designed and fitted out these Villas. And it is the little things that show the attention to detail - small vases of fresh, local flowers, clip-on reading lights on the bedside tables, small LED torches attached to your Villa keys, a mobile phone with pre-set numbers, a water filtration system so you don't have to buy copious amounts of drinking water (and add to the plastic bottle mountain), bio-degradable plastic bags and re-useable eco-friendly bags, take-away menus, dressing gowns, a thoughfully stocked mini-bar at very reasonable prices, and when you stay 3 nights or longer you get a Welcome Hamper of food, which saw us through 3 breakfasts, 1 evening meal and half a lunch!

Of course there is always something that could be improved or changed because everyone is different and we all have personal preferences. For me it is the fan in the Villa - it is a bit overkill for the space and it was too noisy to use at night; even in the day-time it was a bit intrusive. So at night we had to use the aircon, however the aircon unit is the quietest unit I have ever come across, easy to use and the temperature control was perfect!

Congratulations to you both - you have done a stunning job with The Place. We might just have to have another "staycation"!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte_and_Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The name could not have been better chosen. It is THE PLACE to be on Koh Tao. If you want a private luxury stay with a amazing view and fantastic hosts don't hesitate to choose one of the villas. We stayed in Villa 2 for four nights and had a wonderful stay. Guy and Bex did a great job designing the villas and making ourselves comfortable. We can definitely recommend THE PLACE and we will surely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninjahamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Perfect location. Perfect views. Perfect amendities. Perfect set up. We stayed 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and we wished we could have stayed longer. I would recommend to anyone. Guy and Bex are perfect hosts and have thought of everything. We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yt_Skippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We've traveled the world and stayed in many places but this place was different. Words cant explain exactly how, you simply have to experience it for yourself. There is everything you would expect here and more. You will need nothing more, you will want for nothing more. Its beautiful, modern, private and luxurious. This is definitely the best place to stay on Koh Tao, and with the comibation of the amazing island, beautiful people and everything "The Place" has to offer I would even go as far as saying that this might well be the best place to stay in the entire world. The hosts are just incredible, you fall in love with them instantly and they really add such delight to the entire experience. This is such a happy place, you need to stay here, you will love it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We spent 3 nights at The Place at the start of October and afterwards wished our schedule could have allowed us to have stayed longer! An absolutely amazing luxury villa tucked away from the masses meant we could just switch off for a few days and enjoy the stunningly remote location.
Before we even arrived, Guy had been super-helpful via email concerning questions i had on getting there. Upon arrival on Koh Tao Guy and Bex gvae us a warm welcome by picking us up and giving us the lowdown on the island and the facilities at The Place.
There are two villas available and we stayed in Villa 1. Breath-taking views combined with tastefully decorated contemporary villas meant we hardly had a reason to leave over our stay and the privacy coupled with the peace and quiet that the loaction offers is what we savoured the most (together with the amazing infinity pool!)
Both Guy and Bex were always available for any queries without ever being intrusive.
It's not a criticism but something you should be aware of is the slightly remote location - privacy and peace comes at a price which means a walk down to the village takes 10 or so minutes on foot, but this is actually something we valued when we found out about The Place.
We'll definitely be coming back again and it was exactly what we were looking for in an accomodation. Altogether The Place comes highly recommended for those who want a bit of luxury away from the masses!

Room Tip: There are currently only two villas - both offer equally good privacy and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wuarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed at The Place in early October 2011 - from time of booking to arriving at the place Guy and Bex were great hosts!

Could have not wanted for anymore whilst staying on Koh Tao - very well appointed villa and offers a unique serenity tucked up above Sairee Beach with a 10minute walk into town (or taxi for 200 - 300 baht)...

Guy and Bex offer a great service and offer the trimmings of tour booking and transfer services etc - as they have lived on the island for many years they also are great in recommending various services etc? The Welcome package was great.

We will be returning and I would not hesitate recommending these villas.

Ant

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $190 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Place Luxury Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing