We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Place TO BE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Place TO BE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The name could not have been better chosen. It is THE PLACE to be on Koh Tao. If you want a private luxury stay with a amazing view and fantastic hosts don't hesitate to choose one of the villas. We stayed in Villa 2 for four nights and had a wonderful stay. Guy and Bex did a great job designing the villas and making ourselves comfortable. We can definitely recommend THE PLACE and we will surely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjahamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
737
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Perfect location. Perfect views. Perfect amendities. Perfect set up. We stayed 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and we wished we could have stayed longer. I would recommend to anyone. Guy and Bex are perfect hosts and have thought of everything. We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yt_Skippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We've traveled the world and stayed in many places but this place was different. Words cant explain exactly how, you simply have to experience it for yourself. There is everything you would expect here and more. You will need nothing more, you will want for nothing more. Its beautiful, modern, private and luxurious. This is definitely the best place to stay on Koh Tao, and with the comibation of the amazing island, beautiful people and everything "The Place" has to offer I would even go as far as saying that this might well be the best place to stay in the entire world. The hosts are just incredible, you fall in love with them instantly and they really add such delight to the entire experience. This is such a happy place, you need to stay here, you will love it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We spent 3 nights at The Place at the start of October and afterwards wished our schedule could have allowed us to have stayed longer! An absolutely amazing luxury villa tucked away from the masses meant we could just switch off for a few days and enjoy the stunningly remote location.
Before we even arrived, Guy had been super-helpful via email concerning questions i had on getting there. Upon arrival on Koh Tao Guy and Bex gvae us a warm welcome by picking us up and giving us the lowdown on the island and the facilities at The Place.
There are two villas available and we stayed in Villa 1. Breath-taking views combined with tastefully decorated contemporary villas meant we hardly had a reason to leave over our stay and the privacy coupled with the peace and quiet that the loaction offers is what we savoured the most (together with the amazing infinity pool!)
Both Guy and Bex were always available for any queries without ever being intrusive.
It's not a criticism but something you should be aware of is the slightly remote location - privacy and peace comes at a price which means a walk down to the village takes 10 or so minutes on foot, but this is actually something we valued when we found out about The Place.
We'll definitely be coming back again and it was exactly what we were looking for in an accomodation. Altogether The Place comes highly recommended for those who want a bit of luxury away from the masses!

Room Tip: There are currently only two villas - both offer equally good privacy and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wuarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed at The Place in early October 2011 - from time of booking to arriving at the place Guy and Bex were great hosts!

Could have not wanted for anymore whilst staying on Koh Tao - very well appointed villa and offers a unique serenity tucked up above Sairee Beach with a 10minute walk into town (or taxi for 200 - 300 baht)...

Guy and Bex offer a great service and offer the trimmings of tour booking and transfer services etc - as they have lived on the island for many years they also are great in recommending various services etc? The Welcome package was great.

We will be returning and I would not hesitate recommending these villas.

Ant

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

The reviews below complement this place enough - so I don't need to repeat everything that's been said! Suffice to say, I agree with the general consensus.

Particular highlights are the AMAZING view, the private pool and the entertainment system (combined with a selection of tried and tested take out menus) which mean you never have to leave, which we barely did.

Guy and Bex are good hosts - the perfect combination of relaxed and helpful - and have out a lot of effort in getting the villas and the experience right for their guests.

There is really nothing to moan about here - we loved our stay. However, the one thing I would mention is the wildlife. The villas are essentially in the middle of a jungle and so you are surrounded by all kinds of animals. In particular you do get pretty up close and personal with lizards and geckoes, both inside and outside of the villa. This is in no way a negative comment on The Place, as I'm sure most accommodation on the island will have the same issues, and Guy and Bex are happy to come and remove anything you aren't keen on. It is just helpful to know what you are signing up for.

Value - this is expensive in Thai terms, probably 5 times as expensive as most of the places we stayed. That said, in my opinion it was totally worth the money for a bit of luxury.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExplorerAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at The Place for 10 days at the end of June this year and had a really great time. Guy & Bex are very caring and considerate hosts, they also gave us complete autonomy which was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for a better place to come back to after exploring the island. Ko Tao has excellent restaurants, bars and as we are really into Scuba and Free diving, the whole holiday was fantastic.
The Place is well thought out, romantic and luxuriously comfortable without being pretentious. It is one of the best accommodation holiday choices we have made.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing